Buy the 3500 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
3500 image
 
(based on 47 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Mountain Hardtail, 3 Series
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 47 reviews)
87% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(38), Durable(35), Good geometry(33), Good price / value(3), Handles well(42)
Cons:
Heavy(7), Poor components(10), Poor tires(11), Uncomfortable seat(3)
Best Uses:
Climbing(17), Descending(14), Single track(13), Trail riding(30), Urban riding(38)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(10), Casual/ recreational(28), Commuter(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(19), Yes(4)
 
Good but with some issues
By Bob the Biker from Merton, Wisconsin on 6/14/2011
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Looks good
Cons:
Poor Components, POOR REAR DERAILER, Poor Tires, Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Gravel Trail, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I just got this bike a few days ago. After riding it, I noticed that the seat was slightly uncomfortable (I am going to get cycling shorts). The rear brakes made a lot of noise when braking. Just this morning I pulled out of the garage and I found that my rear derailer prevented me from shifting to gear seven! Wheel and Sprocket only offers 3 checkups/fixes total. I hope they will be able to fix these. Other than that, I LOVE this bike. I got it in green and black and it is Amazing! Shifts quickly and solidly. The extra large 1st gear allows me to climb hills with minimal effort.

 
Awesome
By BobVerified Reviewer from Charlotte, NC on 6/13/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well, Large gear one, Lightweight, Switches gears smoothly
Cons:
No kickstand on mine, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Perfect for just riding. The gears charge quickly and the suspension is very springy. Can go uphill really easily with large backtire gears.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
too much wiz and not enough bang
By quarterbach from Highland Park, Il on 6/13/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, good frame, Good frame and price, Good price, Handles Well
Cons:
Bad fork, Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Light trail, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I got this bike for 8th grade graduation (Although I did get to pick it out and make sure it was the right one when my parents bought it) and I thought all of the components were pretty good. I just finished freshman year, and I have started racing. The stock components are not great, the fork barely has any travel, the derailleurs are not great either. In order to use this bike to race I had to buy all new components, including a new fork. I will say that the frame is great on this bike, and TREK cannot be blamed for the bad components, because they make just the frame and put on components from other companies. In order fo this bike to be as inexpensive as it is, it has to have cheap stuff on it. Back to the frame though, it is really great. Its a bit heavy, but i cannot complain for it is aluminum. Finally, when i first bought this bike i was at the level of light trails, and riding to school. With this bike I have progressed to a CAT 3 racer and I love it. This bike has really helped me learn how to ride single track and tougher terrain. I would recommend to buy this bike if you are not going to use it for very heavy trails, or you want to start to get more into mountain biking, and then if you decide that you want to do tougher things, or ride competitively, then shop around on the internet for good component groups and a good fork, and then have it put on by someone that knows what they are doing. After that, once you are really good, you might want to look at getting a new bike.

 
Trek, I love you man
By RomeoVerified Reviewer from Philadelphia on 6/10/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Not enough fork travel
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

This bike is ridiculous. I've owned it for about two months now and have used it and abused it and its still taking beatings. I constantly ride the trails and singletrack at my local park and for a hardtail this bike rides pretty great. Climbs hills almost effortlessly and the shimano shifters are silky smooth. I wish there was more fork travel for descents but this will do for now. Eventually i will upgrade to the Fuel, but in the meantime I will enjoy my 3500. Get this monster yo.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding
By Gbass82Verified Reviewer from Selma,North Carolina on 6/8/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I purchased this bike recently from a great Trek dealer near my area in Wilson, NC. It looks great as well as handles great. I'm surprised on how well it handles not only on the trails but on the road as well. It is lightweight and it has handled everything I have came across while riding it. This is my first Trek bike and after my experiences with this bike, I can safely say that I am now a lifelong Trek fan.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for beginner
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Kenosha, Wisconsin on 5/18/2011
Pros:
Great bike for the price, Handles Well, Rides like a pricier bike
Cons:
Chain derailed a few time
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Great bike for trail riding. I have been on 10 and 16 mile rides so far and bike has been quite reliable. Only problem I have had is that the chain derailed a few times hen shifting. As a beginner, nbot sure if it was the bike or due to my inexperience. Very good bike for the price. I would highly recommend this bike for someone who is starting out.

