Buy the 6000 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
6000 image
 
(based on 23 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, 6 Series
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 23 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(16), Durable(19), Good geometry(18), Handles well(20), Lightweight(20)
Cons:
Uncomfortable seat(12)
Best Uses:
Climbing(17), Descending(18), Single track(15), Trail riding(20), Urban riding(12)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(12), Casual/ recreational(10)
 
GOT A NEW SEAT....................
By SAIGONPAULVerified Reviewer from WEATHERFORD TEXAS on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

Just had it a week and already changed the seat. Traded up from a 20 year old TREK 820 and there IS a difference. I love the ride and LOOKS. I am 62 and plan to take it another 62.
SAIGONPAUL

 
RIDING IN STYLE
By SAIGONPAUL from FORT WORTH TEXAS on 8/8/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Seat "up your
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

A replacement for an OLD Trek 820, as I am an OLD man of 62. I dont want Obama care to catch up with me, so I am doing what I can to stay in shape.

 
Great Bike
By Mountain Bike Addict from Wenonah NJ on 7/31/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

Bought this bike as my first real mountain bike. It took me a couple of weeks to get use to it. Now I love it. No problem climbing hills. It is light weight, and easy on turns. Took my riding to the next level.

 
Love it.
By KK1LVerified Reviewer from Jericho, VT on 7/31/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I had been a road biker for a long time, but fell out of it since starting a family years ago. As a gift for being with my company for 25 years I chose a Trek 6000. What a fantastic choice. I have been riding nearly every day for the past 6 weeks and have really gotten into XC biking.

I never imagined mountain biking could be so fun and such great exercise. The 6000 has not let me down on anything I have tried. Unlike others I do not find the seat uncomfortable at all! In the woods you are not spending a ton of time in it anyway. I have done some longer street treks and still I found the seat comfortable. Too much padding IS a bad thing. Give it 20 miles and you will agree.

I have found running the front tire around 28psi and rear around 32psi gives me fine traction and no flats. Most of my riding has been on the advanced trails at Saxon Hill in Essex/Jericho with visits to Mobb's Valley, Sunny Hollow, and Hinesburg Town Forest. ALL great stuff and the bike is really growing with me as my skills improve! The outer front ring has survived many a contact with logs with no ill effects. I love this bike and what it has opened my eyes to.

 
exactly what i wanted
By stu from kansas on 6/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Handle bars click
Best Uses:
Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I was test riding a 2010 4300 but a sale sticker stole my attention. I was upgrading from an 07 820 and after trying the clearance 09 6000 i couldn't resist spending an extra 150 for an obviously superior bike. It is great for the short rough climbs and drops at my local trails. The tires have good lateral, climbing, and breaking grip and disk breaks are powerful and have great feel although it took many miles for them to get that way. Shifting is smooth and the fork it great. I have done several small jumps and crashed a couple times but it remains unbroken unlike my old 820.

 
If you can, you should
By MarkhamParkin from Palm Beach on 6/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I've had many treks thru the years. went from the 820, all the way to my 4500 which I've had for a few years now. I just got this for my 30th birthday and took it straight to the trails. after riding thru all of the trails twice without stopping I realized how much the disc brake upgrade affects my riding. I don't have to slow down and speed up as much. I could basically pedal gain speed then cruise thru. made my life at Markham Park so much easier. it also has a great lock out for the fork for street or distance. Trek did it again!

 
Really a step up!
By Bill CaminoVerified Reviewer from San Diego on 6/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I had to buy a bike after breaking the frame of my Marin. Lifetime warranty? Nope. I shopped everyone ("the competition") and all the bikes in my price range were basically junk. They were no better than the [...] brands, only with better decals. On a whim, I test rode the 6000, and after a block, I was sold. Yeah, it's a tiny bit more than I wanted to spend, but in the end I know it's a bike that will last me many years. If you're in the "mid-price" range, pony up the extra cash, you wont be sorry.

 
Works for me!
By Gone for Now from Mountains of Colorado on 5/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I've had this bike a month now and the seat is my only complaint. I am working to increase my miles and don't ride everyday but I am up to about 20 miles per ride. Just a joy to ride and a lot of fun.

 
Great Bike!
By Bill from Mass on 4/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I wanted to get back in to mountain biking after years of not riding at all...I didn't want to spend this amount of money (but I wanted a good bike with the good components as well), but I have to say I am very happy with this bike! I have had it only a few weeks now and I have done more riding on this bike then I used to in a single season on my old bikes. Its a great bike for trails and power lines. Its tight, light, easy to maneuver on, and the components are good, good gears and fork. It looks great as well! Had to buy the padded gel shorts tho, I would recommend those too!

