Buy the 7.5 FX on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7.5 FX image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Road, FX
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(10), Durable(6), Fast(13), Good geometry(9), Great components(7)
Cons:
Brakes could be better(3)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(6), Commuting(11), Exercising(7), Pavement(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(3), Casual/ recreational(12), Commuter(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(17)

[11 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Thrilled with my 7.5 FX
By George LindsayVerified Reviewer from Bucks UK on 5/21/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Lightweight, Looks good
Cons:
Pedals could be better
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I bought my 7.5 FX about 2 months ago and have riden it almost every day since. I was always enthusiastic about riding but would consider this my first 'proper' bike that I really invested in. The 7.5 FX has allowed me to increase my mileage and time spent in the saddle as well as my personal fitness with ease.

I was initially considering a bike that seemed more suited for touring as I'm interested in doing some bicycle touring in the future. However, I was wary of the dropped handlebars that most touring and road bikes adopt due to back pain I sometimes suffer with (I'm 6"6), which is what initially turned me onto the FX range. The FX is a perfect compromise with a more upright, comfortable position but in every other sense it feels like a true road bike. You can really fly along on it! You can also attach panniers so that you're able to carry a bigger load for touring. In the meantime I'm loving everyday riding and commuting on my bike, but when I feel ready and have some time off from work I'll be looking into modifying my bike a little bit and taking off for a couple of months!

Thanks to the hardcase tires I'm yet to have a puncture. The gears shift seamlessly and it's great at climbing hills. It also goes without saying that it's a beautiful looking bike, I've had lots of nice comments from people and other riders talking to me about my Trek!

My only complaint is that the pedals it comes with aren't great, one of the reflectors has fallen off of each one pedal since I got the bike. I'll be replacing mine shortly. I've seen a few reviews saying the brakes are a bit noisy but I haven't found this to be the case with mine, in fact the whole bike is very quiet.

Overall, I would strongly recommend this bike!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great All Rounder
By SalisbeesVerified Reviewer from Salisbury, England on 5/17/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Great gear range, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
Needs aftermarket BG hand
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness Training, Long distance riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

This bike crossed America North and my wife rode the WSD version. One puncture between us and no replacement parts. It kept up with and sometimes out ran the road bikes (120 miles in 6hrs 10)and is still going strong. It is great value for the money.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable, Fast and Great Climber
By Mississippi Biker from Madison, MS on 5/5/2011
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Fast, Fun to ride, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Brakes, Seat
Best Uses:
Fitness riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I bought this bike about 7 months ago and have a little over 1200 miles on it. Primarily use it for recreational and fitness riding. The bike is comfortable, fast and handles very well. My typical ride is 20 to 30 miles, but I have ridden a 100K (64 mile) ride on it. I average about 13.5 mph on it that is will a fair number of hills thrown in the mix. On a straight away, no wind situation, you can easily maintain 18 to 20 mph, and I have ridden with road bikers on 30+ miles rides at respectable speeds (draft aided of course. I have been very happy with and had no problem with any of the components except the brakes. They made an awful noise and the LBS shop could only get it to stop for a few miles. Changed these out and no problems since then. The seat is a little uncomfortable at first, but after a few hundred miles, it either breaks in or you get adapted to it. The bikes shifts smooth and fast, and I have only had one adjustment at about 500 miles. I have a Navigator also that I do family rides on, but the FX, including the seat, is far more comfortable and easy to ride on anything more than 10 miles. The gearing on this bike is great for climbing hills and only on the most severe grades do I need the small chainring. I may pick up a road bike so I can stretch it out to 100 mile rides on occasion. (Wouldn't personally do 100 on the FX). Howver, If I could only have one bike, this would be the one. Highly recommend.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By Cody from Newnan, GA on 4/21/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I just recently purchased a 2011 7.5 FX and overall I am very pleased with it. The only thing that kind of irritates me is the way the handlebar is designed, with the design you are unable to add bar ends, which is an absolute must for me so I am having to order a new handlebar. Other than that the bike is very light and fast and has great components. I think they finally fixed the brake problem everybody was always whining about a couple years back.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A pleasure to ride
By Tony from Sunderland, England on 4/19/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good riding position, Lightweight
Cons:
Brakes
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pleasure
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I had owned a Claude Butler mountain bike for years, but found I spent more and more of my time on either roads or cycle paths. I did some internet research and decided on the Trek 7.5FX. My local cycle shop recommended it for my use. I fell in love with it as soon as I rode it, and still get a kick out of riding it. It has a great riding position, good ride and it's easy to maintain a good speed over distances I previously would not have believed.Despite the brakes being a bit noisy, they stop very well and overall I can highly recommend it.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just What I Wanted
By Roller Blade from Dallas, TX on 4/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I purchased my bike in February 2009 and have been completely satisfied with its versatility, durability and performance. While most of my rides are 30 miles or less, I have utilized this bike for a couple of non-competitive 100+ rides as well.

