Buy the Belleville on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Belleville image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Urban, Eco Design
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(9), Great components(4)
Cons:
Heavy(5), Poor component selection(3)
Best Uses:
Commuting(14), Pavement(10)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(10), Commuter(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Rad Bike
By Intense 5.5 from San Diego on 6/18/2011
Pros:
Rock solid, SMOOTH, Smooth Ride, Sturdy racks
Cons:
Grips, Hub, Seat
Best Uses:
City, Utility
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

I purchased this bike for use as a utility bike and cruiser. I have only owned it for a couple weeks, so I can't speak much to its durability. I am very impressed and pumped on the bike so far. Very fun to ride. I love the idea of the recyclable seat and grips; however they are uncomfortable and will be getting the ax asap. Might be better to provide a high quality stock seat like a Brooks. I think it would accomplish the same environmental goals as the current stock seat since it won't get tossed after the first ride. The Nexus hub is also lacking a bit. It comes with three gears. No hill climbing gear. In fact I have yet to use my 3rd low gear on flats. The breaks are also too weak for the bike. All my gripes could easily be lived with and for the price you can't go wrong. With a bit of upgrading this could be a first class bike.

Images shared by: Intense 5.5

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Have worked well for our program
By RCycles from Virginia on 5/12/2011
Pros:
Durable, Novice rider friendly, Practical
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

The college where I work started a bike-sharing program about 8 months ago. We bought 6 Bellevilles of various sizes as the initial bike-stock. We check out the bikes and helmets through the library so that we have accountability for the program.
After 8 months and over 250 check-outs, I can report that all the bikes are still running as well as they were on day 1. The bikes have proven quite popular, and fairly trouble-free. This is no small accomplishemnt considering that they live outdoors for most of the year. Aside from a few flat tires, a bent kickstand, and a front rack that went missing, the only maintenence issues we have experienced with the bikes themselves are thet the rear wheels will occassionally slip in the drop-outs causing the tire to rub on the chainstay. This is an easy fix, and I attribute the problem to the nuts on the rear wheel not getting a good "bite" on the frame due to the thick paint.
The few other nits I have to pick about the bikes are pretty minor. We have had some trouble with the rear lights going on the fritz (3 of the 6 bikes experienced this issue) and that the brakes are an obvious cost-saving measure. They work, but are not very powerful.
All in all, though, these are the perfect bikes for our purposes. They will last a long time, require little maintenance, and be a fun and non-intimidating vehicle for our students, faculty, and staff. I can't think that many other bikes in this price range would have withstood the heavy (thank God I don't know how heavy) use that college students can put them through. Our program is a success, due in no small part to the quality and good design of these bikes.

Images shared by: RCycles

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Closer to perfect than not...
By WoodieVerified Reviewer from The Bicycle Shop, Fayetteville, NC on 1/20/2011
Pros:
Durable, Thought out design, Well built quality
Cons:
Heavy, Under geared
Best Uses:
Commuting, Load hauling
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

I bought my Belleville in the summer with the vision of reducing my vehicular usage and the bike has fulfilled it's need in my stable. I love the durability of good steel frames and the racks are of the same material. They have carried groceries and other mid-weight articles with gusto. I don't think they would handle anything more than a full load of groceries, but I never planned on putting a person or toolbox on them. The handlebar/stem set up worried me at first, but have proven to be a comfortable position. The lighting, once figured out (improperly wired originally) provides excellent lighting for night time useage. The only thing I've changed on the bike was the pedals. They were cheap steel and had the roughest bearings I've every experienced in over 30 years of cycling and working at a shop. The grips aren't the most comfortable, but with a pair of gloves became unnoticeable. The saddle is definitely harsher than others, but I'm not riding more than 10 miles at a time.
My only real grip about the bike is that it's gearing doesn't work well for where I live. I'm considering a Nexus 8 speed conversion at this point and that should rectify the problem.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
look great
By karlos from east lansing michigan on 12/23/2010
Pros:
Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

my lawyer friend is buy it for me christmas
this will be my second trek bike the frist one has over 2000 miles on it and still is going strong

 
Great value
By phillyskyline from Philadelphia, PA on 9/27/2010
Pros:
Practical, Stylish, Value for the money
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
All-around city bike, Commuting, Errands, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

This is now my primary commuter bike for my ~15 mile roundtrip daily commute through the city. I love it It's a gorgeous bike and you can't beat the price. The front/rear racks are excellent, as is the 3-speed internal hub. I was surprised to find that the seat is pretty comfortable; I haven't felt the need to replace it yet. I was also pleasantly surprised that the cream tires (which I assume would be more style than function) seem to be of decent quality. I ride over a ton of glass and have yet to get a flat. The bar grips lasted less than 48 hours though--hard plastic and very uncomfortable.

