Buy the 4300 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
4300 image
 
(based on 51 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, 4 Series
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 51 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(34), Durable(46), Good geometry(37), Handles well(47), Lightweight(36)
Cons:
Poor components(3), Poor tires(11), Uncomfortable seat(17)
Best Uses:
Climbing(22), Descending(18), Single track(27), Trail riding(42), Urban riding(40)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(23), Casual/ recreational(26)
Was this a gift?:
No(22), Yes(4)
 
Look No Further
By MattVerified Reviewer from Baltimore on 6/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Slow Shifter
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I've had my 4300 for several years now and quite frankly, I love it. It is extremely controllable on any terrain, and will perform any task you set before it. Although not the best mountain bike out there, you can't beat it for a mix of trail riding and hardcore off-roading. Comfortable and relatively light weight, it will both climb and descend with ease. The frame is one of the best out there. All of the components on it are good quality and durable. They have withstood a crash (or several) on dirt, pavement, and rocks. The only issues I have with the bike are not wide enough tires (although they aren't terrible) and a slow shifter (which may be fixed on the newer models). Overall, it's an amazing bike and a great all-rounder. I have put several hundred miles on mine.

*On a side note, I have modified and upgraded some of the components slightly, although this does not affect my review of this bike.

Images shared by: Matt

4300 in Garage

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Price isn't eveything
By Dave the 210 guy from San Antonio, TX on 6/11/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

You will almost definitely want to replace the seat! I have owned and ridden my 4300 for 9 years. It has been pushed hard, crashed many times, yet has required very little maintenance beyond daily care and an occasional thorough cleaning. I wish my body were as durable as my 4300 has proven to be. I would heartily recommend this bicycle for anyone wanting a quality proven bike for weekly/daily use requiring minimal upkeep.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the price
By IkeVerified Reviewer from Nashville on 6/7/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Just got into mountain biking June 10' and this was my first non box store bike. After a year and about 2000 miles the bike is holding up well. I'm 200+ lbs and ride it pretty hard.

The component group on this bike lacks a bit, but is still better then you'll get on a box store bike. The frame is light and seems solid enough that derailers and such can be upgraded as needed. I have no plans on getting a new bike anytime soon.

I have several upgrades since I bought the bike...Most of which were adaptive to my style. Not because of original part failure.

Tires,Derailer,Seat,crankset converted to single chainwheel, Clipless pedals.

I also purchased an extra wheelset and put a set of 1.1" wide Michelin Wild RunR street tires. This has made for a quick switch to a very capable commuter bike.

 
Solid Bike
By JimmyVerified Reviewer from Hudson, OH on 6/4/2011
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Strong frame
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is great if you are trying to decide if you should buy it the answer is yes. It is a great all around bike. It can handel almosts everything I can dish out. The V brakes are good but if you do plan on ridding it semi-seriously on trails I'd say spend the extra money for the disc brakes. I cant speak for the quality of those but they would be nice to have when it gets wet. I ride this bike all around town to school and where ever. This will be the third season I've had it and it has 4,000+ miles on it. I should probably replace the chain tho I havent had any real problems with it. The tires met my needs when they were new but they need replacing now. My front axel got loose and I didn't notice it until it was too late so im gona have to replace the hub. But thats my fault. I flipped the stem to give it a more aggressive feel for off-road riding. Its a great bike for beginners but it does make me curious what a full suspension bike has to offer. This bike can just handle anything I have ridden it through muddy water submerging the hubs and it just keeps going. After two full years of ridding it I am very happy with it being a hardtail. All in all if you want a quality hardtail that will handle everything and wont break the bank this is the bike for you. THIS BIKE IS TOUGH!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A excelent buy
By Gobe13 from Carolina, Puerto Rico on 5/22/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Very pleased with the bike. I`m a heavy person 286 pounds i ride the bike like a feather, it handles well and 8 speed is great. If you`re a heavy like me and enjoy ridin bicycles I personaly recomend this bike. My bike is a 19.5in. The only thing that i did to the byke before leaving the bike shop was I change the saddle to fit my comfort and that it. The other thing i have done to my bike is ride it for long trips, and it haven`t fails me.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By ChadVerified Reviewer from Upper Peninsula, Michigan on 5/20/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have had this bike for about 3 years now, and I haven't had a problem with it since I bought it. I upgraded from a [...] bike.I ride quite often, and my average ride is about 15-30 miles, depending on how I'm feeling. I have easily put more than 1000 miles on the bike, and all the components have held up perfectly. It has held up through multiple races. I love everything about this bike.I will be upgrading soon, but I would HIGHLY recommend this bike to anybody wanting to get into racing or technical singletrack riding.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent choice for money
By 1st time trek buyerVerified Reviewer from Fargo on 5/9/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well, Rides very nice
Cons:
none yet, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Hello everyone, I have never spent this amount of money on a bike, right now I'm glad I did. It's got what I'm looking for in a good to great ride. I owned a Utopia very temporarily, a friend let me ride his 2010 4300 as comparison, hands down I went and traded the Utopia for a 2011 4300 (matte bronze). Love this bike. The only problem I have had so far is the seatpost keeps slipping down. Nobody has given me any ideas on how to tighten it up, except your basic "tighten up the screw on the neck of the post". Overall, it's the best bike I have ever owned, and also it's my first Trek. I had no idea what I had been missing all these years. Well, I found out when I rode it for the first time.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the price!
By Gene from Milton, FL on 4/16/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Having had a trek back in the early 90s have always been a fan of Trek bikes. Upon deciding to get back into riding it was a no brainer to go with the Trek brand bikes. Picked up the 4300 as it seemed to be the best bang for the buck. I also picked up a Skye S for my wife. We both love our bikes! So far it has seen a couple of hundred miles both on bike paths and dirt trails. I was pleasantly surprised at how well the lower end component group shifted, braked. Though slightly heavier than my previous Trek MTBs still was light enough for my purposes. Seat was uncomfortable at first but am getting used to it. Great looking bike and will only look at upgrades if and when existing components fail. Greatly impressed with the overall feel and operation of this bike! Highly recommend it!

