Buy the 4300 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
4300 image
 
(based on 135 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, 4 Series
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 135 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(7), Durable(116), Good geometry(101), Good price / value(4), Great components(81)
Cons:
Hard seat(5), Heavy(10), Poor components(9), Poor tires(4), Too rigid(3)
Best Uses:
Climbing(93), Descending(69), Single track(69), Technical riding(29), Trail riding(15)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(57), Casual/ recreational(55), Competitive cyclist(4), Weekend warrior(35)
 
Great Bike
By James from Hudson, OH on 8/22/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Very nice bike. I got the 2010 model, and it is SHARP. Looks stunning; has good components and is very fast. I would recommend this bike to pretty much anyone. I can just fly on this thing.

 
All around great bike
By RaymanVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, WI on 8/21/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I purchased this bike earlier this year while living in Germany. Put on roughly 500km riding most bike paths and trails and about 100km of single track. Now that I'm back in the states I'm riding mostly single track in the area. Bike has performed extremely well. Only issue thus far is one flat tire (in 600 miles).
The brakes work well and I have not come across any situation where I would have needed the disc version. I did change the pedals to Shimano SPD.
One improvement I will make is upgrading the front fork to allow for "locking" the travel when road riding.

 
Awesome Bike
By JimVerified Reviewer from Royersford, Pa on 8/11/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I've had this bike for a year and it has never let me down. I would recommend it to anyone.

 
Awesome Bike
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from Dublin California on 8/8/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I LOVE this bike! It is worth every penny. I have had it for 30 days now. It has given me 500 miles of trouble free performance. Not even a sqeak anywhere on the bike. Do NOT buy a 'department store' bike. You Will be sorry, gauranteed. DO buy this bike. You wont be sorry. It took a couple of weeks for me to get used to the seat. I tried a couple of differnet gel covers but after a two weeks the seat alone felt WAY better than the gel covers. It's a VERY sharp bike. I love the 'neon green' color. It is easy for me to pick up this bike and carry it anywhere, nice and light.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A-1 bike period
By ForceofwonVerified Reviewer from Cashion, Oklahoma on 8/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first good quality bike after riding cheapies since 2001. I love it. I climb hills I had to walk the other bikes up before. I guess its the gearing-but this bike will MOVE. My only complaints, after riding this 3-4 times a week for the past 3.5 months is the thin tires and seat, which I replaced both. I have put this bike through some crueling tests, and it outlasts me!

Images shared by: Forceofwon

my 4300

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Satisfied "Trekker"
By Outdoor Al from Macomb Twp., Michigan on 8/1/2009
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I'm 42 and returned to active cycling two years ago, although it was via the local paved trails on hybrid bike. I replaced my 11 yr old sons bike with a Trek 3700 and he raved about how light it was and easy to ride "in the dirt". He started wandering off road and his 9 yr. old brother and I had a hard time keeping up with him. So, back to the local Trek dealer I went and purchased the 4300 on recommendation of bike tech. The bike has performed very well on local trails, handling climbs, mud, sand, gravel, stumps, roots, rocks, etc.. without fail. I even ran the "black" trail for the first time last night and the bike performed great. Like the bike so much I bought my 9 yr. old a 220. We now bike 2-3 times a week together. Great family fun. Thanks Trek!

[4 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By JimmyVerified Reviewer from Hudson, OH on 7/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I got this bike in December its now July. I have almost 600 miles on it. I use it to get to school and around town. Its fast and tough. I have beat this bike up on singletrack and it just keeps going. Great for the beginning mountain biker and for someone who wants something tougher than a hybrid. If you plan on riding alot of singletrack I recomend the 4300 with disc brakes. It is a little more money but if you're riding through water and streams it will make a difference. If you have a bigger budget and are planning on racing alot more than the casual race once a year think about one of treks higher end models. This is a great bike I love it but I have seen some of the other bikes Trek has and they just keep me wanting more.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love This Bike But Have Had Minor Issues
By RBWVerified Reviewer from Ann Arbor, MI on 7/20/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I just got back into cycling this year after about 10 yrs away and because I've owned 4 Trek bikes (3 road, 1 mtn) prior to this one it didn't take a ton of thought on my end to get to the brand. This bike in particular is very comfortable. I'm 6ft 3in and have had back surgery twice, and I never have back issues due to ride position. Seat is comfortable and the front suspension is great. The loops I ride are super hilly and there are tons of switch-backs, this thing handles them like a pro. I love this bike, but my only complaint is that I've had to have the derailer cables replaced twice this year alone. The chain started popping off all of a sudden, bent teeth the cause. I know trail and single track riding are tough on bikes, but my buddies bikes don't seem to take as many trips to the LBS for repairs and we tend to hit the same stuff. Thank God my guy knows me well enough now that he gets the thing fixed and done while I wait. Either way, I'd buy another Trek in a heartbeat and I probably will next year.

 
My first MTB
By Aalap ShahVerified Reviewer from Bangalore, India on 7/16/2009
Pros:
Handles Well
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I take my 2009 Orange 4300 office home, do 18.6km a day. Had a problem with the RST knob in the front suspension, the dealer changed it without hassles. Just love the daily ride, though I haven't done any treks and trails yet. I haven't made any mistake in my first MTB, 4300 is great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A BIG DIFFERENCE
By Oree from Lafayette, Louisiana on 7/14/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is an awesome bike i've had it for 4 days now and put a little over 40 miles on it. handles great and well made. Much better than my old [...]bike. I am buying one for my wife now.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Build
By Dave from Miami Florida on 7/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Seat is uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The 4300 series was a gift from my wife and kids and its been the best gift ever. I just brought my son the 6000 series, now he can keep up with me when we ride together instead of using his old so called bike. I can't wait to hang out and ride together in our Trek bikes.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet Bike
By Ace27Verified Reviewer from Maryland on 6/14/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, The Paint Job
Cons:
Front Suspension fork, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I got my Trek 4300 about a year ago from my local bike dealer and I'll have to say that this is a very impressive entry-level bike. The front suspension and some other components are not efficient enough to fulfill the demands of a "hardcore" off-road cyclist but on the other hand the geometry and build quality of the frame is amazing! (nice sandblasted charcoal black paint) In addition the bike itself is lightweight and durable, allowing it to be used excessively throughout the day.