Trek has done an outstanding job combining the performance features of a mid-range road bike with the comfort features of a mid-range mountain bike to come up with a great hybrid. My only complaint was with the low-end pedals, which I promptly replaced.

I would recommend this bicycle to anyone looking for a great hybrid.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable and fast!
By Ben from Cambridge, UK on 4/14/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

Bought one of these for the 15/20 mile commute to work and ended up cycling from Land's End to John O' Groats in the UK 10 months later! About 900miles in 5 1/2 days. Good comfort and great tires (had about 3 punctures in > 5000 miles)

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Bike!
By Brian B.Verified Reviewer from Yucaipa, Ca. on 3/6/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Breaks could be better
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I recently purchased my new 7.5 and took it on a 25 mile ride. WOW! What a great ride. This bike is fast and handles like a dream. I am 48 years old and don't really need an "all out" road bike. This one is perfect for recreation and staying fit. It doesn't stop as well as you would expect. I think a brake upgrade is something to consider. Thank you Trek for making this high end bike at a reasonable cost!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good fun!
By RuiVerified Reviewer from Lisbon, Portugal on 2/10/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Great Components, Lightweight, Looks good
Best Uses:
Cobblestone, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I was having some doubts about what kind of bike i would buy for taking me wherever i had to go in the city, from home to work, from work to the gym and back home. This is more or less 10km/day everyday.

Because i live in Lisbon(Portugal) and the city is full of hills, crazy drivers, a few old roads with cobblestones, a few tramlines(super dangerous for cyclers) and only a few rare paths for bikes, i took a while to choose between a trek fx 7.5, 7.3 or a mountainbike.
After my decision of picking up a trek 7.5 i couldnt be more happy about it, its perfect!

Its a fast bike, easy to maneover between the traffic jam, light to carry over your shoulder, the brakes are good, the position is really confortable, the amount of gears is good enough to cycle on the steep hills, the tires are not to thin to slow it down in the cobblestones and not to thick to slow u down on the pavement. U just have to be a bit carefull with the tramlines, the carbon fork is also very good for the cobblestones(altough you cant forget this is not a mountainbike).

I wasnt sure which size to buy because im 1,68m.
I bought the 17.5 and it fits perfectly!

Very good bike, its worth the price, i dont regret!
So much fun cycling!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOve it soo much
By Babe from Engalnd on 12/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I ruptured my cruciate back in May 2010 and was told by the physio to do cycling so my old mountain bike (a trek!) cam indoors and was attached to our indoor bike trainer but I wanted a new lighter bike for outdoors. I went to our local bike shop tried a selection and ordered the trek 7.5. Only to change my mind and change the order but the next day I changed my mind again and bought the Trek 7.5. So glad I did it is the best bike I have riden in the long time. It is light and gives a very firm ride adn I love the gears. I have now had my cruciate reconstructed and am back doing indoor cycling with no resistance but can't wait to get back outside

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what I was looking for.
By ClayC from Madison, MS on 12/12/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

After several years of no exercising, I decided to start riding my bike. I have a 2004 Navigator 400 that was a gift. It is a nice, comfortable bike, but I have been riding from 10 to 20 mile trips (about 60 miles a week) and was looking for something faster with more gearing choices.

After a little internet research and a test ride at Indian Cycle, I chose the 7.5 FX. I have had it about a week and love it. Once I figured out how to shift properly, I could just fly on it. It sits similar to the Navigator, which I like. I believe you can still ride at a leisurely pace easily, also, if you desire.

I changed out the saddle to one similar to Bontrager Suburbia, because I just can't handle the small seats, and may change the 10 degree stem to one a little more upright, but other than that, no complaints. Getting my speedometer put on it Thursday. Can't wait to see how much faster it is than the Navigator.

Overall, well worth the money!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Try it, You'll like it !
By DJWing from Burnsville, Minnesota on 10/18/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

