Buy the 7.7 FX on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7.7 FX image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Road, FX
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Absorbs shock well(6), Comfortable(6), Good geometry(6), Great components(9), Handles well(5)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(4), Climbing(3), Commuting(5), Pavement(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(7)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Bit More Money But Alot More Fun
By DukeVerified Reviewer from Grand Forks, ND on 8/21/2008
Pros:
Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike Path, Commuting, Pavement, Rails to Trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

I have been very pleased with the purchase of my Trek 7.7 FX.

While I purchased the bike at Christmas 2007, living in North Dakota I was unable to ride until April 2008. Since that time I have put 1,200 miles on the bike and the product has exceeded all my expectations.

As this was my first exposure to carbon I was concerned about road shock and vibration. I am pleased to announce that my 260 lbs have had no difficulty whatsoever. The carbon just seems to absorb road vibration and the ride is excellent.

The smaller tires increase speed. My average speed has increased about 1.5 miles per hour over my Trek 7700. However I would caution the smaller tires are a bit more hazardous on the road. While riding on our bike trails of which some are concrete due to winter expansion I became caught between vertical joints and the sudden stop was a bit of a thrill to say the least. Use a bit of caution.

The components especially the shifting is excellent. This is the quietest shifting bike I have ever owned. The gears are like a fine tuned Swiss watch. The Shimano R773 Front Derailleur Shimano Ultegra Rear Derailleur work well together. I ride by cadence and my average cadence is between 77 and 82 revolutions per minute. In the wind or on a hill or on flat terrain finding the proper gear is a dream.

My only maintenance problem was one cable that stretched on the real derailleur. A quick visit to the great shop mechanics at the Ski and Bike Shop and this problem was a quickly remedied.

I have made three modifications that I know have been beneficial the first is in the bike seat. My dealer recommended a Bontrager Seat measured specifically for my hips a very wise investment. Secondly I did due to an accident change the handlebars. While this may not be necessary for most I have handle bars that are on a riser and a bit closer. I believe this gives me a bit more stability and feel of a safer riding environment. Third I changed the grip and went ergonomic this really helps in hand fatigue on long rides of 30 miles or more.

In closing I am very pleased with my 7.7 FX. The money spent is well worth the purchase price. Trek has made my riding experience a most enjoyable one.

Enjoy the Ride:
Duke

[21 of 34 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Versatile Machine
By E.B.Verified Reviewer from Sunny California on 5/3/2008
Pros:
Accepts RacksFenders, Agile, Good Geometry, Great Components, Nice Styling
Cons:
Brakes, Tires, Wheelset Concerns
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

Purchased 2/1/08Mileage to date: 1650My 2008 7.7FX is stock except:BG SaddleGC2 GripsStrada WirelessSPD Pedals (not knockoffs)Before I purchased this bike, I was looking at similarly classed products from several manufacturers. After a long absence from riding, I wanted something that would motivate me to get out and ride. I found it with this bike.After enjoying a spin on a 7.5FX and finding it to be a great fit, I knew my new bike would be an FX. The 7.6FX offered some comfort and performance upgrades over the 7.5 which made it yet more attractive. I was rationalizing the price difference between the two models when the LBS came through with a deal on the 7.7FX. "I'll take it!""Smooth...Agile...Responsive." Those were my first impressions on my initial ride around the neighborhood. The 7.7 just seemed to glide. One of the rear brake shoes did slide from its position on the rim during that first ride, rendering the rear brake useless. I also noted the FD struggled to move the chain to the large ring. The left/right brake and shifter levers weren't aligned either.Note to self: "LBS missed the checklist"Before my next ride, I properly adjusted the brakes (toe-in, setback from rim, and security), the FD (vertical distance from outer ring much too high and hi/lo stops off a bit), and the RD (tension). Much better. Since these bikes come mostly assembled from Trek (dealer mounts seat/post, bar, and wheels), the LBS may have assumed these adjustments were preset and correct. Not necessarily a good thing.Moving on. The word is that a good carbon fork and seat stays can smooth out the ride on the otherwise aluminum frame. I believe that's true when the design is right, as it is on the FX. Perhaps the carbon seat post helps, too. Overall, the ride is smooth, however I think possibly the tighter, lower spoke-count wheels and hardcase tires offset some of what the carbon is trying to achieve. That's somewhat annoying when you consider that a substantial chunk of the near [$]premium (over the 7.5FX) can be accounted for in the wheelset and additional carbon.I have heard of concerns about the durability of the Bontrager Race wheelset, specifically of cracks forming around the nipples. I haven't experienced anything to date, but I believe Trek will be reasonable should issues arise.The drivetrain is excellent. The 50/39/30 105 crankset and 12-27 cassette offer the ability to comfortably keep pace with drop bar riders of similar fitness. And between the shifters, the 105 FD and the Ultegra RD, shifting is absolute precision.The brakes, on the other hand, don't live up to the rest of the bike. While functional, both the Shimano brakes and Avid levers are about as inexpensive as they come. They represent an opportunity for a possible upgrade. Still, I think the MSRP could be better justified with an appopriate brakeset.As the length of my typical ride increased, I noticed the often-mentioned numbness that accompanies flat bars. The stock grips are very good, but I found myself searching for more hand positions (which didn't exist). A change to GC2 grips with short, integrated bar ends made a huge difference.I anticipate trying a different handlebar in the near future, quite possibly a "trekking" bar that will offer some additional hand positions for yet longer rides. I can also see this bike getting a rack down the road, too.Overall, I'm happy with my FX. While it could surely handle some light "off road" riding, it loves pavement too much for me to consider it. A great fitness bike, a capable group rider, a recreational stress reliever, or a quick commuter! Whichever you're looking for, the FX is versatile.I could almost rate this at 5 stars, but not quite there.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great! Great! Great!!
By DoggyagogoVerified Reviewer from las vegas, nv on 4/30/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight, Rides Well
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