Overall when you pay for a bike like this you are paying mainly for the light and durable frame. The stock components and front suspension could pass for now, but LATER in your biking career if you are serious about this bike I would recommend upgrading the components.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A good bike
By Hot rodder from omaha ne on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

got this bike like the feel just right for me plus got 50 dollars off the bike

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
the bike that lasts
By Stickers from California on 5/29/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Smooth
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Freestyle like bmx, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike is great is strong it handles well and it does everything i need. the only bad thing about this bike is it doesn't have grip shift.
My friend has a carbon fiber full suspension and this bike feels a lot like it just no rear suspension

[12 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still Going Strong
By CaptainTriipsVerified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 5/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Exactly one year to the day I purchased my Trek 4300 orange and was impressed right off the bat. Now for the update.

The only components I have changed thus far have been pedals and grips. I replaced the pedals with Shimano PDM-540's and the grips with Odi Intense locking. Yeah and one other thing: just because of my arm length I replaced the 110 mm stem with a 125 mm which my LBS did for free.

For the price (was $100 cheaper a year ago, same everything as a 2009) this bike has outperformed many other name brand bikes that are of a higher caliber. When I ride I show no mercy, and has not failed me yet.

For an entry-level bike and even a little beyond, it will not disappoint. No comfort issues with the seat BTW but tires, well not really that bad if you stay out of the mud and even then its not that big of a deal. Builds character.

Images shared by: CaptainTriips

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Best Bike to date...for me at least
By knightriderVerified Reviewer from Dayton, Ohio on 5/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Shifts really easily
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Bike trails, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I only just got this bike and wow what an improvement from my previous bike. The only downside to this bike is the stock seat, it really isn't slightly comfy at all. So, I switched it out and there is a major difference. This bike works well on roads and offroad as well, I can feel everything, which I think is pretty cool. Also if you take this bike on the road, I was able to comfortably hold 36 mph with the 24 gear combo's.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By ManoVerified Reviewer from Kempton on 3/14/2009
Pros:
Exelent on and off Road, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
No other Cons, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I Bike on the road more than off, and this bike is the most comfortable bike I have used, but it can take a real beating. I have Biked in All Weather, (including Snow Drifts) and there is not a bit of rust. Only better bike is the out of pruduction Trek 800. I have well over 1,000 Miles on Mine, and it looks as new as the day I purchased it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Contender no surrender!
By Treky from Los Angeles California baby! on 2/25/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

By all means do not let the shop tell you this is strictly a beginners bike because this thing can run with the big-boys, I've pounded this thing over and over and it takes the hits like some of treks more pricey models. Buy the 4300 with disc brakes and get rid of the wimpy tires though. All in all a grade "A" bike!

 
A light weight tank!
By Trek-Star from Los Angeles CALI BABY! on 2/24/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My first Trek ever and worth every penny. I've pounded the bike like a full suspension rig and climbed it like a road bike, this is a great beginners bike for anyone but don't let the word beginner full you! it can be man handled and muscled down tough terrain like its Trek higher series brothers. Suggestions -buy it with disc brakes and change the wimpy tires!

 
Keeps me happy in Chiangmai, Thailand
By Doug from New jerseyVerified Reviewer from Chiangmai, Thailand, on 2/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I love this bike! I bought it for commuting on the streets of this city in northern Thailand. I went with a little smaller frame for quicker handling in this crazy traffic, and even though it feels a little heavy when I pick it up you don't feel it one bit when riding. And the best part is that it rides so great it keeps me happy when I'm missing my daughters and my country. Thankyou Trek!

 
Great bike
By medic38Verified Reviewer from Brimingham Alabama on 2/18/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is great and the price is awesome. I just bought mine Feb 14 2009. I have already put 50 miles on it some urban riding and alot on trails. I have no complaints about this bike. It is light handles great and pulls amazing up hills on all kinds of terrain. I had a department store bike before I bought my Trek 4300 and it is different as night and day in the ride and the weight department store bike is much havier. My new 4300 shifts great dont hear all the grinding and rattling like on my other bike. I hate to get off of this bike. And the folks at Chaba Cycle in Trussville Alabama were awesome. Hope this helps I am off again now to do more riding.

 
Excellent Bike
By PeteifVerified Reviewer from Long Island, New York on 2/13/2009
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This was my first real mountain bike and I can't say enough good things about it. I was initially surprised at how comfortable the ride is, especially being a hardtail. I've had it for some months now and I've had no technical problems, just minor adjustments here and there. I now have a 1.2 road bike, the 4300, and I am in the process of buying a equinox 9.0. Obviously I am a big trek fan, but one complaint I do have is that I feel more thought could go into components and the small things. Make sure you buy thin framed bottle cages for this bike, because the mounts are too close together to fit any others. I tend to see alot of really silly problems like that with trek gear. I'd also like to see more SRAM parts on bikes other then the Madones.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
In its price class..no comparison
By goodymobVerified Reviewer from USA on 2/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Value
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have owned this bike for 3 years, so it's not the model you see here, but after having spoken to my bike dealer, TREK has changed NOTHING about the bike since i bought it; only paint. With GOOD maintenance, this bike outperforms every other bicycle in its class. I ride with a group of guys who all have bikes in the price range of this and the components used on the 4300 are consistently better. I've tried all of the other's bikes from Specialized, fisher, jamis, giant among others and the TREK feels solider...even the owners of the other bikes agree. (I DO sometimes have to prod a bit for them to be honest! haha)

I ride off road/medium techical/single track stuff. I ride hard, I weigh 200 pounds and am 6'5"...and the bike holds up like a champ. I wanted a more expensive bike when i bought, but i couldn't do it. I'm very happy with having wound up with this one for now. It's a GREAT mountain bike for the cash outlay....really

One thing i wish it had different is the suspension fork. It rides very well, but i'd like more adjustability. The other thing i wish could be better is the weight. it's not heavy in comparison to some older chromoly bikes i've rode on, but it's not as light as a hardtail could and should be. but....price range! none of them are.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My first, my last, my only.
By Tubby rollerVerified Reviewer from tampa florida on 1/24/2009
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I Bought my 4300 in the summer of 2007. it was love at first sight. I have ridden this bike all over florida with one of my good friends, tackling some of the harriest trails and singletrack florida has and this bike never quit! I am a large man at 230 LBS, and the components on the bike have yet to fail me. I love my trek soo much that i even invested well over $600 dollars on upgrading the front suspension and adding disc brakes and high performance tires. some may say that i should have invested in a higher end bike but when your bike dedicates itself to you, you have no choice but to returen the favor.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for new riders
By K-HopVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

