Buy the Wahoo on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Wahoo image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, Fisher G2 Hardtail
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(11), Durable(9), Good geometry(14), Handles well(14), Lightweight(8)
Cons:
Heavy(3), Poor tires(3), Uncomfortable seat(4)
Best Uses:
Climbing(9), Descending(10), Single track(8), Trail riding(13), Urban riding(13)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(10), Casual/ recreational(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(10)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sick Bike
By damasta227 from Alberta on 6/16/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Looks good
Cons:
Poor Tires, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

I really like this bike, its a good all around bike for where i live

Images shared by: damasta227

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for the Money
By andrewgyunVerified Reviewer from Marietta, GA on 6/6/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

The bike is full of features and priced well. I would consider this a mid level bike. I personally dont have too much experience iwth the stock pedals as I changed them to clipless when i purchased the bike.

I found the bike handles rough terrain well and no problems going over rocky areas. No Full suspension bike, but does it well.

The front fork suspension lock out is a nice feature. I have never used it as I do not ride on the street, but it is a nice feature to have for those LONG hard climbs.

The cables stretched as expected during the break in period, but it only took the bike shop a few moments to bring everything back in. Been riding for a month and NO problems at all.

Overall GREAT bike. Love it!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value for the money
By ChaddE.Verified Reviewer from Montreal on 5/25/2011
Pros:
Attractive, Comfortable, Good Geometry, Good price value, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

If you're looking for a top of the line bike, you won't find it for this amount of money. What you do get is an awesome looking bike, that handles great and can take a beating. As long as you make sure that your LBS has the derailleurs adjusted the way they should be, and you keep the hydro's and drivetrain well-tuned, you'll have a blast. For more confidence in the corners I will however eventually change the tires. So far I've only replaced the pedals for clipless ones.

Now if you'll excuse me, I've got some biking to do...

 
Great Bike for the price
By JCampbell81Verified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 5/20/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
pedals are not too great, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

Bought this bike about a month and half ago, its a great ride, had to get the re derailleur re adjusted after riding it a few times because it kept slipping on me. Bike preforms great handles well. the tires are ok. Will probably upgrade to better tread. the pedals on this bike are horrible. their two small and was constantly having to make sure they were facing the right way. went ahead abd bought some specialized platform pedals. now the bike is pretty much perfect. its comfortable, fast, handles jumps well. takes a beating and keeps on ticking

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid Bike
By AllDay from Dubuque, Iowa on 4/29/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

For close to 700 bucks it could come with slightly better components but it shifts nicely, the lockout on the fork is a huge plus as well. Still waiting to take it on the trail as it has been raining since I got it the other day.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
stop looking ... buy it
By JWVerified Reviewer from hollywood,fla on 4/28/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Looks
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

I ride this in hollywood,fl on the beach walk .. when im stopped people stop to look at my bike.it looks amazeing .. rides even better .. my second gary fisher and the best so far ..

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
All around bike
By Rob from São Paulo, Brazil on 3/9/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

This bike is all you can want, the G2 geometry makes you ride like a pro, gives all the confidence that you need.
I use it in single tracks and at city. With the time it just get better.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for the Price
By scoop22 from Bluff City, TN on 9/27/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

Great bike, great geometry and even better looks. Fast, tough and handles well. Great for single track or urban riding. Only complaint would be the seat and the rear derailleur aren't exactly the best. The rear derailleur shifts randomly and isn't very accurate most of the time. Upgrade is advised.

Besides that WAHOOOOOOOO it's a SICK bike!!!!!!!!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't do better for looks and perfomance
By Billy GoatVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, PA on 9/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Shocks are a little soft
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

This is a great bike for the money. This bike will perform above expectaions on difficult single tracks both ascending and decending. I like to come home with scrapes and bruises and this bike seems to hold up to my mentality! Great geometry for shorter guys, I'm 5'6" 160 and the 15.5 is perfect! GF geometry with Trek durability..everything I hoped for in this price range. Bonus feature...the black and blue matte finish is awesome and cleans up easily. Don't hesitate!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
WAAAHOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!
By pjolly from memphis on 9/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
POOR REAR DERAILER
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

man i just cant say enuf about this bike i road about 30 miles the first day cant wait to spend all my weekends on this bike

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great bike for anything
By dice's rides from tx on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

this is a great bike i road it for 4hrs and only had 1 prob. the rear Derailleur isnt the best, i might upgrade to the x-7's, its sometimes shifts unwillingly but for the best part it 99.9% perfect

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bicycle for the price
By SBorchel from Indianapolis, IN on 8/10/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

I usually just ride this bike on paved surfaces for exercise or short errands. I love the speed lock system that conserves a lot of my energy when riding on hard surfaces, but the suspension helps a lot when I ride on uneven terrain. I am a novice and rode a couple of different brands in the same price range as the Wahoo and was blown away by how manueverable and solid the bike felt under me. I have a 2009 model without hydraulic brakes and they work just fine. Obviously the geometry is unique for each individual, but my friends and I agree that Gary Fisher bikes have it down to a perfect science. On flat ground, I feel like I'm riding at a slight decline. Obviously this bike isn't for those interested in a super high-performance rig, but if you're like me and just want a great affordable bike, I would give the Wahoo a try. You won't regret spending a few extra dollars on such a versatile and well-engineered bicycle.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Woo Hoo!
By VGsuperstar from Hot as Heck, Florida on 7/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

A great bike for the money!!! Aside from maybe giving an upgrade in tires "out of the box" the Wahoo is quite a catch, in fact I'm waiting for mine now...Having compared all similar bikes and manufacturers, this is the one for anyone who knows. Take it to the trail or the street, either one works great. Don't let the 29er guys fool you,
represent the 26 all day and believe what your legs tell you works!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
extremely happy
By BLUES.CIFUVerified Reviewer from Bogota, Colombia, South-America on 6/16/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Wahoo:

I was on a big need since my old bike got stolen...
Then I had the fortune to see a white Wahoo on a store in Bogota(Nov.2008); never happier since, riding it is a new sensation, up and down the hill behaves like a tiger, but does not change crossing Bogota... and the color is astounding...

IT IS A PLEASURE FOR ME TO RIDE MY WHITE WAHOO

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.