Buy the 1.2 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
1.2 image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Road, 1 Series
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(10), Fast(15), Good geometry(14), Handles well(17), Lightweight(17)
Cons:
Brakes could be better(5), Poor components(3), Uncomfortable seat(12)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(10), Climbing(6), Commuting(6), Exercising(18), Racing(6)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(16)
Was this a gift?:
No(15), Yes(4)
 
great bike for the money
By ride all from ohio on 4/13/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercising, Racing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I ride on some rough ohio roads the bike handles well and feels fast ,this is my first road bike, had a comfort bike but i love this one better . I know I will put more miles on this bike fast.

 
Superb Bike!
By WalterVerified Reviewer from Grande Prairie, AB on 4/4/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

Just got this bike today and I have to say I absolutely love it. Took it for a quick 2 hour spin and so far its the best investment I have made in a long time. I completely recommend this bike to anyone who is just getting into the sport and wants a great training bike or if you love the sport and want to get in good shape.

 
Stupendous Bike for Price
By JaxsonJohnVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, FL on 3/30/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Constructed Well, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Exercising, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I cycle over 100 miles a week and only regret not purchasing years ago. This bike is great for a beginner (myself when purchased), intermediate rider (now considered) and an advance rider - guessing at the near future. I rated the seat comfort a con however, with quality cycling shorts, this is as comfortable as well priced seats I have tried on other owner's bikes. Don't allow any of these posts to sell you, test ride a 1.2 and you will sell yourself.

 
first ever road bike
By AugustVerified Reviewer from Oregon on 3/15/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Exercising, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

this was my first ever road bike, and it is the bike that introduced me, and opended up the world of cycling to me. I started racing with it and it proved to be a exceptionally fast racing bike.
The only real thing I did not like were the wheels, and I have already replaced those. In short this is the bike that changed everything for me.

 
Great bike for the price!
By Old WardieVerified Reviewer from Grenfell, New South Wales, Australia on 3/15/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Value for Money
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

As a very experienced road cyclist and racer and a former bike shop owner/manager/mechanic/assembler, I am reasonably well-qualified to make these comments and advice for others, who have written reviews.
Having been forcibly retired several years ago and finding it difficult to cope, financially-speaking, I was talked into buying one of those flat-bar 'pretend' road bikes from one of Trek's competitors. It was okay on smooth roads but a bit painful for my old body on anything else, even after getting an Italian seat for it. It was also heavy and a bit of a 'dog', really.
Enter the Trek 1.2, which I have had for just a week. I transferred the seat and pedals from the old bike, adjusted a few things, took up the slack in the steering a couple of times and - hey, presto! - I am really surprised at the comfort; mine is the 60cm frame size, so the seat tube angle is quite relaxed. It is also a much better performer than I would have expected, seeing as I have been used to riding mostly custom-made bikes over many years.
All in all, I reckon it's hard to beat for the price!
Finally, just a little advice for those with gear shifting and brake issues: the front shifter problems are due to the lever being a multi-purpose one for both double and triple chainwheels. Check the Shimano website for the correct way to use it.
Regarding the brakes, if they are adjusted properly - and there are very few bike mechanics, who know how to do this properly - they work fine.

 
A very good bike for the money.
By Just Trekking from Chesire,Oregon on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Handel bars are to big, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I got this bike as a crash replacement. I was with a cycling group from a local bike shop. I wrecked my old treck 1500 series from 1997. I manly ride this new bike for training and fitness. This bike was great for the price. Well I had a discount from the crash replacement of fifteen percent of the retail price. This bike is lite but not as lite as my carbon fiber. but still fun to ride. The cons are the handel bars are to wide,neck to long for me. It wouldbe a better bike with shimmano 105 components. But for what it is a very good bike.

 
wow!!!! what a bike
By surrey1053Verified Reviewer from Melbourne,Fl. on 2/21/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

This bike is awesome I can't wait to ride everyday .I use this bike for exericise as well well as group rides, I am new to the group rides and this bike lets me keep up with other more experenced riders easliy. Thank you Trek for a great bike at a good price for a beginner .