On some technical trails, perhaps the absence of rear suspension is to blame, when climbing over larger stones too quickly I have have a few blown tubes. Yet it is a great bike with a good price. It's great for any new rider looking into mountain biking.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
the perfect bike
By Trail eating machian from Zillah/WA on 12/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
bad seat, Ininefficient fork
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use my mountain bike for off road use.Things I like about it are how it feels and handls on rough trails. Things I dont like about the bike are its seat and its RST fork.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's the [*].
By Daddy CoolVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 11/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seating
Best Uses:
Descending, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike to ride around in the neighbahood with my peeps, sometimes use it on pretty intense trails, and this bike is perfect for rough terrain AND gravel roads. perfect.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike
By mleland from MN on 10/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike in last years orange color and love the bike overall. The only thing I wish I would have upgraded to is disc brakes. I wasn't as in to cycling as I am now and I thought I would be fine with v brakes only. The thing is, now I am more excited about the sport because I love my bike. If you are thinking about buying a bike of this caliber I suggest upgrading to something one step above what you are thinking is good for you. You won't regret it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT BIKE
By SASQUATCHVerified Reviewer from niellsville , WI on 10/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike is great for general riding. it is OK on hills, descents, and good for overall riding. it's a great bike for the price

 
AMAZING VALUE!
By BENMURPHYONLINE[@]Verified Reviewer from Rochester, New ork on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have the 2007 model and I was blown away! I've ridden the crud out of it on some pretty demanding trails and it's held up very well! The compenents are lower end but hold up well enough. But the frame is incredibly solid and you can always upgrade the compenents. Great, great, great value!

 
my first trek
By banjo from East TN on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Bought mine used. Its an older model orange with blue wheels.Everything works great.It is so easy to ride I just cant stop riding it.The gears shift well and the gearing is great for the rolling hills where I live. I highly recommend this bike to anyone.

 
Awsome Bike!
By Pete387 from Des Moines, Iowa on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Goes Fast, Good Geometry, Great Components, Great For Singletrack, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Jumping, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I got this for my birthday and I'm really glad I did! It's just perfect. It's the best bike I've owned! It has great components and a real comfortable Race Lux seat. I highly recommend this to a friend.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
My 2nd review
By johnwaynewestVerified Reviewer from Charlotte NC on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Just came back from a 3 day weekend in the Dupont State Forest of Western NC. This bike held up to everything those trails had to offer. From some of the steepest descents, and climbs I have ever done, to slick rock and 3 to 4 foot drops. Some of the best times were passing guys on bikes that cost 4 times as much and even seeing a few on the sides of the trails repairing their bikes. I even came off of one descent rated as difficult and there were about 10 guys at the bottom with their much more expensive bikes. They said they do the climb up, but then turn around instead of doing the last part, and one that had just came down was sitting there patching a flat tire. I bought this bike as a starter to make sure I really wanted to start riding, and since then I have been trying to ride it into the ground to give me an excuse to buy a more expensive one. But it's like a dog. The harder I am on it, the harder it tries to please me. I love this bike and really haven't seen any reason to get rid of it.

 
Great Ride
By knighthogVerified Reviewer from Utah on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I actually have the 07 version but the bike is essentially the same. As for durability, my bike got pitch off a bike carrier on the freeway at about 80 mph. I thought I would be bringing it home in a bag. Amazingly it only needed a new right hand brake and shifter assembly, new grips. There are some minor scratches, but overall it came out in great shape. Didn't even lose a day riding.

 
trek 4300
By Snapplenorm from ozone park, queens nyc on 8/13/2008
Pros:
A great bike, Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
No complaints
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i purchased the trek 4300 on oct 4th 2007 and it is now august 13th 2008 and i have put on 5000 miles since then, the bike is very durable and reliable, i am from nyc and ride anywhere and everywhere i can, i know there are other bikes out there but from a personal experience i highly suggest the trek 4300 !!! ''once you go trek, you don't go back'' !!! happy riding !!![@]

 
Great starter
By Dan from US Army stationed in europe on 8/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I picked this bike up about a month ago, and so far I have put about a 100 miles on it. I'm just starting out, and couldn't see myself buying a $1000+ bike. So far this bike as done everything I have asked it to with no complaints. It is definetly a great buy if your just starting out like me. The price cant be beat, and the Trek name is not all hype its the real deal.

 
I wish I owned another one of these!
By Pre-Doctor from Albuquerque, NM on 8/8/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Good for mixed-use (i.e.: urban riding, then going to an off-road type of path, then back onto the city streets), suitable for my location! Considering buying a 2nd one just for the city streets (just swapping out the mountain wheels and tires and adding on some slicks).

 
Loving it!!
By medic1133Verified Reviewer from New Brunswick, Canada on 8/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Just plain love it!! The hard seat is about all that is wrong with it....which has already been replaced! Overall A+++

 
Most Bang for Buck!
By TommyVerified Reviewer from Hawaii on 8/2/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Handles well, not expensive at all. Can't beat it for the price!

 
VERY NICE BIKE!!
By gulf918 from Roxbury, New Jersey on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Rides very smooth, Shocks absorb most impact
Cons:
Gears shift randomly, Poor Components, Tires keep becoming flat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Great for going on trails, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

A good bike for the money. i highly recommened the bike.

 
Nice
By RobTVerified Reviewer from Tracy, Ca. on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Big upgrade from my last "bargin bike". Half the weight and a smoother ride. Going to get a longer seatpost. Front shocks kinda soft, but not to bad. Checked out several other brands but came back to this one.

 
Good for price, not perfect
By Mike from Penn Mountains on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Good price, Smooth suspension
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The Trek 4300 is a great bike, however, it did not take the abuse I put it through. Definetly upgrade components and add disc brakes (they make a remarkable difference and are worth the cost). The rear deralier gave me a few problems with clicking and skipping. Otherwise a very fun and comfortable bike.