 
Pretty resilient
By Adam from North Carolina on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Components, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike about a year ago. I've broken the rear derailleur more than once, and the frame is strong enough to let the derailleur hanger do it's job. The tires are pretty bad for single track, and don't have any grip. Although the tires would be good for a commuter. I switched out to more aggressive tires. The bike has surprisingly held up to some crazy jumps, including a 6 foot gap jump and a couple 5 feet drops. I only weigh 125 pounds so the shocks are impossible to bottom out. Overall this bike has lasted, but I'm going to buy a new one soon.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great on and off road bike
By TugboatVerified Reviewer from Springfield, Ohio on 3/30/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Tires, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Not the best derailleurs, Somewhat stiff suspension
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike as a road and mountain bike by switching out the tires. It does me fantastic as both catching good speed and smooth. Another thing I have found awesome about the bike is the effecency of the keeping speed is phenomenal. I have had some issues with my pedals and derailleurs but they were minor though.

 
great bike
By peteVerified Reviewer from bronx new york on 3/8/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Love this bike
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

use this bike both on and off road. great all around bike

 
fabulous bike
By c from missouri on 3/1/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike replaces my mongoose DXR-Al and this is a huge improvement.i typically use the bike for trail riding and going to my small job. and errands sometimes. it handles and breaks well. the steering is great and is stable over rough terain. and corners like a road bike at high speed

 
Great Bike
By mambaVerified Reviewer from Redmond , Washington on 2/27/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Good Value, Handles Well, Lightweight, Shifts smoothly, Smooth suspension, Stylish
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike at my local bike shop and so far it is great. Mine is green which I didn't see as a color option on the website but It looks absolutely great. The front brake works great but the rear brake could use a little tightening which is easy. The seat is a little uncomfortable but that can be expected with a stock seat. Overall I am very happy with this bike and I am very happy with the performance.

 
great bike
By g man from Santa Clara, Utah on 2/25/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is an excellent choice. It has gone through many miles and has held up great. I take it trail riding and the only thing I didn't like is that the tires that it comes with don't grip the trail aren't very good for trail riding.

