Buy the Superfly Elite on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Superfly Elite image
 
(based on 7 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, Fisher 29er
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
5 stars
(based on 7 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(6), Good geometry(7), Handles well(5), Lightweight(7)
Best Uses:
Climbing(4), Descending(3), Single track(5), Trail riding(5)
Describe Yourself:
Competitive cyclist(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(6)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this bike - wish i could ride it
By Deon from South Africa on 6/3/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Frame
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

I love this bike - wish i could ride it.
I purchased my first Superfly Elite 6 months ago and really think it is one of the best bikes i have ever had.
I did the Cape Epic on this bike and it performed exceptional in all conditions... the only problem is that i am now on my third frame.
There seems to be fundamental problems with the Bottom Bracket and front Derailleur mounting. In both cases cracks developed. Thank goodness for a "life long guarantee" other wise i would be hurting financially.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Bike!
By RonWVerified Reviewer from Duluth, Minnesota on 5/23/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

This is definitely my favorite ride to date. I rode a Superfly 100 last season, but the bike was a bit small. I am 5ft11, and a large size works much better for me than the 17.5 in this geometry. If you are at the 5ft10/11 size, I would definitely make sure you ride both sizes before buying.

As for the Superfly, it is stiff and comfortable and I am hardly missing the rear suspension. I did convert to tubeless straight away, and I found running the lower PSi's really softens the rear triangle. The XO 2x10 has been flawless so far, and I compare it just as good as last years XX. I really like Crossmark tires, so switched to them before even giving the skinny Bontragers a try. I like a bit more width and volume than the stock tires would provide. I did like the new seat the bike is spec with, and would compare it close to the front end shape of the Fizik I ride. I am really looking forward to putting this bike through the paces on a few Mountain Bike races this season.

 
Better than the Original
By Sully from Jericho, VT on 4/30/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

I owned the original Superfly and think this is a great step forward. The internet tells me that it is lighter, which is nice. The newer seat design is great. I really think that the tapered head tube has improved the steering of an already nimble bike. The change in BB shell, and Cranks has definitely stiffened up the power transfer.

Going to 2x10 is really great. I found that on my original Superfly the little and big ring were pretty useless, but I din't quite have the range I would like. The 2x10 makes so much sense with the changes that 29'rs make on Gear inch development and torque.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!
By B- Rad from WIsconsin on 3/11/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

Should say Gary Fisher on the down tube. Other than that, the greatest bike I have ever owned.
Gary is the man when it comes to Mtn. Biking and his name deserves to be on the bike. I love you Gary!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
So fast it can jump out of its own paint
By Adam from Redlands California on 2/24/2011
Pros:
Good Geometry, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

I have had an 08,09 and 10 Superfly. All amazing bikes that I totally had a great time on. Now this 2011 is way off the chart in all ways above grade. The frame is a lot stiffer and noticabley more responsive. The 100mm fork, way cool! As hard as i'm trying to, I can't find a thing wrong with this new 2011 Trek Superfly!

 
Gary Fisher an " ICON "
By Gary Fisher Fan from Singapore on 9/24/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

Don't get me wrong ! I love Trek bike ....
But I love Gary Fisher bike even more.
To me ...Gary Fisher name is an " ICON ".
So to compare Year 2011 new Trek/Gary Fisher MTB bike and Year 2010 Gary Fisher's MTB bike. I rather buy the Gary Fisher Year 2010 MTB bike, because it is more beautiful to look at & most of all ... it is an ' ICON ".
In fact, I purchased the Year 2010 Gray Fisher Superfly Hardtail instead.

Looking forwarder to see Gray Fisher name with its own name again, as it is an ICON for many Gray Fisher fans in the World.

Gary Fisher ... I love you !

Gratefully,
Goh Hiromi
Singapore

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gary Fisher should be on the down tube!
By 1 from 1 on 6/25/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Superfly Elite:

Gary Fisher should be on the down tube!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.