Buy the Portland on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Portland image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Road, Portland
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(13), Fast(12), Good geometry(11), Handles well(13), Lightweight(10)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(10), Commuting(18), Exercising(10), Serious training(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(13), Commuter(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)
 
great midlife crisis bike
By TimVerified Reviewer from Olean, NY on 6/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I wanted a bike to do a bunch of stuff, and this is it. I regularly do a ride with a 900' hill up and down, and I feel very comfortable going both up and down. I installed a Salsa Woodchipper bar. Looks a bit strange, but it's the most comfortable bar I've ever had. Mine is the 2010 model with 24 spoke wheels. 24 spoke wheels wasn't a great idea in my opinion, but I got a good closeout price. The switch to 32's by Trek for this year should help make the bike more trouble free. Being fairly tall (6'4" with pretty long legs), my only major adjustment was in the stem. Since I like the bar almost as high as my seat, I wish the steer tube would have been cut long to allow for upward adjustment. I've had to install an extender. Other than that, the bike was great right out of the box.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Recommended for Rain Bike
By MatthewInSEAVerified Reviewer from Bainbridge Island, WA on 4/13/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Entry Level Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I own a 2007 Portland (first model year). Some things have changed a bit since then, but the core of the bike is still there. The Portland is good for the ubiquitous "rain bike" that you'll see in the Northwest amongst racer circles. It can be stretched for use as a light tourer, maybe even cyclocross racing if you make a few component changes. It filled commuter duties for me year-round for three years.

Pros:
- Disc Brakes are a charm. The squeal noise that they're famous for isn't bad at all. If you have problems with modulation or noise, switch to organic pads. It's a cheap upgrade, and a small price to pay to know that when you pull on the lever, you'll stop... rain, snow, crud - doesn't matter.
- The geometry is great. A little relaxed, but not far from a race bike. Perfect for training. There's just the tiniest bit of toe overlap at really slow speeds and tight turns, so you can tell the designers tried to squeeze every last bit handling out of the frame. Handles nicely for working in and out of traffic and obstacles in the road.
- Light weight, well built, totally durable.

Cons:
- The rear wheel spacing is 130 mm. This means you'll have trouble finding aftermarket hubs or wheels to replace the OEM wheels as they get worn. (Most disc hubs are built for 135 mm). I can't say whether the current model still has this OLD, but based on the spec sheet, it looks like it does. This is the only reason I give this bike 4 stars instead of 5.
- I don't like triples. They don't shift as well as compact doubles. It's a great idea for upgrade after you get used to the bike.
- The fork doesn't have eyelets for a full coverage fender without some jury rigging. There are aftermarket fenders that can be made to work. The Bontrager fenders included are clever for going back and forth between fenders-on/fenders-off, but have minimal coverage. If you're going to be riding full time in the rain (like you might be in the bike's namesake), you know why full coverage fenders matter.

Images shared by: MatthewInSEA

My Portland on the morning ferry to work.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Perfect bike
By Mr. Marvelous from Pittsburgh on 4/1/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Climbing, Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I got this bike to use for commuting in Pittsburghs snowy winters. It turned out to be a very bad winter, lots of snow and ice storms. I put a set of studded snow tires on my Portland and never had a problem. No matter how deep the snow or how cold and icy it got I never missed a day of work. Now that its spring I switched back to its normal tires and the Portland is fast smooth and its not heavy. I love this bike.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfict Bicycle If.....
By Mitch from Kentucky on 3/25/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Discs, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Fenders too short, Geared too high, Short chain Stays, Short wheelbase
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Great city commuter
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Better size selection than the FX series. A great city commuter, but lacks sufficient chain stay and wheelbase length for long distance self-contained touring. Also the gearing is too high for long distance self-contained touring. Longer fenders would benefit the daily commuter. A great option would be a hub generator dfor city commuters.
The perfect Trek would be either a 520 with discs for those who like "heavy metal" or a Portland with longer chain stays and wheelbase for those who like the "feel of the road."