However, Trek did cut a few corners to land at this amazing price point. The plastic fenderstay on the rear fender broke less than 2 months after purchase, and as a result the fender rattles unless I secure it with a bungee cord. This also caused the electrical cord running to the rear generator light to snap, rendering the rear light useless. Before that happened, the capacitor (which keeps the rear light on when you come to a red light) stopped working. But given the price point, there had to be a few downsides.

All in all, Trek has a winner with the Belleville--it's a lot of bang for your buck. It's a comfortable, stylish, and practical city commuter/errand bike.

 
Funtime city cruiser
By Joe and Connie from Raleigh, NC on 9/19/2010
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes

Comments about Trek Belleville:

We just got this bike….and it is a sweet ride.
Went to Austin, Texas last week and stopped in Mellow Johnny's.
Yes, the Vatican of Cycling…..Lance's toy store. They've got all the goods!
We got there just before closing time, and folks were pouring in to attend a fund raiser for Breast Cancer, sponsored by the Luna Chix. We ponied up a donation and ended up winning the grand prize…a brand new Trek Belleville, and a mess of cycling gear. It's a girls frame, but I rode all over Austin while my wife was in at a real estate conference, and this bike turned some heads everywhere I went.
A racing bike she's not, but a cruiser, oh yeah! The stiff frame soaked up the bumps in the road quite well. The rear internal 3 speed hub shifts smoothly, the front hub contains a magneto generator that runs the LED lighting system.
My titanium racer will leave her in the dust, but life's not always about how fast you go; sometimes it enough to just look good while you're looking at the world go by…..besides, we've got a good karma story……………….LIVESTRONG.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Handle Bar Grip and Saddle Problems
By ZachVerified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 5/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Component Selection
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

I picked up this bike yesterday and so far it's great. I do have some issues though. The handle bar grips are very uncomfortable. I understand that having as many recyclable parts as possible was the goal, but it seems silly when you immediately want to replace them. What has a lower environmental impact, grips that are comfortable and long lasting, or ones that are recyclable but need removing right away? The same goes for the saddle.

Other than those problems everything is great. The racks are excellent and the generator lights are amazing. The bike is also surprising light considering all of the steel extras.

 
Best bike I have ever owned!
By AlexVerified Reviewer from Portland on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Vintage
Cons:
Manufacture Defect
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

This is probably the best bike I have ever owned. The sleek design followed by the strong, reliable, components make this bike perfect for the commuter. That is, a commuter who likes to take his/her time getting to work.

Like every bike, there are pro's and con's. Each bike is made specifically for one purpose; some bikes are used for terrain and off-roading while other bikes are used for the streets and racing. This bike is made to carry a lot of weight and getting there at a perfect pace. I tie my camera bag to the front of the bike (I work for a newspaper so my bag is pretty darn heavy) and on the back I have two panniers. One is filled with my locks, my lunch and my books while the other holds my laptop and other miscellaneous objects. Even with all the weight combined, the bike handles like a dream.

It's nice having both front and back generator lights. However, I can't get my rear one to turn off when I ride. I took it back to my dealer and we tried other bellevilles. Sadly, all of them have this "problem". It would be nice if the rear light didn't work unless you pressed the button that activates the front light. But night riding is finally good for me. I can see in front of me in pitch black areas and feel comfortable that cars can see me from behind even when I stop! The rear light has a nice capacitor that keeps it lit for about 2 minutes when stopped.

When I got the bike as well, my rear light stopped working the first day. However, my dealers were nice and replaced it for me thanks to Trek's warranty.

The bike's tires are nice and large which is good when you're carrying a lot of stuff home from a store/going to work. But if you're looking for speed, this bike is not for you. The tires combined with the generator plus the weight of the bike followed by the wind resistance you create with the stuff you carry will severely limit your top speed. But if you don't care about top speed and you're fine getting from point A to point B without your bike falling apart, then this bike is a must have. I commute 12 miles a day and this bike is great. I live in a relatively flat city that has the occasional hill, and this bike does it's job of being reliable and looking good.

Other then that, I'm going to ride this bike until it's un-rideable, and probably get another one!