Images shared by: Mike

After 10 mile trail ride

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Buy
By JGJenkinsVerified Reviewer from Millersville, Pennsylvania on 4/14/2011
Pros:
Comfortable
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Excellent buy for the price. The bike is comfortable/performs on both pavement and on gravel/dirt. In fact, I do the bulk of my riding on pavement. I was initially considering a hybrid but wanted the flexibility of trail riding as well. This bikes fits that mold.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet bike!
By RussVerified Reviewer from Oxford on 4/12/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I just used this bike to cycle from the Gulf of Mexico to the Pacific coast in 8 days for charity. That involved a lot of off-roading, hot tarmac, hairpin descents, steep climbs and potholes. This bike took absolutely everything that was thrown at it. No gear issues. No brake mech issues. No tyre problems. Not even one puncture. Good solid chain mech. Great handling considering the retail price. This bike was my best friend for 8 days. I named her Patsy. Good work Trek!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Has the potential to be good
By DrewVerified Reviewer from Fort Lee, VA on 4/11/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I use this bike to ride back and forth to work and around my community (on strictly hardball surfaces). Upon purchasing the bike, I had to return it to the store to have them properly route my chain and give me the rest of the pieces that belong on the bike. I still throw my chain at least three times a week when changing gears, but at least its in the front now and not front and back. When it works, its an awesome bike, but I am afraid to venture more than a mile from my house for fear it will throw me off again when dechaining and I'll have to limp (myself and the bike) home. Maybe when the military moves me closer to another Trek authorized dealer, I will take it and have it looked at more closely, but I have serious reservations about returning it (again) to where I bought it.

 
In my opinion
By stevburkeVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I had just purchased this Trek and i must say that after riding store brand bikes for years,i am very pleased with it.The price was a little much but it is a Trek.I will be using this bike for recreation and commuting so it will be with me for a long time to come,i hope i'm not let down in the end.The first time i had started to ride it i was in love with it.The bike coast nice,climbs,brakes and shifts great.I do plan to upgrade some when i get the cash.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent for cost
By 3500 lover 1234 from willimantic, ct on 3/20/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Shifts well, Smooth on street
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Street, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I got this bike 4 my birthday and is the best bike i have ever owned! it is good for me because it has the suspension and good road grip i need to get up and down the hills in my community, and get to high school.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT BIKE -- GREAT PRICE!
By Jules from Oklahoma City, OK on 2/28/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

THIS IS A GREAT BIKE! I was quite the amateur when I bought my first Trek - and compared to the simple, cheaper bikes I was accustomed to - what a difference! This is my 2nd Trek now and my favorite of the two (only because my other Trek is really just for street use.) The 3500 is lightweight, has great tires/excellent traction, gears shift smoothly, it handles dirt and rocky trails effortlessly (although I'm no pro, and not experienced or brave enough to dare any REALLY rough terrain yet) and it rides super smooth and comfortably on the street as well. It's strong, sturdy and durable.....just well built all around. I've had it for over a year without a single problem.

In short - it's a great QUALITY bike for a great price and it definitely exceeded my expectations!

 
Awsome mountain/ road bike
By dicko from sale, vic, australia on 2/27/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well, Strong frame
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

it is a really well bulit bike, i have had this bike for over a year now and nothing has gone wrong. i wouldnt mind a better seat and stronger tyres

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Bike
By dixieloonVerified Reviewer from Dallas, Texas on 2/15/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Suspension
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I love everything about this bike. The only poor compenent is the suspension.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awsome Bike
By Officer T. 904Verified Reviewer from San Jose, CA. on 1/25/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seat
Best Uses:
Great Work Bike
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I work as a public safety Officer. My Department got us these bikes. I absolutely love the way it handles at high speed while responding to Emergencies and chasing after suspects. Incredibly light weigh. It's way better than last TREK bikes we had.