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great tourer
By mark w from london uk on 10/12/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Just rode this from lands end to john o groats 1100 miles across the UK in 15 full days. Bike was perfect. No mechanicals. Really comfortable and good pace. Also looks awesome

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Purchased as my rainy day bike...
By Ken from Everett WA on 10/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Purchased as a wet/winter riding bike, added full fenders for this purpose. Adjusted fit to replicate my 20+ year old Serotta so it immediately felt familiar.
This is a very smooth riding and stable bicyle and is sufficiently quick and responsive for our speedy group rides.
The disc brakes are just perfect for wet riding conditions, a real confidence booster. They tend to squeal a little at times but this is not at all excessive.
My only dislikes are the standard pedals, an easy fix and the lack of integral fitting to accept a full size pump.
I am so pleased with the ride quality of this bicycle I know it's going to see more than just rainy days.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buffalo Blizzard Proven Bike
By DauntlessVerified Reviewer from Amherst, New York on 9/25/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I've had a Portland for 3 years and has proven to be reliable, rugged and put to the test north of Buffalo, NY. I've ridden it through several miles of 1/2 foot deep wet snow with relative ease. It is responsive and a highlight of my 1/2 century of cycling. Polycarbonate touring fenders with mudflaps were the only upgrade needed to make it the all weather commuter in this environ.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Commuting
By CommuterVerified Reviewer from Norway on 8/23/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I have a Portland 2009 model and I have ride this bike 200 km every week. I don't have the luggage carrier. The road where I commute every day have a lots of hills and bad road in addition to some good parts.

The bike is nice to ride and the "heat" in the seat is great in cold weather. The carbon fork is flexing and give a very smooth ride. The 28 size Bontrager tires haven't let me down yet and I have had a lot of tire brake down on these roads in the past. The brakes gives me the hang in all weather and most important, no service needed except the fast weekly cleanup and needed adjustment. The fenders look great and are just enough to take away the most needed. Feels great in speed and the gear is light enough to take you up hills with luggage on bad surfaces.

The bike have what it needs to commute but you have to deal with the extra weight that to me seems ok. The dark color did not impress me but I want the bike to stay put when I'm leaving it outside a shop for a minute or two. The color is ok if you understand me. The gear have not the high quality but keep it clean and it will be ok. So the sad part, the old steel frames is badly missing around if you ask me. Be aware of your aluminum frame, it will turn you down if you drop down your bike any time. I've been told that the carbon also is no good on direct hit so I guess this is the price we have to pay.

Keep on riding.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bought as a second vehicle, now primary
By lowesox from Missoula, MT on 8/17/2010
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight, Quiet, Responsive
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I'm fairly new to enthusiast cycling, so I hope this review can be useful to others like me looking at the Portland as a commuter ride. I'm also coming from the perspective of just 50-75 miles of commuting per week, for the most part in town, and only a couple of months on the road with no trip longer than 25 miles.

I got into biking as a means of transportation after spending a month with a couple down in Florida who exclusively bike/bus to get around. The guy actually races, so I wanted something that would be able to keep up when I'd get to ride with them again, but also something that I could invest in for at least the next five years that would stand up to the elements and intermittent neglect of a novice rider. The Portland doesn't disappoint in either realm. I can make a good pace when I'm just out riding, but have also handled the constant dirt roads and (this summer) poor weather. The brakes have kept me off of two trunks and the amount of gears is enough that I haven't once had to walk on any of the hills I've climbed, which in Montana is something I'm fairly proud of/surprised about.

The only issues I've had in the fourteen or so months I've had it have been some squeaking in the brakes (the front disc bent ever so slightly and had to be flattened to get rid of it) and the wheels have had to be trued twice. Of course these might be both pretty common for any bike, and there are few roads here that couldn't be characterized as country. Ultimately, that I'm annoyed by these things at all is a testament to how silently the bike rides when it's properly tuned.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome all around bike!
By PhilVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Distance riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I've ridden 6000 miles on my Portland since I got it about a year and a half ago and it's a great bike! I use it mostly for commuting and weekend rides. I've also done some light touring on it. The commute is about 30 miles and it doesn't complain with ~20 lbs of gear on the rear rack. When I'm not carrying a load, I can keep up with the fastest guys on group rides and I've done days as long as 210 miles. I also rode this bike on RAMROD (154 miles - 10,000 feet of climbing).