 
Reliable fair price
By Adam from North Carolina on 1/23/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Good Value, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I'm in highschool so I can't afford a full suspension bike but I bought this bike. I ended up buying 2 more tires, 1 is a slick tire i use for triathlons and the other tire is a more aggressive mountain tire. The tires that come with this bike aren't great for mountain biking or trail-and-road. The shocks aren't sensitive, (probably because I weigh 130 pounds and i'm 5'5") but they do absorb 3 foot jumps without bottoming out. I think it would be worth your money to go the extra money to get the better version of this bike. If you intend to buy a hardtail bike for mainly mountain biking courses I think it would be best to buy a bike with airshocks instead of preloaded shocks, ESPECIALLY if your light.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
okay...
By SHINE from pennsilvania on 1/16/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components, Poor Tires, Stiff fork, Weak tires, Weird crank
Best Uses:
Climbing, Good for long rides, Lease roads, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i have 410 miles on it allready but i cant shift into higher gears without it rubbing against the tire, and i cant pedal backwards without the chain falling off...other than that it handles fine, very confortable, forks a little stif after a while but good for begginers and competitive racers

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
FANTASTIC BIKE !!
By NUTSY311Verified Reviewer from VA on 1/16/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have owned quite a few bikes in the last 30 yrs of riding. This is a great bike for anyone. I have put it through rain,sleet,snow,sand and any other weather condition you can think of on a day to day basis as i ride my bike to work everyday without exception.. Having said that i WOULD recommend changing the tires on this awesome bike to a much more aggressive and more gripping tire. For the price of this bike YOU CAN'T GO WRONG !!

 
A year in and still love it!
By SiVerified Reviewer from Hollywood, FL on 1/6/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I've had this bike for almost a year and love it as much today as the first day I got it out on the trails. I use it around town as well as trail riding, even a cyclocross or two. Great value for money and well put together.

 
Love it! Great all-purpose bike.
By rusty in MS from Tupelo on 11/24/2010
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight, Stylish
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
All-purpose, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this for trail/mountain biking, and also around town. Max ride distance was about 25 miles (with some 30+ mph downhills!). I love it. It feels solid on the road or on the hills. The seat sometimes feels a bit hard and I become aware of it during a ride, but a break or a change in riding style usually keeps it from becoming a nuisance. (I'm not thinking of changing it -- it's well-made and sturdy). Components feel fine for me -- no intention of changing anything. I did add a computer and some safety lights. I intend to use this bike everywhere I go biking, and have no intention or need to get anything else, unless I start taking some 100-mile road trips. My only complaint is that I got the black/white instead of the bronze. :)

 
Good All-purpose Bike
By Red Rock Adventurer.Verified Reviewer from Sedona, Arizona on 11/14/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is a good bike. My first new one in 17 years. The bike has a good feel and is easy to handle on trails. The V-brakes are just fine for me, but if you live where it's muddy you should consider the discs. I'm 6'-2 and the 21 is just right for me. I got the bronze which doesn't show dirt so much. Light weight and solid. But hard seat...

 
Great bike
By MA Rivy from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl on 11/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

good bike for the buck but the V breaking system gets gunked up in mud

 
The perfect bike!
By helisafari from Titusville Florida on 10/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Made to ride
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great bike used for daily exercise around the block or on the trails. Bulletproof. I did change the seat (which is a bit hard) for a more comfortable Trek version which is now great, otherwise, no complaints, this is a fantastic bike and fun to ride!

 
Fantastic Ride
By gs46 from michigan on 10/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I ride everyday and find the 4300 a great bike. Paths, urban or single tracks this bike can do it all for the average rider. We would all like lighter weight for less money but this bike is the best balance between the two. Fantastic novice hardtail.

 
Great Beginner Bike
By AnthonyiromgVerified Reviewer from Highland, CA on 10/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great bike for the price! Really good on the trail. Good for urban rides as well. Only things that need upgrades are the saddle and gears. The stock saddle can become very uncomfortable after a long ride. The stock gears aren't the best for road cycling. Overall an amazing bike.

 
Satisfied
By BrotherbdcVerified Reviewer from Watson Louisiana on 9/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is a great bike for the casual rider. I use it for Trail riding, single track and hunting. I am kind of aggressive and the bike has held up well. I am 6ft 3 and have a 21inc frame and is very comfortable actually I think it is more bike than I need. I am 100% satisfied!!!

 
Great bike for the money
By Tai from Aurora, CO on 9/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The 4300 is a lot of bike for the money. I haven't ever been so impressed by a bike before. It is a bit slow on decending but easy to use excellent handling and a great confidence booster. This is my main bike now.