Images shared by: Officer T. 904

TREK 3500

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Great bike, but not sure about the tires
By UHWarrior from Coachella Valley on 1/23/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Took the bike on a 20 mile ride today and it was great. Except, on my way home my front tire deflated and left me stranded on the side of the road. There were no signs of a puncture so I'm guessing its a bad tube. I felt kind of stupid as my friends took off on their bikes to retrieve their truck to pick me up. Should I have just bought a bike from [...] like they did?I'm gonna take it back to the store where I purchased it and see what happened.

Images shared by: UHWarrior

Stranded

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Nice Bike For the Money
By Davey from Phx on 11/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Excellent bike for the money. Great power and speed. I am used to box store bikes and I cant believe how great this bike is! I would highly recommend it. I am not a expert rider but enjoy forest roads and trails and this bike is great for that. Great climbing ability as well.

 
GREAT
By Samer Hamad from Beirut on 11/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I used for daily sport for 2 hours, for 0ne year now and i must say it is a great pace. thanks TREK.

Images shared by: Samer Hamad

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Terrible Bike!
By MikeVerified Reviewer from South Korea on 10/19/2010
Pros:
Color, Seat, Size
Cons:
Cheap back wheel, Cheap Tires, Poor Components, Rusts
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I have never had so many problems until I bought this bike. First off, the back wheel is unbelievably weak. After two months of riding, I have broken 4 spokes one right after the other. The spokes always broke on roads and usually any time I tried to ride a little faster. Furthermore, I've never been off road with this bike.

For the first month, I was quite happy with it, but then everything started falling apart. After the shop decided to finally send it to the factory to have the back wheel replaced, it was returned to me with only new spokes. I used to respect this company, but after dealing with this bike, I can't.

Additionally, the tires are really cheap and the slightest thing will pop them. On one tube, I had to put on 6 patches because the tire was so weak. Eventually, I had to buy a new tire because its sidewall blew out while going 23mph on a flat bike path. Also, the bike shop was also annoyed because they had to keep dealing with me every few days.

Once again, I have only had the bike for 2 months and usually only ride it about 50 miles a week to and from work. Also, I have a typical build- 6 feet and 180 pounds. I'm pretty sure the problem isn't me but the cheap design, manufacturing, and outsourcing that is being conducted at Trek. Something is wrong if I can't buy a functioning bike for the stated MSRP.

I wish I could get a refund or at least a stronger back wheel that didn't break every few miles.

Trek Response: Hi Mike, I'm passing along your review to our customer service team for follow up. Sorry to hear about your experience.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfection
By Happiest Trek Customer EVER from Columbia, SC on 9/4/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Well built quality
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes

Comments about Trek 3500:

Got mine today for birthday present. Best bike ever! Suspension, 21 speed, 2 brakes, very comfortable and adjustable (seat can be moved up and down without tools)+ very versatile bike...in many ways. Good for anyone from tween to old man- everything can be easily and vastly adjusted. Also, it is good for most terrain.

 
Good ride !!
By jgreenjrVerified Reviewer from Tullahoma Tenn on 9/3/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I use this bike at the woods feel good riding in the woods ,i never have any problem at all ! this is the money can buy and best looking bike since i had it in June this year .

Images shared by: jgreenjr

My new 3500 trek bike

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Great Bike for the Price
By swimbikerun4ever from Missouri on 9/3/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I have only had my 3500 for short time, but so far, I am more than pleased with its performance. It's very lightweight and easy to handle. I would recommend this bike for anyone looking for a great bike that doesn't break the bank.

 
Makes a rookie feel like a pro
By Trekin'Verified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 8/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I bought this bike a few weeks ago and I couldn't have made a better choice to fit into my budget. I ride hard packed paths, concrete paths, and light trails because im still new to mountain and trail riding. My previous bike hails from superstore and was just awful so I needed to upgrade but the budget was tight. After going through all my options, I had a couple different manufacturers to chose from. They all had similar components except the were charging upwards of 50 to 70 bucks more. Plus they didn't feel as comfortable as I was hoping. So I got to my final choice from the the bunch and was blown away.