 
Great Starting Mountain Bike
By ddrmaxgt37Verified Reviewer from New York, NY on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is a great bike for someone who wants to get into mountain biking but doesn't have the money for a full suspension bike. This bike handles well and can take a beating.

 
love this bike
By redlegVerified Reviewer from missouri on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike is a must for starting out. the only downfall i have found is the tire tread is to close and holds on to any mudd making the bike hard to control. on the other hand the tires are good on the pavement and on dry dirt. but for a lot of trail riding you might look at a more aggresive tire that will get rid of mudd a lot easier.

 
A Jack of all trades! (Almost)
By SB Ridge from Vermont on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Avg Comfort
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

It has been sometime since I have ridden a good bike. This is a good entry level bike, it has some advanced components without the added cost of full suspension and disc brakes. I use my bike for commutes to work and ridding with my family on the weekends. The front suspension is key to a smooth ride on the less then smooth city streets, bike paths and trails. Also this bike allows me to handle the job of keeping up with my 12 year old son and his off road excursions.

I would highly recommend dumping the stock saddle. I am not sure why such a cheap saddle was installed? In my opinion it keeps this bike from truly being a great entry level bike for the person who wants a bike that can do it all.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Passes the Stress Test
By Masu SkaVerified Reviewer from Stevens Point, WI on 7/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This cycle has no problem with a 300+ lb trail rider. Gearing is responsive and the hardware has proven itself especially durable on steep, unrelenting grades. Any skepticism I previously had about the match of the cycle and me are history.

...a good bike for riders testing their limits.

 
GREAT BIKE!!!
By REDVerified Reviewer from greenville on 7/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles jumps well, Handles Well, Lightweight, Strong frame
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use my 4300 for wheelies and endos, jumping up to 10ft. tabletops and condition 4 trails.It is strong and has a good feal, and it only weighs around 30 lb. I have no complaints but i might upgrade the fork to a rockshox dart 3 w/lockout, and put disc brakes on it.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This bike is a must
By Trail rider from Cleveland,TN on 7/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
none yet
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I love the 4300 this is my first trek and it will not be my last. I am a weekend warrior me and my friends ride every weekend. We climb, decend, we are in mud and sand. Anything you can think of really. The bike has done everything I have ask it to do. I recommend the 4300 no questions ask. This is a great bike for the money.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
2009 Trek 4300
By trekithomeVerified Reviewer from Maryville, TN on 7/2/2008
Pros:
Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Looks Great
Best Uses:
Fun, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike to ride home from work everyday! It jumped out at me as a 2008 model but when I saw the 2009 I knew I had to have one. THIS IS MY FIRST REAL BIKE! I bought it to ride on a greenway with few hills and lots of bumps and on and off sidewalks so the front shock was a must for me. I researched bikes for two soild months! I went with the Trek for one the resale and the quality parts. Beside that my dealer in Maryville, Tn is the best. I just brought it home yesterday so it has not seen much trail time but it will soon. If your reading this like I was two months ago and your looking for a good entry level bike that can take the ruff road and get you where you going quickly go buy a Trek 4300. If you have an extra [$] to spend get the disc brakes. I know I will want them soon!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
High Quality bike
By PurebikeVerified Reviewer from Austin, Tx on 7/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike has very good handling. Made up of very good components. I had 3 bikes in the past, and this is definitely the best bike I had. Frame is very durable and lightweight.

 
Great bike for starting mountain biking
By Lil Mitch from PA on 6/29/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy, Too Rigid
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Stair case descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great for a beginner! However, I would save up more and by a better quality bike. Very durable!

 
Great Bike!!!
By ShivaTN from Knoxville, TN. on 6/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike in March of 2008 as a trade up from a '98 model 820 rigid frame...The difference is phenomenal.

The gear ratios work great on steep ascents, and the handling is exceptional.

Plan on enjoying it for a long time to come.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
i'm lovin' it
By rohnjomano from Stuart, Florida on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Great Looks, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I rode in college quite a bit; that was 20 years ago. Man, I wish I had this bike back then! Things sure have changed for the better.

I got this for Father's day to have some fun, increase fitness and shed some weight. It's been great! The seat is a bit hard, as the pounds come off, it shouldn't be a problem anymore.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bike Iv'e Owned!
By Pete387 from South Dakota on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good For Going Fast, Good Geometry, Good Jumping Bike, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I ride my new Trek 4300 every day and go around town at an average speed of about 20-25mph. It's really good for speed, jumping and riding around the town. The components are great and the frame's real light.

 
Sweet Ride!!!
By m0nkeyb0yVerified Reviewer from Canton, MI on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
RST Shocks Response
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I love this bike! I just started at the end of 07' and it's been a great bike for the Low sale price I got this. I have put a ridiculous amount of miles on this bike (about 70 miles a week) in just about 4 months I ride trail, and every day to or from work and the only problem i have is the poor shocks, used to the hard seat. All I can say is Trek Rocks!!!

 
From A New Trekie
By CZ436 from Delaware County, PA on 6/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Having Fun, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I used to ride BMX 6 years ago and missed the dirt. Picked up my bike today and went directly to a somewhat local park that offers both on-road and off-road trail riding. Bike was great, I could not ask for anything better. I immediatly felt comfortable and could not believe the control and handling of the bike. Price was just inside my budget and the value made it that much better. The seat is hard but that might be because my rear end is now use to a lazy boy. Its time for that to change. Im happy to now call myself a trekie!

 
Great Bike!!!
By Carlos M from Miami, Fl on 6/23/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great Bike! Handles great and smooth. All around bike. If your looking for a reliable, style, and budget this is the bike for you.

 
GREAT BIKE
By trek lover from Monmouth county NJ on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I had the bike for 3 months and its great. no problems besides the seat. i replaced it the first week. its great for climbing hills no matter how steep they are it just climbs right up. handles rough terrain great. is fast in the descent and handles great

 
Good solid ride
By EricVerified Reviewer from Raleigh NC on 6/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

A really good entry-level bike for mountain biking, urban riding, or commuting.

 
My offroad monster
By Millatime from Illinois on 6/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great breaks, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The 4300 is the best bike i have ever owned! About once a week i go offroading and local courses with my friends and ride around on the courses. Im the only one who has the trek 4300 and all my friends envy its performance. Keep up the good work folks at trek and ill look forward to the new bike generation.