 
Comfortable and Practical
By FastRobby12Verified Reviewer from Effingham, IL on 2/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Fast, Versatile
Cons:
Gearing, Heavy, Seat
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Simple Pleasure
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

This bike is very comfortable. Great choice on the steel frame. Could use 8 speed nexus, but understand the choice for components to keep price down and affoardable. Love the thought and intentions behind the "Eco" friendly parts. Fast bike when you can crank it out. I think the gear ratio is a little high from 1st to 2nd. Found my legs were pumping to slow or too fast at times. Again... it's a 3 speed, so what can you do. Love the lights and how the rear light stays lit when you stop at lights so people don't run you over. Nice! Very comfortable position on the bike... but need to do something about the hard saddle. I found myself moving around on the saddle to find a comfortable spot. Maybe a Eco style Boulevard saddle could do! Bike is nice. You can't beat it for [$]! If you tried to build this bike from scratch, it would cost you more like 1000 dollars!

 
Stop driving! Ride instead!!!
By MattVerified Reviewer from Boston on 12/17/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great cargo capacity, Low maintenance, Stable
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Component Selection
Best Uses:
Cargo, Commuting, Pavement, Short trips
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

Had never seen one in person. I originally was going to buy a Specialized Globe Haul or Live, and hesitated for some reason. I went online and saw the Belleville and was very interested. I had my local bike shop order one for me!

First of all, this bike is extrememly well built and seems like it will be durable. My first ride on it was to the grocery store. I bought two 1250 cubic inch grocery bags from Trek that mount to the rear rack. Carried home about 40lb of groceries, and I really didn't feel a difference in the bike's handling OR acceleration! Well, I guess this may be due to the fact that this bike is so heavy to begin with.

That said, REPLACE THE STOCK BRAKES!!!
Load this bike with 50 lbs of cargo and try to make a quick stop with the brakes from Trek. It's certainly a challenge.

This bike has a 3 speed Shimano Nexus gearing setup. Good, because everything's hidden from the elements, bad because I feel like the bike could use a few more gears. There ARE derailleur mounts if you prefer to set up a traditional drivetrain. I'm gonna stick with the 3 speed because I want to have less moving parts.

This bike is not going to impress you with its acceleration, but it will impress you with the top speeds you can reach (for a 3 speed steel commuter).

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfort and style
By Nob Hill BoyVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 11/13/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

Belleville ride report: The first thing besides aesthetics that stands out is the gearing, which seems very well calculated and set up to hande pretty steep inclines. The bike can move quickly, which seems to be an issue that perennially tarnishes the appeal of old-school steel frame commuters. The riding position is exceptionally comfortable for me, upright but stable. Brakes feel adequate, no more--the first thing I would replace if revamping the bike (but I realize that the current spec is probably part of what allowed the SRP that has everyone buzzing). The bars feel great to me, I've heard lots of internet carping about how the inability to adjust or replace the bars sucks, but it wouldn't stop me from buying the bike. [...] so.."Overall, a great answer to the GF simple city--which I presume was part of the Trek brand's motivation in designing the bike this way. I found the ride of the Belleville smoother and more like the Rudge (but much lighter, sleeker) than a typical modern mid-tier bike and liked it better than the Fisher. The fact that the lights are both hub driven is a rare feature and hugely appealing, as is the fact that the rear light is "smart". I plan on buying one next year and have my fingers crossed that the mixte will become available in larger frame sizes.J

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
First Impressions
By elopetomexicoVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, GA USA on 11/7/2009
Pros:
Fully equipped Eco
Best Uses:
Replacing a car
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