 
RIDE RIDE RIDE!!!!!!!!
By Ring Boy from Spring Valley New York on 3/7/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

This bike is a good durable bike i go riding all the time the front fork is really good and i recommend this bike for any "real" weekend warrior!!

 
Worth it's weight in Gold
By Mud Runner from Washington on 3/1/2010
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight, Smooth ride
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

This bike is lightweight and gets on it when you want. Quick, nimble and smooth. Good components, quick and smooth shifting. First order of business is to change out the ridiculously uncomfortable seat. Rode a Giant Yukon FX full suspension before and I'm glad I made the switch.

 
Great Bike
By jeb1102 from Tampa, Fla on 1/18/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I'm a 5000 mile a year road bike rider. I have a Trek 6000 to play with on the weekends. Some of the trails i ride are really extreme. This bike handles them great. This bike is worth the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME bike
By nick from pa on 12/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Feels very solid, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

The trek 6000 is one sweet bike. It really blows my old 3700 out of the water. I have the 09 model 18.5 inch frame which i got a very good deal on. The bike is very comfortable, and i feel confident going over any trail obsticale. The bike is really fast compared to my old 3700. (You had to kill yourself pedaling to get that thing out of its own way). The shifts are very firm, i love the lock out front fork, and the avid disc brakes perform great. This bike is very fast and really sick looking to. (i love the matte black). Overall the trek 6000 is deffinetly worth looking into if you want to upgrade.

 
Good Components
By DrewVerified Reviewer from Ottawa, canada on 11/19/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I own the 2009 trek 6000 with the 21.5"frame. I'm 6'3 and 235lbs. It is a wicked bike that's fast and agile. However, In less than a year, I cracked the frame on the inside of the right chainstay just behind the kickstand mount. I ride cross country races and used the bike for it's intended purpose (condition 3 as stated in the manual). The 6000 series chainstays / seatstays are thin diameter tubing when compared to the 8000 series bikes and allow for a lot of flex when hammering uphills, which resulted in my cracked frame. Compare the 6000 series frames to the 8000 series and you will see how much stronger 8000 series bikes are. The 8000 series bikes are SWEET and I HIGHLY recommend them.

 
Good bike
By idk from Baltimore MD on 11/15/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

Good bike but have had problems with the bike. I have clips right now want to switch back to pedals until i get back into trail riding alot right now im jus riding around an djumping stuff going down steep hills. But over all a realy solid bike!!!

 
An old dream came true!
By Icy from Iceland on 11/12/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I use it to go to work.I sometimes take tours after work and in weekends.This bike simply stands for everything i was looking for and a bit more!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This bike is sexy!
By airborn2Verified Reviewer from Fort Wayne, IN on 10/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I love ridding this bike! The brakes are very responsive and the handling is top notch. This bike is inspiring, almost to inspiring. I have found my self dong and trying things I would not have on my old bike. You just need to get a new seat!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect for me.
By Mitchell0481 from Sneads Ferry NC on 10/13/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

This is one of the best bikes I have had in years. I will buy another Trek in the future.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bike
By noneVerified Reviewer from Oklahoma on 10/2/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I Ride in all types of trails and performs well, Shifts smooth with out hangups, Brakes work great, Front suspension works good once set to ride style and weight, The seat get a new one before leaving you will wish you did uncomfortable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
it rocks
By nichoVerified Reviewer from VT on 9/24/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Bought my own gel seat, Not a deal breaker, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I love this bike. The geometry of it is simply outstanding. I'm not sure how to describe it but it's seem like you're always riding on the sweet spot.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great bike
By KevinVerified Reviewer from Sauble Beach ,On. Canada on 9/21/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I never had a good bike before and was looking for something to take to work about 10km each way on roads and trails, i did a lot of research on-line and ended up getting a 2009 model 6000 hardtail and love it !! no squeaks from the crank, handles the rough trail real good ,brakes stop you very fast with no noise! The paint is very nice with great fit and finish for the overall bike.I have changed the grips and the seat might go next but they are just about personal choice

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Is it the same 2009?
By ChepopeyeVerified Reviewer from Florida on 9/8/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

I changed my current mtb for this new Trek 6000. I looked into the 2009 model, and in fact borrowed it from a friend and decided to buy it, finding it was worth the value. At the store they had the 2010 model which I bought. The feeling though, is that it´s exactly the same bike as the 2009 model. Same components, etc... However, a good bike for a 4 to 5 times a week rider.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just bought one!
By TonyVerified Reviewer from Freehold, NJ on 9/1/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 6000:

This bike is a joy to ride. Smooth quick shifts, great handling, and extremely lightweight. A great bike for beginners, I ride mine everyday. I'm just looking to replace the seat with something softer. The seat is very uncomfortable.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.