 
Amazing Bike!
By RichieVerified Reviewer from Central Connecticut on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Amazing Torque, Durable, Easy to ride, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Off road, Road Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have had this bike for about a month, so far riding it a bit over 400 miles, and I have to say this is the best bike I have ever had. I ride it on the road about 80% of the time. I am from central CT, so I get my share of elevation, too; If you are from CT, and you know Route 4 and 177, you know what I'm talking about! Wow, great torque going up hills. When the road is flat, then enjoy the easy ride. I cannot believe how road-friendly this mountain bike is! I just rode 50 miles today and I can do more. Very smooth shifting, great braking, just an all around great bike. For [$] you cannot beat it at all, nowhere, never.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice bike, bad fork
By Rob from Sask on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Really like the bike. Very lightweight and rides very nice. However, the fork started leaking oil really bad on my very first ride, and now that I've looked into it, this seems to be a common problem for the RST Gila.

 
Great bike!!!
By Pablo from Ecuador on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Almost maintenance free, Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
A little heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use it everyday to go to work and do some exercise. Also on weekends is great to take it to the mountain, at least 50 miles on climbing and descending.

 
I wish I could find an ORANGE ONE!
By Tina from Detroit, MI on 6/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
No con's as of yet
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Too bad the Orange bikes are sold out. And the 2009 model is so cheezy I couldn't bring myself to buy one, so I had to settle for the black and chrome. Still looking forward to many hours and miles on the new 4300.

 
i love this bike
By 32tacocat23 from wi on 6/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i love this bike it has great shocks for the money an all around great bike:)

 
nice bike!
By LeftPaulVerified Reviewer from Owasso. OK on 6/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Front Suspension could be
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is really great for the money. Rides nice and shifts great. Holding up with no problems.

 
I would buy this bike again and again
By lil eddy from oklahoma on 6/16/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
No kick stand
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i like to ride with friends on trails

 
PERFECT FOR THE PRICE
By DESERT DEMONVerified Reviewer from EL PASO, TX. on 6/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, PERFERS TO BE OF ROAD, Single Track, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I RIDE AS OFTEN AS THE WEATHER PERMITS AND THIS BIKE GOES EVERYWHERE WITH ME. THE HONEST TRUTH IS THAT FOR THE MONEY, YOU ARE GETTING THE BEST DEAL ON THE MARKET.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dont't judge a book by its cover, but...
By A-Man from Oakland on 6/10/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Great Everything, Handles Well, Lightweight, Smooth ride
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I'm not a serious biker, but when I first saw this bike I knew that I would buy it and love it. I quickly went home and I have been riding it happily with no regrets ever since. What I like the most about this bike is that it is pretty lightweight and is easy to ride.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Old Guy Likes Bike
By Ken from Rochester Hill's, MI on 6/10/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have not had a bike in many years and I have never had a MTB. This bike is great I cannot believe how easy it is to ride. It is most amazing up hills. I bought the bike for fitness and I think this will be my favorite form of excercise. I did replace the saddle within a week. Old guys need some comfort.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great ride
By cheese from MN on 6/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
none yet
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I just got this bike a month ago and have been on it about 10 times. I have not been disappointed what so ever. It climbs great, and is fast going down hill. All the components are durable and so far I have had no problems with anything. I have even wiped out hard a couple of times with it and everything has held up very well.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I LOVE THIS BIKE...
By E_StringVerified Reviewer from Irving, Texas on 6/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fun to Ride, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Looks Great, Shifts Fast and Smooth
Cons:
Seat is uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I ride this bike every single day. I purchased it to help keep in shape. However, it is such an incredibly smooth bike to ride that I just love riding it for the fun of it! My wife is starting to get jealous of our time together I think! :-)

It handles jumps great, loves the trails, and shifts VERY quickly/smoothly.

I may upgrade the peddles however as they are a bit slick when jumping.

The seat is my main complaint. With a good pair of bike shorts(with padding) it is tolerable. However, it is definitely getting upgraded.

The shocks make going over things like tree roots, street curbs ...etc...effortless.

I had a TREK 820. This upgrade to the 4300 made me wish I went with the 4300 to begin with. The 4300 REALLY is in a different league all together... especially if you plan to do any trail riding (why else get a mountain bike? If you are not going doing trail riding then consider getting a comfort bike if you want the big wheels).

 
AWESOME!!!
By The BeastVerified Reviewer from Flower Mound, Texas on 6/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, easy uphill, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
little bumpy, Too Rigid
Best Uses:
Climbing, excellent for trails
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

great bike; worth every penny.

P.S. got bout 50$ off at my local bike shop.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all purpose bike
By FLBikerVerified Reviewer from Melbourne, FL on 5/30/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike as a weekend off-road bike and just started using it as a urban bike to ride to work. It does both jobs very well. It handles great for the dirt and of the street when riding to work. Is a little heavy but that can also be a good thing if looking for a little more of a work out.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Freakin' AWESOME!!!
By triipeVerified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 5/29/2008
Pros:
This bike is great
Cons:
none so far.
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Words cannot discribe this bike... once fitted it was go-time. I've never been disappointed with any Trek but if you don't have a lot of cash this is the way to go. LOVE IT!!! I opted for the orange and it is definitely a head turner.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
AWESOME
By Ethan from Huntingburg, IN on 5/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Anywhere you want to go, Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike everyday and everywhere. I have had it for a year and wouldn't choose any other bike.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice bike for the buy
By taco from Channelview, Tx on 5/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
seat is hard
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

couldnt ask for a better bike for the price

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love It!
By Brennan from Peoria, AZ on 5/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is a geat bike. It is my friends and i barrow it because I do not have one yet. I am 13 years old and i go big on it. It is a very durable bike and is all around great!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My first nice mountain bike
By j-dogg from west Bend Wisconsin on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Very smoothe
Cons:
A little rigid, Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

if riding trails set the front suspension as loose as it goes. great gearing and geometry. the frame even gives a little when hitting rough terrain....WORTH EVERY PENNY AND MORE!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike...Bad Seat.
By Bobert10 from Denver, CO on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The bike rides very smooth. Pretty good going up hills. I am a casual rider and the bike is perfect for me. I ride mostly on bike paths around town. I agree with all the other people and the uncomfortable seat. Definately needs an upgrade.

 
Not an uphill battle
By Easy 1 from WV on 5/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

For me climbing is a thrill, the steeper the better. My 4300 is awesome in every aspect, gearing, rugged, design is perfect for my needs.
I loved it so much that I bought my son one. We ride to live and live to ride.