After 50+ years of not riding a bike I decided to lose some weight and get in better shape. I bought a Trek 7000 hybrid and enjoyed it a lot. Less than a month later I decided to upgrade to a lighter bike. I went back to my local Trek dealer and rode several different models. I kept going back to the 7.5 FX and finally decided that is the bike I wanted. A few weeks later I tried a 5.5 Madone and a 7.9 FX and I am convinced that I made the right choice in the 7.5 FX. I enjoy riding this bike so much that I no longer consider it exercise. I now average a little over 100 miles a week and love every minute of it. The only issue I have had are the brakes. The Avid brakes made a horrible sound and were found to have pieces of aluminum embedded in them. They have been replaced with different brakes and all is well. The upright seating position is very comfortable and I have no aches or pains either while riding or after I'm finished. Bottom line, this bike is absolutely AWESOME. Try it, You'll like it!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value
By TimVerified Reviewer from St. Paul, MN on 10/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I couldn't be happier with this bike. Most of my rides are 25-50 miles and I find the upright riding position to be very comfortable. It handles well - quick amd responsive. I'm able to climb hills much easier than with my Trek 7200. I have no problem keeping up with the road bikes on group rides. This is a great bike at a great value.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best bike
By Troy from Philippines on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I like this bike because i use it for my everyday routine and helps me to keep my stamina good.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
My Experience
By Johnny V. from Albuquerque,NM on 9/29/2010
Pros:
Fast, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

First off I'd like to make it clear that this is an update review on the 2009 white duotone, satine nickle 7.5 FX that I bought in February of '09. I'm also a proud owner of the 3.1 Madone.

I never installed a computer on my bike so I cannot say how many miles I've put on it,but I can say I do commute/exercise on it to work and back which is a 26 mile round trip on an average of 5 days a week. That being said now I can begin by saying that I've rode this bike on a different array of road anywhere from steep up hills, steep down hills, un-even urban streets, and smooth country side roads. Now, this bike isn't the most comfortable at all. During my one way commutes (13 miles) my shoulders always experience sorness. You should expect this too if you opt for this particular bike for it is a commuter hybrid which doesn't have a too uprght riding position, but isn't quite as low as a road bike. I've found the seat to be comfortable at times and then there are times I hate it. All in all I have found that it's not so much the seat that's uncomfortble but rather the shorts I'm wearing. So choose riding shorts carefully. When un-avoidably riding over pot holes on city streets and trails I've found that the carbon fork does help dampen the impact as opposed to riding a bike that just has a plain aluminum fork. Climbing isn't so easy on this bike, it's do-able, but not easy and that's because of the flat bars it comes with. Then again this bike wasn 't designed for serious road riding like a road bike is. At top speed on flats this bike can go! In fact I can keep up with several other serious cyclists on more expensive bikes. The down side to going really fast on this bike is that the handle bars begin to wobble. So, some adaptation on your part will be necessary as to how you will hold on to the bars when going full speed on it so that it doesn't wobble so much. Now, the flat bars do have a good purpose when commuting though busy city streets and that is manueverability. Dodging pedestrians, animals, vehicles that don't acknowledge your riding on the road are all made easier by this bikes flat bars as opposed to a road bikes drop bars. I've also taken this bike on group rides whith some friends of mine that own entry level road bikes, and I have noticed that I have to work a bit harder, not a whole lot, than they do when riding close together. But once again, that's ok because this isn't a road bike per se. Tires are good and I haven't had an issue with them thus far. The only thing I hate is that when I have had to change out the tube, I have a wrestling match with these tires just to get them back on the wheel. Since I've had this bike I've changed out the pedals to some double sided SPD pedals which I use with my Bontrager Mountain Inform shoes (great shoes by the way).

Bottom line is if you want to save some gas money and you want a bike for commuting that will get you to where you need to be fast this is your choice. Keep this in mind though, you will sacrifice a bit of comfort but you will have some good speed accompanied by manueverability which I'm sure you will need in tight un-forseen situations.

Expect to get compliments on your bike as I have. This is a great looking bike, it will catch attention at some point or another. I personally like my 2009 bike's wheels better than this years because mine seems to have a lower spoke count. But hey, to each his own.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Alot of fun, versatile, and comfortable.
By D$Verified Reviewer from Michigan on 9/10/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better
Best Uses:
Climbing, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I bought this bike on Craigslist with just 70 miles on it. The bike has been excellent to ride and very versatile. It is definitely made more for on-road riding but it has done well on hard-packed gravel. Before buying this bike, I considered a true road bike but it was just way too uncomfortable with 120psi inflation.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best hybrid I've ever bought
By deanVerified Reviewer from Southern Cal on 9/1/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

Very nice grips! The best I've seen and used. Definitely makes a difference on any length ride. Bike feels lighter than expected. Stock brakes not good enough for this level. Tektro alloy handles are just terrible. Speedtrap is a nice touch, but it's not available on the disc version, otherwise I would have bought the disc version.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nothing like it on the market!
By MarkVerified Reviewer from Wall Township,NJ on 9/1/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.5 FX:

I have purchased 4 bikes in the last 3 years. None of them felt as good as this one for casual riding or commuting. This 7.5 FX is the best. Quick, comfortable and quality components. I will have this bike for a long time. Thanks Trek for getting it right.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.