 
Perfect intro to Mountain biking.
By Crawdad63Verified Reviewer from Dover, Oh. on 8/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Thin Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My dealer recommended this model to me 'cause I was wanting to get into mountain biking without breaking the bank. I ride anywhere I can and have found this bike suits me perfect.

 
I have a great trek 4300
By shaggyVerified Reviewer from florence, sc on 8/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable
Cons:
Heavy, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The Trek 4300 is a good all around bike. It specializes in trails and sidewalk riding. Its not quite fast enough for the road, but it does better on the sidewalks.
Its a decent entry level bike, and its a good value. It is best for people who ride for fun, or commute for short distances. I think this is a good bike. Also, the maintenance is easy, and it will last a long time.

 
Great bike
By boatfly from Memphis, TN on 8/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Handgrips slippery, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
All in one, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The biggest thing I was attracted to was a more upright and comfortable posture while riding. The shifting with triggers is perfect and quick, the pedals are wide, sturdy, and a great grip to shoes. Doublewalled rims survive the tough pops of trail riding. Seat is not very comfortable, handgrips are slippery if you are sweating. Great bike for me or anyone that rides trails, paths, or road trips. All for under $600.

 
Amazing.
By 123josh1994Verified Reviewer from Oxford on 8/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easy to do tricks, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Very good, fun and easy, can do tricks on.

 
BEST MTB I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!
By akita_shadowVerified Reviewer from Big Rapids, MI. on 8/2/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

the seat is uncomfortable, but you can get a new one.

 
solid
By WD40Verified Reviewer from Arizona on 7/30/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Bike has been solid. tires work pretty well for on/off dirt riding, Not for serious offroad. solid forks, frame and wheels.lots of fun.I ride roads,singletrack and some bike camping. Shifts rough but seems pretty tough. Constant front derailleur adjustments after rough rides. Solid bike for entry level price.

 
Don't judge a book by it's cover
By Jonathan from Austin, Texas on 6/8/2010
Pros:
A lot of adjustments, Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Just riding, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike a lot. I think the seat could be a bit more comfortable but it's ok. The bike is a awesome bike. I have used this in every type of weather. I wish the could of put a better fork on it but I have kept this one on it out of the many upgrades I have done to it. Overall its a fantastic bike.

 
excelent bike
By johnVerified Reviewer from anoka,mn on 5/18/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first bike that i have bought from a bike shop, and i love it! i will probably never buy a bike that's from a department store ever again. the bike shifts incredibly smooth and is very well spec'd. I cant wait to take this thing on some single tracks this summer!

 
Great Casual Bike!
By Riding for the Health OF It!Verified Reviewer from South Lyon, MI on 5/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I ride this bike on the single track, on paved trails with the family and I use it as a commuter. The Lockout feature on the forks give it a nice stiff ride when I'm on the road and still allow me to take it off road, a big selling point for me. That feature and the geometry make it a great, reliable, all purpose bike. I'm very satisfied.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike, terrible tires.
By GotTheBugVerified Reviewer from Woodland, CA on 4/19/2010
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I purchased this bike after owning a Trek Hybrid 7200 for a couple months and found out that I needed a trail bike with more durability. I love the bike but the Bontrager LT 3 tires are wasted on this bike. My hybrid had better tires. I ordered the LT 3 Plus with hard-case puncture protection and some slim tubes to weather the storm. All and all though so far I am loving the feel. I should have bought this before the hybrid.

 
Excellent
By motoVerified Reviewer from La Crosse, Wi on 4/11/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my third Trek Mountain Bike (1980's and 1990's) and the most comfortable and least expensive of the three. Certainly the components are not high end, but everything works extremely well and I really can't find any fault with it at all. It definitely reflects the greater precision of today's design and manufacturing technology. Needless to day, I am sold on Trek.

 
Good Bike for the New Serious User
By BLOXVerified Reviewer from North Bay, Ontario, Canada on 2/27/2010
Pros:
Good components, Good price, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Bad Pedals
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is a good bike to get yourself into the sport. After a while you will want to start upgrading the components.
Bike has abilities for disc brakes, I suggest Hydro's.
Definitely get new pedals.
Plus, to be honest, get to know a good bike shop, it will make a night and day difference.
Overall though, good bike for the price.