This bike was incredible! This is the smoothest ride I had ever had. All the components work in perfect harmony. Most bikes I looked at had a grab bag parts makers. Not this bike. Its easy for your components to mesh well when all you have is Bontrager and Shimano parts. The Bontrager SSR seat was phenomenally comfortable. My butt didn't even go numb at all. Smooth and stable braking was very evident when I stopped on had to slow down on the decents. Shocks worked well to keep my handle bars steady. The Alpha White Aluminum frame is a masterpiece. It's light enough so you won't feel tired after climbing a long hill which this bike does pretty well. With that being said, it does have a little weight so it feels solid and not flimsy. My only issue is with the peddles. The nylon peddles are great for weight reduction but im afraid im gonna break them. I want some metal peddles.

I fell in love with my Trek the day I got it home and Im already saving up for my 6700. At 379.99 MSRP, this bike is virtually a steal with all the value thats packed into it. I can't seem to recommend this bike enough I love it so much.

Images shared by: Trekin'

Not a great photo but lets you know I really own 1

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Fine bicycle with high end components
By JakeVerified Reviewer from Fort Lauderdale, Florida on 8/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

It rides fast, looks nice, good turning radius,nice big tires, an overall nice bike!

 
Awesome bike for the $$$$$
By JDW from KY on 8/21/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Just bought this bike today, took it out on about 4.5 - 5 mile ride and loved it....

 
The quality is not all that!
By runaway119Verified Reviewer from Illinois on 8/10/2010
Pros:
NONE
Cons:
Bad Grease, Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

The quality is very poor. I've only had the bike about 4 months and the bike is only ridin on Limestone and pavement. I just had the front end completely rebuilt due to the grease breaking down. Also had the front derailer readjusted three times. This seems like a high maintance bike. Don't expect any help from Trek they'll just refer you to your dealer.

 
Price Perfect!
By Aggie Mountain Biking NewbieVerified Reviewer from College Station, TX on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight, Quality
Cons:
Low Top Speed
Best Uses:
Multi-Purpose, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I biked my childhood with department store bikes which, with minimal offroading and curb hopping (although miles and miles of riding), led me to 3 gear system replacement/upgrades. With this bike, so far 150 miles of 60mi Road Rally and 90mi Single Track riding, I've had 0 replacements, 1 gear adjustment (chain originally installed too tight), and 1 brake adjustment (usual).
I started riding again at the age of 20 in college with a department store's Full-Suspension Disk Brake Mountain Bike. Sounds cool huh? No! After having to put back on the chain after hitting ruts and rocks countless times, its unbearing weight, along with it's overall deterioration, I became infuriated with the bike but infatuated with the sport. I returned the department store bike, slapped a big intial payment of that return along with extra summer money on my new Trek 3500 Candy Red Passion-Invoker from a local bike shop and never looked back. By far, as a young adult (now 21), it has been one of my best investments.
The bike looks great and works even better. Chain stays on during the hardest of jittering, seat cusions what a hard tail can't, handle bars are the perfect width for great maneuvering and the overall quality is durable. For me, it was a night and day differnce. Compared to my previous bikes, the Trek is a dream for me. Its been everything I wanted and more.
The only con for the bike is it's low top speed. During the couple rallies I've rode in, I topped out on flat roads at about 25ish mph. I would hope id be able to hit 30mph in the highest of gears.
Other than that, it's great!
For anyone on a budget, this is the bike!

 
I Bought this bike yesterday,ilove it.
By surfs1manVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 8/6/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

It shifts amazing going through the gears was easy and i always seemed to find the right gear. For the price i love this bike.THe brakes where awesome.THe front shocks are great.I did have a couple of slips going up a steep dirt hill im not sure if its the tires.MY seat did move around i might have to tighten it. I would highly recommend this bike. I am very glad that i got this bike, it looks awesome.