Everyone seems surprised to see a road bike with disk brakes and they do the trick but they do require more maintenance than regular brakes. I find that they sometime start to rub or a part of the brakes starts hitting the pad every revolution making a "ting" sound. Once you learn how to fix it, it's no big deal but. Carrying asymmetric loads seems to be the thing that causes the most discomfort to the brakes.

Bottom line: the bike is great if you want one bike for commuting, lightweight touring and distance rides. I'm also thinking of using it for cyclocross. While it's a great multi-purpose bike, I'm looking for a second bike for triathlons. Nevertheless, I'll probly still ride more miles on my Portland.

Videos shared by: Phil

Phil bikes to the San Juan Islands

Video Thumbnail

Tags: Orcas, Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid Commuter and Recreational Road
By SkotVerified Reviewer from Madison on 3/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Picked up mine at a spring sale last year after test driving some bikes from Surly, Masi, and Kona. This bike and I bonded right away. Plus, being on sale it was a bargain with the components.

I use this as a commuter (20 miles a day) and for some weekend rides. With the standard components, the bike weighs in at about 24 lbs. By way of comparison, the Trek 2.1 is about 20 lbs and the average hybrid is about 30 lbs. The geometry gives you a little more stability than a classic road bike, but is much more responsive and agile than a hybrid. Disc brakes are great on a commuter and these are solid. I've had some trouble with squeeling when they are wet, but never a problem stopping. The wheels are completely true after 4000 miles (some reviewers on other sites reported problems).

The fenders aren't the most effective. If you commute in work attire or non-water proof gear, then a better set of fenders would be a wise investment. That said, fenders largely help keep your bike clean. If you happen to stay cleaner as a result, then bonus.

As for the complaints in some reviews, if you want a bike that "accelerates" then train harder. It's not the bike's fault that you're in the wrong gear and don't have the legs. If you want a softer ride, wear Depends. Carbon fiber seat posts don't make for a softer ride, they dampen vibrations. Don't use nonsense marketing jargon from Bicycling Magazine!

 
Great Bike!
By LG. from Springfield, MA on 2/20/2010
Pros:
Fast, Handles Well, Responsive, Versatile
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Overall, the portland is a great bike. Previously, I have had the 7.3 FX. However, I wanted something with more versatility. The portland gives you just that with good handling, reliability, and speed without getting beaten up on rough city streets. I ride my Portland with a Topeak rack pannier set up carrying a 9 lb. NewYorkfaggetaboutit Chain and still have no problem keeping up with cars in the city.