 
Awsome all around bike!
By Lincoln from Minnesota on 5/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

The bike wasn't even expensive for what it is. It is quite solid on the road and on the trails. I am so happy i got it, worth every penny.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By College ManVerified Reviewer from Ventura on 5/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great Bike for the money. light, durable, and handles very well off road.

 
Street and Trails make this bike happy
By Farming Carl from St. cloud Minnesota on 4/27/2008
Pros:
Comes with everything, Durable, Gearing is perfect, Good Geometry, Good position, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I use this bike to haul items, to go offroad and to go to places. It works for all. It has a good frame. And many attachments fit on it.

 
niiiiiiice!!!
By j-mac from canada on 4/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

great smooth ride havent rode in a while so this was a great bike to jump on to and start again handles beautifully u point it it goes!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awsome Bike
By JuiceVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 4/22/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Seat is a bit hard
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this 2008 model to get in shape and recently started riding it on trails with my friends. This bike is amazing off-road! It has such a smooth ride on the street and even smoother on the trails. You can pretty much ride over anything and hardly feel it. If you're a beginner or a pro and don't want to spend too much money this is the bike for you. It also looks great, I got many compliments! The only bad thing I have to say is... the seat isn't too comfortable but can be easily changed and doesn't cost much to do so. All you have to do is go to a local dealer and take it for a test ride and you'll be sold! Hope this helps!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite
By HickymanVerified Reviewer from Orem, UT on 4/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is awesome! My father-in-law bought one for me and one for my wife two summers ago and we love them! We love going on the mountain trails or just around the city roads. This bike is durable and it amazes me that it is this cheap for how nice it is! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

 
If you try it, you will buy it!
By DarubaVerified Reviewer from Aruba on 4/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

It's just an amazing bike! It's worth much more than what you actually pay for it.

 
Great bag for the buck
By Evan from Kitchener, Ontario on 4/7/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good price, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought this bike last season and I am very impressed.

 
36,000 km and still going strong
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Israel on 4/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My first serious bike - and if I ever upgrade, it will probably be another Trek.
Model year 2001 - 36,000 km in 6 years - at 17,000 replaced both front and back gears - and besides tires, brakes, cables, chain a couple of times,and the seat, its been go go go.
Highly recommended

 
A Wife Pleaser
By Big BeeVerified Reviewer from CA on 4/1/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Good Tires, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Trail riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This one was bought for my wife and she loves it, especially the color. She and I go on long rides together and the only complaint she has is a firm seat. It's not too hard, but she would like it softer. I think this is a great bike for such a low price. She thinks this one's a keeper!

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
AMAZING BIKE!!
By ANNA from MAD-CITY WISCONSIN!!!!! on 3/31/2008
Pros:
AHAHAH, AHHA THIS IS FUN, ALL U LADIES BE JEALOUS, COOL BABY, Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, HOT BIKE, Lightweight, NICE WHEELS, PRETTY COLORS
Cons:
SHOULD BE ALL ORANGE
Best Uses:
BIKING TO THE POOL
Describe Yourself:
Collegiate/Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

HEY BABY! I USE THIS BIKE TO AND FROM THE POOL, ALL THE PEOPLE BE JEALOUS. U KNOW IT!!! 7TH GRADE SUCKS BUT THIS BIKE MAKES IT BETTER!!!
AHAHAHA LATER..

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
this ones a little different
By John and DawnVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 3/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My girlfriend and I each own one of these bikes. They are excellent for a novice. But our real test came at about 45mph on the way to the trails. Her bike came off the rack, bounced about 15 feet in the air and tumbled down the asphalt. I got out and simply had to re-connect the front brake. It was a little scuffed, but still rides perfect. THATS QUALITY FOR THE MONEY.

 
Solid Bike That's Worth Every Penny
By BeachTreker from Redondo Beach on 3/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I try to get in 3 rides per week for a minimum of 20 miles along the South Bay Bike Trail. It's a relatively flat trail along the Santa Monica Bay with a few little hills (if you call them hills) but this bike eats up the hills! I enjoy the feel of this bike and the range of gears available. When I feel up to a challenge I take it around the Palos Verdes Peninsula which has plenty of real hills that this bike has no problem climbing. I have no worries when I have to cross pot holes or uneven road conditions.

 
Freakin Amazing
By Mike the insaino rock climberVerified Reviewer from Deerfield, Massachusetts on 3/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Jumps Well, Lightweight, Pedals Amazing, Perfect speed
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Collegiate/Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My friend Andy and i ride ours all the time, weather its riding down a trail, riding in the half pipe, riding the jumps, cruising down the stairs, climbing up a hill, or even just riding it on the rode, it is the most amazing bike I've ever ridden, I suggest to anyone who wants an amazing bike to buy this one!

 
This bike rocks
By Sven from Walla walla wa. on 3/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

everything about this bike rocks. the first day i had it, i took it out and hit some trials in the rain. Tons of mud, it handled great!

 
The Leader
By a satisfied rider from fla. on 3/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Neighborhood
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Great. The bike is very easy to handle an is very fun to ride.I have the silver/gray/black color, which is very sleek. The bike itself is very handsome and rugged. I have around 270 miles on mine and still feels new. I have only had it in the shop once for a tune-up on a streched cable, which is normal for a new bike. A few great features on it are the ajustible shocks, the quick relese wheels/brakes. In my opinion, the seat is a tad on the hard side, but nothing a gel seat cover can fix.

 
best bike ever!!!
By 001011101000111010 from toronto on 3/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
mountian biking, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

the bike is awsome for riding through ravines city biking cross-country riding. All around is a fabulous and is great for everyone!!!

 
Excellent Bike,Excellent price
By Katfish from Gulf breeze, Florida on 3/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Bottom line this bike is a steal for the price. Owned a GT Outpost and this is 10 times better and cheaper. Handles well,the seats hard but thats easy enough to fix. Overall 10.

 
Great Bike
By Aero from Daytona Beach FL on 2/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Overall a very nice bike. I have had this bike for about 3 and a half years now. This bike has seen everything from Arizona desert to Illinois mud pits. It is a very adaptable machine. The only problem I have with it is that the sprockets are finally wearing down and need to be replaced, which is understandable after 3 years. Otherwise its a great investment for anyone looking for an all purpose bike.

 
when the going gets tough...
By Andy the climber from Sunderland, Massachusetts on 2/15/2008
Pros:
Carves like a snowboard, Cheap, Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Intro to dirt jumping, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i've had this bike for four years and its taken some bad falls and crashes, i've rode it down countless stair cases and drop offs, dirt jumps, half pipe, skateparks, and some hair raising free ride. It is druable beond all belife and it's super light. AWSOME bike! Good job trek!