This machine is beautiful and a lot of bike for the money. I rode mine home about 7 miles today and I love it. The drivetrain is smooth and so is the ride. I loaded the front rack with ~10 pounds to see how it felt and it was fine on the road. Rack capacities are stamped: 25 kilos rear, 9 kilos front. They should have used the anti-flop spring for the front rack like on the GF Simple City(I think I can put something together here at home to remedy that). I also think they should have used the nice Pletscher dual kickstand the Simple sports(I put one on at the LBS and it is great on the Belleville).The lights are better than expected with the front actually providing some 'see the road' light and the rear staying lit well after stopping. Brakes,levers and pedals are nothing special. In keeping with the eco theme I put some led generater pedals on it and I'm thinking about inverse levers for the brakes anyway. Rims have a sticker: ETRO 622x19 6005A-T5. The welds look fine to me and the powder coating is really nice. 2 Eyelets front and rear, front fork rack braze ons and derailleur hanger make it fully customizable. I've heard the handlebar height can be adjusted but they could not see how at the dealer. One problem is the rear fender stays seem a bit too long; they are designed to be adjustable at the mount bolts but in practice the rack mounts prevent adjusting forward. As a result the rear fender has way too much space in the back; a rock could get caught in there. I'm sure there is a solution... The seat seems comfortable so I'm going to give it a try for a few hundred miles...I think that covers it for a first glance; it's a heavy, wonderful,functional hunk of steel and if that's what you like you will love this bike.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressive offering, could use more gear
By Patrick Mc from Baltimore, MD on 11/7/2009
Pros:
Dynamo Hub, Fenders, Front Rear Racks, Multiple sizes, RecycledLow VOC material, Steel frame
Cons:
Only 3 speeds
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

Like all of the other reviewers, I haven't ridden the Belleville, but I'm thrilled to see a commuter bike offered with an internal hub, dynamo hub, front and rear racks, extensive chain guard, and other commuting basics that are lacking from most commuter bikes and all with multiple sizes.

At the same time I live in a hilly city and I use all 8 gears on the Nexus hub my Bianchi Milano has. I also agree that the ability to adjust handlebar height would be very positive.

It would be nice to have info about the bike's weight and the capacity of the racks and to see it offered with a threaded headset, 3 or 8 speed hubs, and a partial or full chainguard. I'd also recommend tire liners if it's for city riding and has a hub (not so easy to remove those cables).

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looks Good, But. . . .
By JB from Columbus Ohio on 10/22/2009
Pros:
Looks durable
Cons:
Welded handlebar
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Trek Belleville:

As a no car daily commuter this looks pretty good to me. Trek is moving in the right direction. Built in Dyno, lights, fenders, and racks are all there. But what is up with the one piece handlebar and stem? I think a threaded headset and quill would be much better. I will test ride one. Hopefully the no choice handle bar position will fit me. A couple years ago I rode an Allant and came away thinking "If only it had a three speed hub, steel frame and lights it would be perfect for me" Nice quill and handlebar on that one by the way.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like it too!
By SteveVO from Cincinnati, OH on 9/9/2009
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist

Comments about Trek Belleville:

I wish there were more bikes of this classic style to chose from, but glad to see this one. I like except for the following - the white tread tires, the painted handlebars and racks (should be chrome are stainless), and those UGLY weld joints! Why can't the Chinese learn to braze like Schwinn and Raleigh of years gone by. Instead of going forward, we go backward.

Trek Response: Note that this is review was written before the Belleville has shipped to Trek retailers.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looks good, but...
By NedVerified Reviewer from Detroit, Michigan on 9/4/2009
Pros:
Practical Design
Cons:
Poor Component Selection
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

It looks good but I'm disappointed by the choice of a one piece bar and stem combo which severely limits the bike's fit range. It seems that for a utilitarian city bike it would make much more sense to go back to the older style conventional headset and quill stem which offers a greater range of adjustment and can be easily swapped out by any bike shop. If I wanted to raise the handlebars to a more comfortable level,several inches above the saddle height, on this bike I would have to buy at the very least a new stem and new handlebars, and possibly a head tube extender. Rather inconvenient and possibly quite expensive. Roller brakes would also be a good option, as would a full chain case rather than just a guard, especially during a wet Michigan Fall or Spring, as would coat/skirt guards on the rear wheel.

Overall, in spite of these shortcomings it seems to be the most serious offering yet of a true city/utility bike for the North American market you've ever offered and that's a good start. The price seems right too.

Trek Response: Note that this is review was written before the Belleville has shipped to Trek retailers.

[2 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Finally, a bike I can relate to
By bicyclesare4ever from San Antonio on 8/27/2009
Pros:
Beautifully Designed, Durable, Great Components, Steel
Best Uses:
Commuting, Living Car Free, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Belleville:

Obviously, haven't ridden it yet. I have been shopping for a bike EXACTLY LIKE THIS, but I have been discouraged by limited selection of practical, beautiful bikes. I thought building up a frame and shouldering that enormous cost would be my only option. Thanks for this one Trek. Its everything I wanted. Steel, nice upright position, racks n' fenders, and the option to make drivetrain changes if I choose to. As soon as they get one on the floor at my LBS, it will be between my legs!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.