 
Great First Bike - Extremely Impressed
By M. F.Verified Reviewer from Miami, Fl on 2/8/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I bought this bike in November after researching road bikes for about a year. I'm pretty OCD about any purchase above $500 so this bike did not escape my scrutiny. I looked at Giants, Cannondales, Specialized and all the other brands out there, and the Trek came out on top in this price range. Thus far I have ridden about 40-80 miles per week on the 1.2, and I'm extremely impressed. The bike is quick, for one. It handles well and climbs equally well. The weekend riding group I joined rides over a decently steep bridge and about 24 miles of a combination of curved and straight roads. In my opinion, this bike is an excellent starter bike for the aspiring rider. I was originally looking at the 1.1, but was convinced to make the jump to the 1.2 by my local bike shop's pricing. I have not looked back, and am beginning to contemplate my next Trek.

 
This Bike is Fantastic !!!!!!
By surrey1053 from Melbourne,Fl. on 1/17/2011
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, It is fast and light weig, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better, The white tape show dirt, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Exercising, Great for beginners, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I Use this bike for exercising and now I want to join a bike club to . the last timme i had a road bike it was called a 10 speed english racer .I have been riding my other bike for 15 years ,this Trek 1.2 is so much lighter I am able to ride faster and for longer distances with getting fatigued. I am very happy with my Trek1.2

 
trek 1.2 triple
By surrey1053Verified Reviewer from Melbourne,Fl. on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Fast, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I have not had a road bike since they were called "English Racers"I am 51 years olds and have been riding my Ross bike for more than 15 years for excerising . The trek is so much lighter and faster I am able to ride longer distances and keep up with the other road bikers in my area .My wife bought me this bike on Dec. 12th I have put 300 miles on it .

 
This bike is awesome!
By Ethan from Charleston, SC on 12/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

This bike is so fun to ride! I ride this thing every where. I just got it and it is my first road bike. Now that i have it i use it to commute everywhere. I am so excited to put miles on this fine piece of machinery!

 
Excellent first bike
By Sid ViciousVerified Reviewer from New Zealand on 12/11/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I started out with a mountain bike and this is my first road bike. Since then have been using this more than my MTB. It's great for long rides (40-50 kms for me) and also small hills (have not used it for climbing yet, got it 2 weeks ago).

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breaks probably could be better. Im not a daredevil down hills and they do feel a bit "Squishy". Also had a bit of jam with my front derailleur on that one hill but managed to climb with whatever remaining gears that I could get.

A nice relaxed bike to ride and climb. Felt responsive and confident down hills apart from the brakes.

 
a lof of fast for a 3 figure tag
By uhhhVerified Reviewer from norcal on 11/7/2010
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better, Pedal Straps
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

This is my first real bike, ive put over 200 miles on it so far and love it. after 50 miles on the stock saddle in a day it didnt seem worthy of complaint, but i imagine better options are out there. i hate the pedals, after capsizing at a stop sign i tossed on some speedplays. on the whole its a really solid bike and i'd buy it again.

 
amazing
By vbzx from dumfries and galloway on 10/21/2010
Pros:
Fast, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

before i got this bike i cycled everywhere on my mountain bike but when i got my first job at a local hotel i decided to save up and splash out on this road bike i have never looked back since. now that i have this bike i dread ever using my mountain bike again this thimg is quick!!!