 
Awesome Bike
By Goose from Ohio on 2/11/2008
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have had this bike for two years and just last year had it on a trail for the first time. It handled very well and becasue of this bike I'm getting more into mountainbiking. I also take on several paths and it is as smooth as an urban bike on them. I love this bike!

 
This Bike is Great!!
By Luke29Verified Reviewer from Windsor, CT on 1/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Climbing, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have only bought chain store bikes in the past. I purchased a Trek 4300 this past Jan. The difference is unbelievable!! Riding the Trek 4300 is a dream compared to my old bike. This bike takes the terrain and going up steep hills is no problem. Also very lightweight!!

 
greatest bike ever bought
By WesternmeVerified Reviewer from corning, ny on 1/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, off roading, Road
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

i love this bike, i bought it a little over a year ago, in that time period i placed over 1200 miles on this bike between road riding, off road trails, hill climbing, jumping. the shocks are fool proof, the seat is ergonomic, the handlebars are hardcore. it rides great for the trips around the block, or my 80 mile rides to the lake. this is a great bike, dont hesitate to buy it.

 
awsome bike
By Matt Macedo from Boca Raton, Florida on 1/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike is great for climbing and technical riding but the steam is just a little too high

 
Super Satisfied
By Lutes from Riverview,NB,CAN on 1/15/2008
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My first non-department store bike. During the 3 warm seasons I use it at least twice a week. Mostly on paths or roads. Very happy with my '07, though I wish I had sprung for the disc. But from what I can tell, every bike owner wants to upgrade somehow.

 
Wonderful bike for trail riding
By Richard from Texas City, TX. on 12/21/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I originally wanted the 4500 model, but when I went to my local Trek dealer, I saw that this 4300 was there in the silver color that I wanted. The shocks are 100mm and handle great on the trails I frequently use here in Texas. The seat does take some getting used to, but it is a very nice one. This bike is the way to go if you don't want to spend the extra money for the 4500. I also got mine on sale even though it is an 08 model.

 
Nice bike for the price
By STVerified Reviewer from Riverview FL on 12/14/2007
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Had a Gary Fisher brand but didn't like it as much as this one. Rides nice except the seat..very hard!!! Overall if you want a quality bike this gives you the bang for the buck look no further.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the money!
By El mompirriVerified Reviewer from Bogota, Colombia on 12/9/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Best bike you can get for this money! The bike handles perfect, very light weight. It's excellent for everyday riding and extreme riding.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike in every spot of the world
By Gunga Din from Portugal on 11/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I like to climb hard moutain terrain in cobblestones in Portugal and this bike makes the climb so soft that we don't even notice how near we are from the finish.
Very nice bike for the price, great components and what i like most, very comfortable to ride. Its a very nice catch indeed.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One STONG bike! GREAT BIKE!
By Zin Boy from Ukiah CA on 11/13/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This bike is great and has good breaks It just cant get any better!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
4300 IS A GREAT PRODUCT
By NelsonVerified Reviewer from Miami, FL on 11/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Technical Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first TREK and it is a great product. This bike is soft to ride on track and strong on dirt. If you like to enjoy great things, you have to buy this bike. You get a great product for a great price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!!!!
By Baker from Douglasville, Georgia on 11/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I love this bike!!! I ride every weekend and it has given me no trouble at all. I bought a walmart bike first so that makes this one look even better. This bike looks great and performs great as well!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One tough bike.
By Bama riderVerified Reviewer from L.A. (Lower Alabama) on 10/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well, It's tuff
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Technical Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I have the 2007 model and love it! I ride this bike as hard as I can and keep it on the edge when riding. I've raced the bike three times and it performed very well. I'm so happy with my bike, I purchased my wife a 4300 wsd today. This bike is worth every penny!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Steal For The Price
By RyaGuy from Michigan City IN on 10/20/2007
Pros:
Awesome First Trail Bike, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
none yet
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Trail Junkie, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first trail bike and I just love it I also use it as a commuter bike in the spring and summer for rideing the streets of my town I just tighten up the suspention a little and away I go. My 4300 has allowed me to really fall in love with Mountain Bikeing! I think the 4300 is a dimond for the cost!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
nice bike!!!!
By noname bob the performing monkey from New York State on 10/8/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Good bike,fun to ride and really handles well.I really like the looks and it shifts great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good looking as it is tough
By RhinofreakVerified Reviewer from Elkins ,Arkansas on 10/7/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Smooth and quiet
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Dirt roads, Mountain and lake trails, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

roots rocks and falls it just keeps going! Got it in 2003 and it is still tight and solid not bad for a bike that has a 290 lb. rider. rims and brakes are strong

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Like your first bike all over again!
By LewdawgVerified Reviewer from North Jersey on 10/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

My wife and I just picked up a pair of Treks this weekend and I decided on the 4300. I haven't owned a bike or really riden in probably 15 years. I tried 4 or 5 bikes, and as soon as I hopped on this one, I knew this was it. This bike is just plain old fun to ride. I hope to get it on the trail soon. I was happy with the price and got 2 years of service included as well. I'm looking forward to a new hobby, and this bike will make it easy to explore!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stop looking, you've found it.
By OiroidboikesVerified Reviewer from Cookeville, Tennessee on 10/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

If you're looking for a new bike, you really needn't look any further. This bike is awesome. I looked very closely at four bikes, some more expensive than this, and chose the 4300 hands down. Three days later, my girlfriend got the WSD version of the same bike. The frame's slightly heavier than I would like, but you really can't notice when you're riding. Anyway, hope this helps!

 
Turned my family into a bunch of Trekies
By Reckless MassachusettesVerified Reviewer from Lexington, MA on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Price
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I ride a 2005 4300 and I love it to this day. I am still the envy of my buddies who are riding anything from Mongoose to Specialized. My wife (when she was still just my girlfriend) used to beg me to let her borrow this bike, she loved it so much. Since I love this bike so much and she does to, it was a no-brainer that I had to get her a Trek of her own for her b-day. She has just started riding her new 3700 and she couldn't imagine a better bike than Trek.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A good quality bike.
By ShaverdaVerified Reviewer from Texas on 9/28/2007
Pros:
Durable for light riding, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Components, Too Rigid
Best Uses:
commuting, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Commuter on this bike
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

If you're looking for a nice bike to generally transport yourself from point a to be, with maybe a few tricks and off-road thrown in, this is a good bike for you.