 
LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT
By PookerMan from Chico, CA USA on 2/18/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I feel in love with this bike as soon as I seen it hit the showroom floor. I bought the 4300 Series in GREEN, love it. It rides really well on and off road. I would recommend this bike to a first timer to a long time bike user.

 
the 4300 is a good bike
By joe 2 coolVerified Reviewer from paola ks on 1/29/2010
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i got this bike back in Dec and i like the way it rides it fills like you are flying and not riding it it is a lite bike but i have a rack and a bag on it and yes it does make it heavy'er with the bag on it with out u can pick it up with one finger that is how lite it is

 
i just got the bike to
By joe 2 coolVerified Reviewer from paola ks on 12/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i like this bike i just got it my slef and it rides nice and it is lite i have a bag on mine so t makes it a little bit heavyer but
to to much but if you are looking for a bike this i a good one

 
Excellent bang for the buck...
By Strat40Verified Reviewer from Big Lake, Alaska on 11/19/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I fell in love the first time I sat on it. I fell in love again after the first ride. Very solid feel on both pavement and the "trails" I ride here in the AK. Next up, studded tires!

 
Fun ride for the serious commuter
By riding to workVerified Reviewer from florence, sc on 10/13/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

You can make the tires stronger by adding nashbar rim strips between your tube and your tire. Its a little rubber that fits around your tires.
The bike gets me to work everyday. Inexpensive and very reliable.

 
Outstanding Bike
By RyanBVerified Reviewer from Wheaton Il. on 10/2/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Simply a fun bike to ride! I had to replace the tubes because they stink, and I'm going to replace the pedals soon because they break easily, but the main components of this bike are awesome. Even if the price is slightly higher than you would like to spend, you should definitely consider splurging to get an amazing bike.

 
Makes the Ride
By HH1970Verified Reviewer from Georgia on 9/14/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike makes biking fun. After crashing my Wally Word bike I had to get a real bike. I rode this bike around the store for more than an hour trying to convince myself not to buy it but really I knew 10 seconds after I saw it that I wanted it. It delivers far more than I thought a REAL bike would. Riding it since late June and highly recommend!

 
Great Bike!
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from Dublin, CA on 9/10/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike two months ago after going through TWO Schwinn bikes in less than a month. The TREK 4300 is Awesome! ZERO problems with it in two months and over 1000 miles. Not even a single sqeak. I do mostly paved trail riding but, I do jump curbs easily. The only 'bad' thing I can say about the bike is that I wish the tires that came with it were better. The tires that came on it are ok but they seem to get punctures easy, but hey, I did put 1000 miles on them. However the tires are very easy to upgrade which I just did. After 1000 miles I'm totally sold on TREK. They Rock! The next bike I buy will be TREK too!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
First class bike!!
By KJ from Chicago on 9/6/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Very impressive looking
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The Alpha aluminum makes this mountain bike stand out from the crowd. I compared several bikes...the 4300 has the weight of a hybrid. Very nice bike for the money.

 
Awsome bike for the price! Glad I got it
By Scooby1102Verified Reviewer from Bay City, MI on 9/6/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Purchased the 2010 Matte Green bike 6 weeks ago and already have over 600 miles on it and still loving it. Bike is everything I hoped for when purchasing for the pro's marked above. Highly recommended

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the price!!!
By filmeoVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 8/28/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Trek 4300:

Looks really good!!! But the Trek people could improve the weight

Images shared by: filmeo

All gear up!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

It just works!!!

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
EXCELLENT BIKE
By MOUNTAIN MANVerified Reviewer from ACCIDENT,MARYLAND on 8/28/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

THIS BIKE HAS SOME COMPONENTS ON IT THAN PREVIOUS MODELS WHICH MAKES IT EXCEL ON THE TRAILS OR IN THE MOUNTAIN.HANDLES GREAT GREAT GEOMETRY ALL AROUND THE BEST BIKE I HAVE EVER OWNED WONT NEED TO UPGRADE FOR QUITE SOMETIME.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Bike!!
By jallove7 from Utah on 8/26/2009
Pros:
Aesthetics, Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None Whatsoever
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I got this bike two months ago and have had nothing but great rides with it. Everybody I go riding with has had problem after problem with their bikes. I have had no problem at all, and we have ridden in some pretty crazy stuff. Everybody loves it and it looks great too! Buy this bike! I have the V-brakes and they work great. I guess the only con is that the tires are not the most aggressive, but still work great and are good enough for most. If you ride a lot you might want to upgrade to a more aggressive tire.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.