I bought a lesser version (7.3WSD), and hated it. I was just going to tool around and pull my dog's trailer. I knew I had to upgrade, so I went all the way...before the 7.9, that is. And I love this bike! Climbs hills quickly, pulls trailer easilly, and just looks darn good.

 
Worth Every Penny!!
By DoggyagogoVerified Reviewer from Las Vegas, NV on 4/22/2008
Pros:
Climbs Like the Wind, Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Seat hurts my 'girl'
Best Uses:
Climbing Mountains, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

I originally bought the 7.3WSD and hated it! Luckilly my shop (Peloton in Las Vegas), took it back and allowed me to purchase the 7.7. And I haven't looked back. I love to climb more than ever! And I feel comfortable going downhill at high speeds. I didn't feel too comfortable on my regular roadbike. Please buy this bike!!! Women, just change out the seat! ouch.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Heck of a bike!
By ChaloVerified Reviewer from Texas on 4/3/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

I use this bike on my daily commute to work. My commute is about 25 miles roundtrip. For the first time ever, I was able to ride this bike right out of the store. Since I am a heavy rider, 300 lbs plus, I have always had to buy custom rims/tires, but not this time. This bike is tough, light and fast. The only thing that I had to change on the bike was adding a riser to the handle bars- much more comfortable ride. All in all, one great bike!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent
By arrrrrrrrr from los angeles ca on 3/23/2008
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

GREAT BIKE !!!!!! Never has let me down very comfortable for those long rides. climbes very well a pleasure to ride.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good upgrade from a hybrid
By ArcherVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 11/17/2007
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Great Components, Handles Well, Light
Best Uses:
Casual Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Senior citizen
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

The 28 tires are an improvement over the 35's, but the ride is still as smooth, the only noise I hear is the sound of a smooth drivetrain. I picked up about 1 MPH average over my TREK 730.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cool Bike. Worth every penny
By EricVerified Reviewer from New York on 11/1/2007
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Lightweight
Cons:
Hardcase Tires slippery
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

Bought this bike about a year ago. Fell in love with the geometry from the start. The bike is light and could keep up with other road bikes. Have done about 4000 miles and still runs good. Tires are very durable (only 1 flat so far) but slippery. I was 170lbs now 133lbs... see if a gym could top that!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A different type of road bike!
By Davz2kVerified Reviewer from California on 10/3/2007
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Climber, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Stock bars are too wide
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Your ONLY road bike
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

I had hand numbess issues for years on standard road bikes. I bought this Trek and no more issues. It's an easy bike to fit to, and it runs right there in the pack with my roadie friends. It looks good, handles great, and you can ride it all day long. The only thing I didn't like were the stock handlebars. They were too wide. I threw some Carbon Ritchey's on it, and it's one sweet ride.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike To Get In Shape On
By Richard HVerified Reviewer from Santa Clarita, CA on 9/29/2007
Pros:
Absorbs Shock Well, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Weight Loss
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7.7 FX:

When I got my Trek 7.7 FX in 2006, I weighed 300 pounds. I've ridden about 1800 miles and so far lost about 50 pounds. The wheels have remained perfectly true and this bike can definitely handle the heavier riders.

I've upgraded the saddle and added bar ends to give some added hand positions. The bike feels like you're riding on glass. The carbon parts do seem to isolate high frequency vibrations, and the drive train is so quiet, you actually forget you're riding a bike.

This is a smooth machine with low enough gearing for older or out of shape riders. When I first got the 7.7 FX, a 5 mile ride was pretty taxing, but the bike is so comfortable in short order I was completing 40 mile rides with ease.

When I get to my goal weight I'm going to reward myself with a Trek Pilot.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.