 
Agile Commuter
By JeromeVerified Reviewer from Madison on 8/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I've had the bike for about two months. I commute 100 miles a week on paved trails and city streets. The carbon fork makes road buzz disappear and the brakes are much more responsive than other formats. The bike is a little heavy for a road style frame, but customization will likely drop it to 20 lbs. or less. The fenders are not the best, but the aesthetic is nice. If you are considering this bike, wait for a sale. The MSRP is too high for this bike given the components.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice commuter
By RichVerified Reviewer from Bothell, WA on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I've ridden my Portland for 9,000 miles. Overall it's a nice bike. Wish there were more aftermarket wheelsets available. At 4000 miles the rear wheel started cracking around the eyelets. Warrantied with no issues. Had new wheel built anyways. The only other hub available is the Phil Wood hub.(due to the spacing and disc brakes) Very spendy. I have my issues with the Phil Wood hub also. Very tight. Doesn't freewheel easily. Have had to have them rebuilt twice in 5,000 miles. The brakes squeal terribly when wet. Have tried different rotors trying to fix with no success. Have been told it's just the way disc brakes are. Bike is durable. The front fork is bulletproof. Somebody cut me off as I was doing 20 mph. Front wheel didn't fair well but fork is still going 3500 miles later with no problems. Other than the wheelset and brakes, I love the bike. The 105 and Ulterga components work great. Mine came with Bontrager crank. No issues with it. Oversize bottom bracket is nice.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rock Solid, Elegant and Clyde Friendly
By JackVerified Reviewer from Santa Rosa, California on 5/15/2009
Pros:
Clyde Friendly, Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Heavy stock wheels
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Night Riding, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I bought my ecru-white '08 Portland as the perfect truly all-around road bike. It can be an urban commuter, a casual road bike, a loaded touring bike, a dirt and gravel path bike, even a charity ride rig. I'm a Clydesdale at 280 lbs. and for me the Portland gives me the confidence that the frame and components are going to hold up under load (and especially at night when you don't see every pothole or surface irregularity). It has a tough corrosion-free aluminum frame, an ultra-strong carbon fork, powerful disc brakes, a full Shimano 105 gruppo, bomb-proof tires (I've even mounted 700C X 42's with no clearance issues but mostly stick to the stock 700C X 28's). On top of all its rugged utility it is a really pretty bike. I get nothing but compliments and curiosity when people notice the disc brakes on a drop-bar road machine. Very, very cool... highly recommended.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Portland can do it all
By Roberto the SpaniardVerified Reviewer from Effingham, IL on 5/8/2009
Pros:
Good Components, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Rough Ride
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

Hey i have used this bike for the groups rides, long rides, cyclocross. It's nice that you can run a larger size tire (700c x 40 at least). For weighing in around 21 pounds it does well. I did a 30 mile ride the other day and averaged 18.5 with a rack on the back and hills! I would say the only compliant that I have is that the gears constantly need adjusted on mine, but I have an 07 with the 10 speed rear cassette. Thanks Trek for putting a 9 speed on the 09s', that was smart for commuters that don't want as many problems. Fenders aren't so great, but nothings perfect. For the money you spend I think Trek should give you a carbon seatpost or carbon seatstays, because the bike is a bit stiff for the country roads. However, Overall, nice bike.

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
All Weather Ride
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee on 10/14/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I have 3700 miles on it so far (9 months).
I ride 25 miles/day in sun, rain, salt and snow on paved trail and severely pot holed Midwest roads. Ave speed 15-17mph summer, 10-12mph winter.
It's a great all around bike. Disc brakes grab well in wet weather, although the rear brake ceased several times this winter due to salt and dirt in the cable at the sharp bend. The brakes are easy to avoid locking, due to long steady lever travel. Handles well, but geometry is not for acceleration. I like my weight over the pedals. If your foot touches the front fender while turning, the bolt will loosen. It has fallen off so many times I just got rid of it. The Midwest roads are so bad that both my pedals cracked, one at 2500mi and at 3200mi. I'm not heavy (160 lbs) but I tend to tear bikes to shreds, especially in winter. This one has done well. If you ride in winter and don't want a mountain bike, get a Portland.

[23 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect race-touring hybrid
By jimmunologyVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 9/22/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Too Rigid
Best Uses:
Commuting, Touring
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Portland:

I use this bike to commute 20 miles everyday and I'm extremely happy with it. Compared to steel frame touring bikes that I'm used to, this bike is much lighter and faster. It's pretty much a racing bike made to minimal touring specifications. The aluminum seat stays allow you to put a real rack on the back, the versatile gearing allows for the climbing of steep hills, and the disc brakes give you the braking power you desperately need when you're loaded up with gear. The main drawback is that because it's aluminum, it's a bit of a stiff ride. The carbon fork probably helps a lot, but comes at the price of not being able to install front panniers, an acceptable compromise because this bike really shouldn't be used for heavy touring. I would strongly recommend replacing the aluminum seat post with a carbon one to help soften the ride a bit, and getting a better front clip-on fender because this one has no front lip, which means at speeds over 15 mph, water droplets fly right up into your face.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.