Images shared by: surfs1man

my bike in my yard

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
sub par
By Sconnie CyclistVerified Reviewer from Waunakee, WI on 7/29/2010
Pros:
Good Geometry
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I bought this bike from a trek store with the impression from the salesman that this bike could handle trail riding and be used for riding to class. I live near the Kettle Moraine state park trails in WI and have yet to ride this bike there or any off road trail without having some sort of problem, whether it be the deraileurs, rims, shocks, or brakes. I liked this bike because of the low price point and it was my first mountain bike purchase. If you want to ride around town and look like a mountain biker than this is the bike for you but if you actually ride off road, don't waste your time and money. Your friends will thank you for not holding them up on the trails doing emergency repairs. I'm now stuck with a bike that is less than a year old and pretty much worthless without dumping lots of money into repairs. I should have known that this bike would be a problem after having an issue only 3 weeks into ownership and the trek store refusing to honor the warrenty.

 
Awesome!!
By JoeyVerified Reviewer from Tempe, AZ on 7/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Bike Messenger
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Nice bike! Perfect for the money spent! Perfect all around bike! Awesome!!

 
.
By CROCarp from Hrvatska on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Describe Yourself:
Bike Messenger
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

This bike definitely needs a higher final gear ratio.
All everything is perfect ;)

 
Awesome bike for the price!
By JoshVerified Reviewer from Columbus OH on 7/25/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Climbing, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

The bike is a great beginner bike or for someone who doesn't have a really big budget but wants a decent bike. the 3500 handles relatively well have had some problems with braking on a decent but other than that it has taken a beating from me and no problem thus far. seat is a little wussy for me, tore it on my first time out and the tires slip on just about every rock and root on the trail. but overall great bike for the price

 
May be habit forming.
By gcVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 7/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

For the price, this is a great bike. I am sure you can spend more and get more but this one does the job. I have used mine off and on road and it is comfortable. I have climbed some big hills on this bike and I am very pleased with its performance. It actually seems like the more I ride, the better it gets. I can't wait to get back on the bike ride more. I have had no trouble out of my tires or components and I have done some serious riding. I have yet to have a bad ride on this bike. If you do find the seat uncomfortable, buy some padded shorts. When I say this bike is habit forming, I literally mean habit forming. After riding on the road with this bike, I bought a Trek road bike and love it just as much. So be prepared to get the cycling bug after riding this bike.

 
Good Practice Bike.
By Lancelot from East coast on 6/27/2010
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Good Bike. NOt exactly what i expected. i wanted something a little more durable that could handle more rough conditions. excellent for urban riding. Good for easy mountain riding. Not so good for big drops or jumps which is unfortunate. Great bike for value. I recommend it if your getting into biking. A good practice bike that can handle wear an tear before you purchase a more expensive model.

 
Excellent All-Around
By KumaVerified Reviewer from Irvine, CA USA on 5/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I ride to school and back 3 days a week. My 3500 preforms exceptionally. I start off making my way through a dense and bustling urban area then onto some open road and uphill to my school. After class I hop on a pretty rough downhill mountain trial that leads all the way back to the rear of my apartment. My 3500 is very responsive and light. Perfect all around bike.

The only concern I have is the tires might be a little lacking in substance. But that is an easy fix.

 
value plus
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Geelong, Australia. on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

can't fault this bike for the money, great bike for the casual user.

 
Good Casual Rider's Bike
By fallenboyangelVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 4/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Over all I have been very happy with this bike. I gave a poor component result for the con only because I have slipped a chain several times while changing gears on rough ground. Other than that I found it a good bike for the beginner or casual rider. I only have time to hit the bike trail at the local park a couple of times a week and I find the bike to be a great and affordable option for me as a casual rider.

 
Superb Bike
By PersonVerified Reviewer from Harvard, MA on 4/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Fast, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard to clean
Best Uses:
Climbing, Descending, Trail Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I ride this bike on roads, and it handles high hills (common where I live) easily. It's very light so I can climb hills almost effortlessly and brakes fast when descending hills. One problem though; cleaning is hard when the bike gets dirty, so avoid muddy areas, but still an awesome bike .