 
Trek 1.2 far exceeds expectations
By Litom5 from Green Bay, Wisconsin on 10/20/2010
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Poor Components
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

Honestly this bike has an unbelievable cost to performance ratio. For all of those who have commented on the seat's comfort level I have biked around 38 miles in one sitting so to speak and the only complaint I have about the seat is that it, along with most of the white fabrics on this bike, become dirty fast. Overall I am impressed with this bike, however for all you out there who like an all inclusive rating here are some cons. There have been multiple issues with the shifting mechanism which controls the chain ring (in some cases the shifter becomes jammed not allowing you to down shift or up shift). Although annoying this can be easily fixed by simply pressing both the up shift and the down shift at once. Another great plus is the noiselessness of the coasting. On some of the previous bikes I've owned the constant clicking when coasting becomes irritating but on the 1.2 it is virtually inaudible.

 
First "real" bike. Impressive.
By z0ner from Orange, CA on 10/13/2010
Pros:
Fast, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Hard shifting, Noisy, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercising, Racing
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I'm a beginner, so take this with a grain of salt. With that said, I take my rides seriously. I use this as a cross trainer by commuting 24M (R/T) to work 3x a week in between my distance runs. It's been 2 months and 325+ miles and I really can't get enough.

I don't have a frame of reference, but it seems the shifting could be smoother. Otherwise it's very fun to ride and it's made me a much stronger runner.

 
Great entry level bike
By Triathlon newbieVerified Reviewer from Athens, Ohio on 9/27/2010
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Responsive
Cons:
Brakes Could Be Better, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

I got this bike almost two months ago and have no real complaints yet. I did my first triathlon on a mountain bike and loved it so I upgraded to this for future competitions. It feels so incredibly light and is great to ride, especially on fresh roads - it feels like your gliding across it. In the little time I've owned it I've put maybe 200 miles on it.

My only complaints so far are that the seat is pretty unforgiving and rough. Also, shifting could be smoother but if you hold the lever in it helps (which the manual tells you). The brakes seem a little weak, but it hasn't been a real issue yet.

If your looking to dip your foot in the pool in terms of a quality bike but don't want to go over $1k, this is the bike for you.

 
solid feel and power transfer
By BOPVerified Reviewer from Florida on 9/13/2010
Pros:
Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Racing, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

use the stock seat as a paper weight on your desk and get fitted for the right size and style seat right out of the gate. Do wait until you are sore to shop for a new seat it is not easy. The front derailler is not smooth on serious hills, but after minor adjustment it is fine.

I have to say this bike transfers power very well and is the best climbing road bike I have owned and on the 35+ mph decents it tracked well. Don't let the seat issue scare you away it took 3 seats on my last bike to find the right one it ended up being a used $10 gel seat that worked for me.

 
Great bike for beginner
By JelantikVerified Reviewer from Boulder, Colorado, USA on 9/3/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Exercising
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

Last year, I started to add cycling to my exercise (I swim laps 4 times a week). I wanted something that's not too over the top for a beginner but not too cheap either. (just in case if I end up not liking cycling). Two years has passed, I can say that I'm very pleased with the bike. It's light enough, handle pretty well, and feel pretty sturdy without being heavy. The paint job is awesome too. (I got the maroon red color). It's definitely a bike that's designed for a woman. If you are beginner, it's not a bad idea to try this bike first. However, I swap the saddle with Bontrager Inform R instead of using the one that comes with it. My ride has been comfortable so far with Bontrager inform R saddle. So I definitely recommended swapping your saddle. (Saddle is personal taste, so get one that match your body). The inform R saddle comes with 3 different width to fit your curvature (that's what I like about it).

Anyway, now, I've overgrown this bike :-). So, next year, I'm planning to buy something a little more higher end (like Madone). And this bike will be my dedicated bike for my trainer or I'll use it when it's raining.

 
awesome bike
By youth cyclist from miami fl on 8/17/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Responsive
Cons:
Heavy, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Climbing, Exercising, Riding to friends house, Serious Training
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 1.2:

i use my bike every day i love it. if you are getting into cycling this is a great bike. it is great i ride in groups on the weekend and train in the week. its gears should be upgraded but for the price its awesome and i will always ride trek. i love it.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.