However, I put in a lot of miles (150 a week, and this is my second month of owning it) and after a while, the shifters don't work very well. The gears have locked up three times, and yes, I am properly maintaining the bike. I'm an experienced cyclist, but some of the components just don't cut it if you're doing miles faster than maybe 13 mph and more than maybe 75 miles a week.

 
amazing mountain bike
By Lisa from Kenosha Wisconsin on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Rough terrain, Single track
Cons:
Gravel path riding
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I love this bike....I take it on a lot of rough single tracks and the shocks are amazing! I definatley recamend it if you want to go do some killer mountain biking!

 
The best bike ever
By drummerkidVerified Reviewer from atlanta on 9/25/2007
Pros:
Addicting, Durable, Fast-moving, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Very fun to ride
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Urban to dirt jumper, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this bike is the best. i got it like two dasys ago and havent had the most fun yet the seat rules, so does the suspension. buy this bike!!

 
A real hidden treasure
By alleycat from New Hampshire on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Really Smooth
Best Uses:
Climbing, Double Wides, Fire Roads, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I went from an 820 to my 2007 4300. I've owned it for 3 months and already have 1500 miles on it. Just 1 tune-up 30 days after purchase. Still rides like the day it left the showroom. I do more dirt than asphalt.

 
Great bike
By happymantis from glastonbury, ct on 9/20/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
basic usage, Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

great bike, own a 2005 Trek 4300, works fine, stores just as fine when it gets snowy outside... love using it at college (University of Connecticut), shaves off time needed to get anywhere, therefore its a time saving tool as well!

 
very comfortable ride just like my first
By Junior from Michigan on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

this a good bike for beginners as well as someone that has ridden a long time, it is very comfortable and durable, don't change a thing about it

 
I Finally got me a Real bike!!!
By jeepfreak from Nebraska on 9/13/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational, HealthFitness
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I would first like to say, all I have ever owned were huffy, mongoose, and roadmaster bikes. They would last me a year or two max, then junk out. I always wanted a trek for 15 yrs. Now I finally have one. I love it. Its the 2008 trek 4300 hardtail, orange and silver. Guys and girls both like it alot. Not one person has told me they don't like it. Even my boss wants one after riding mine! Unless you are a hardcore mountain biker, this is the bike for anyone out there. I have only had mine 1 month, and have put 179 miles on it. I will never own another wally world or cheap bike again. I even get free tune ups for first year at my trek dealer. I mainly ride street, but am getting into more trails and offroad riding. So, go and spend maybe 100 or $200 dollars more than you would at your local [...] and go to your trek dealer and get you a real bike. You will wish you would have done it years ago!

 
Great back-into-biking wheeler
By AaronVerified Reviewer from Belleville, IL on 9/11/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Smooth ride
Best Uses:
Moderate trail use, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational, Commuter Urban Rider
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

Last bike was a Diamondback Outlook for reference. This is a great re-entry bike for all around riding. Pop a few curbs, or take to the trails. I enjoy the adjustable front suspension and the durable frame. It's a lot meatier than my Outlook. I am a typical commuter who loves to take shortcuts through the woods, and this bike fits perfect for me. I am 5'9" with a 30" inseam, so the 18 inch frame fits me a little big, but not uncomfortable at all. The shifting is butter smooth, and it will stop on a dime. The handling is second to none for this class of bike, and I am partial to my orange/titanium color scheme. Purchased for [$] at a local cyclery in Edwardsville, IL.

 
FAST, FUN, LIGHT!!!
By VinnyVerified Reviewer from Mansfield ma. on 9/10/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, SHIFTS ON TACT
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, HAVEN'T TESTED ON TOUGH R, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational, Competitive Cyclist, NICELY EQUIPPED
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I bought a 2008 TREK 4300 (18") with alpha aluminum and it has been excellent so far! Def. not worth it to spend the extra [$] on the 4500.plus you get more travel(100mm) with the 4300!

 
Great Bike
By Baker from Douglasville, Georgia on 9/5/2007
Pros:
Balanced Suspension, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Free Riding, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

I've had this bike for around two months and I really enjoy riding it. It feel very balanced and shifts great.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice bike
By oopsVerified Reviewer from Dallas Tx on 9/4/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Free Riding, Mountain Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, learning to be competitiv
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first mountain bike, originally purchased for casual riding but got interested in mountain biking trail competitions. Rode my first single track ever and the bike handled well, it held up to a few crashes and run in's with bushes and trees but the showed no damage other than my pride.

 
Fantastic bike!
By pcweenies_cartoonistVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 9/1/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

A really nice bike for my money. It handles really well and the gears shift 'like butter'. I use this bike for a little off-roading, but mostly stick to pavement and urban bike trails around the area. I like the Shimano shifters and built-in suspension on the front fork. Very sturdily built. Highly recommended for those wanting a good bike to start with.

 
Nice ride!
By Baldy from Bend,Or. on 8/28/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Price, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

First Trek I ever owned and gonna buy the wife one really soon!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great beginner
By john boy from williston nd on 8/25/2007
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

great bike for the money but once you really start to ride it leaves you wanting more

 
Really enjoying this bike
By JBVerified Reviewer from Elizabethtown, PA on 8/19/2007
Pros:
Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 4300:

This is my first bike in a long time, and my first true mountain bike, and I love it. I'm a casual rider with plans to improve my abilities. I've upgraded a few components (seat, grips), and added some extras to be able to pull my twin sons in a bike trailer, etc (had to modify/move the bracket for the trailer to the frame itself because of the bike's rear hub). I've had a few minor issues with clicking on the front derailer (moving from 2 to 1), so I need to get into the dealership to make sure everything is aligned. Linear brakes (I opted for these over the discs as I didn't really feel that they were worth the extra $100 or so for the kind of riding I an doing) and frame seem solid (front brakes are squeaking a bit, tho), but I'll know better once I do some real off-roading. Overall, I love the metallic tangerine and titanium-like silver paint. I am very pleased with my purchase and I think this makes a great 'starter' bike.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.