 
Great all-around bike for the price
By Brendon from Boston, MA on 4/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

I've been riding Treks for well over a decade now. Recently, I tried switching to a road bike (Trek FX). It was the worst decision I made; the bike was a mechanical nightmare. Road bikes as a whole are just too delicate IMO. After 2 years and hundreds of dollars spent on repairs, I decided to give it up and go back to a mountain bike. My budget was tight this time around, so I opted for the well priced 3500.

This bike is a great all-around bike. Off-road, it handles fairly well, though I wouldn't take it down a mountain. On the road it excels. I know some people have complained about the weight, but its not really that much. I topped my old Trek FX (26 lbs) out at 32 mph on a flat road. I haven't weighed this bike, but so far on a flat road, I've been about to get it up to 29 mph.

The only cons about the 3500 are the gearing and the tires. This bike definitely needs a higher final gear ratio. If it did, I know I could max it out beyond 29 mph. Also, the tires are a bit lacking in durability. They're nice because they're fairly lightweight, but my friend and I went riding on some trails the day we bought our bikes (he got a Trek 3700), and he ended up getting a flat that day. I recommend replacing the stock tires with anti-flat ones.

Overall, this bike is a great all-purpose bicycle for the commuter on a budget. Rather than wasting $100 a year replacing cheap throw-away bikes, or $300 a year on repairs for a delicate road bike, go for the smart choice, the Trek 3500.

 
Amazing
By Desert rider from farmington. new mexico on 12/27/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Trek must be losing money
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

This bike is amazing from the suspension to the tires even to the seat, i am very happy with this bike.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Trek not worth the money
By alexzracerVerified Reviewer from United States on 12/22/2009
Pros:
Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Components
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

What is trek trying to pull off here. I'm highly disappointed with the quality of the components, and let alone, the frame. My last bike,a Schwinn, had the same components, literally, for half the price. Shimano components, and a familiar frame you would find it all on a Schwinn. The gears are very annoying, you have to go take it back to shop consistently. The Schwinn even had kenda tires, which are great. Even the springs were the same. I don't find this bike any better, for they are both made in china. Well except for the seat, the seat was very comfortable, and looked like it was a higher quality.There is no reason for this bike to cost this much. Buyer beware,know what you are spending.

Trek Response: Comparing this to current models from other brands you'll find that the price is very similar.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great!
By riderboyVerified Reviewer from Washington,PA (near Pittsburgh) on 11/28/2009
Pros:
Affordable, Comfortable, Durable, Good price, Handles Well, Looks Great, reliable, Smooth, Smooth ride
Cons:
Poor Components, Rims, V-Brakes
Best Uses:
Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

this thing is great on the road and is great for any rough road or urban environment. It also performs well enough in the dirt.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
great beginners bike
By Justin K from Tallassee Alabama on 10/26/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Tires
Best Uses:
Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Great bike for a beginner (or in my case, something to ride while you save $$$). It does it's job better than any other bike in the price range. It is slightly heavy for an aluminum hardtail and the components are just acceptable, but again, best bike in the price range. Would recommend to any new or "cost conscious" cyclist.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent
By SamVerified Reviewer from MA on 10/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Components
Best Uses:
Single Track, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

This is a decent bike, but needs work. If I were the buyer, I would instead spend an extra $50 dollars and get a better bike.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome MTB
By ray713Verified Reviewer from houston tx on 9/30/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

ive been to my local bikebarn acouple times and test road this bike. AWESOME! wish i could afford it. low paying job+school= no bike.
if you have the money, buy it! u wont regret it

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice ride
By MayoVerified Reviewer from Sonora, Mexico on 9/6/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Good Geometry, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Descending, Single Track, Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Very good bike, comfortable and lighweight. I use it on dirt and rockie surfaces. Good for me...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing Entry-Level Hardtail
By TommyVerified Reviewer from Staten Island, NY on 8/31/2009
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Trail Riding, Urban Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 3500:

Bike is perfect for any entry-level riding. Tires are full and Bontrager tires are dense and add stability.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.