Buy the Float on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Float image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Kids, Ages 4-6
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Built to last(6), Easy to grow into(5), Highly adjustable(3), Smooth ride(5), Stable(6)
Best Uses:
First learning(8), Street riding(3)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Learned without any scrapes or bruises!
By Proud father!Verified Reviewer from Donovan, IL on 5/3/2010
Pros:
Built to Last, Easy to Grow Into, Highly Adjustable, Smooth Ride, Stable
Best Uses:
First Learning, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

Our 4.5 year old son was riding this bike after less than 3 hours of practice time.

I worked with him without the cranks 9 times over the course of a 12 day period, about 10-15 minutes of practice time per session.

The 1st session without the cranks was a little tough because the bike was just a bit too tall for him, even after I had removed the rear reflector and put the seat in the lowest position. I remedied this by turning the seat's mounting bracket upside down (which lowered the seat another 1.5 inches or so). Note: Turning the bracket upside down was rather difficult but it was well worth the effort.

The final four sessions without the cranks were spent coasting down a slight incline so that he able to go long distances without putting his feet down.

I waited to put the cranks back on until he agreed with me that he was ready for them. On his 1st attempt at actually riding the bike, I helped him get started and then he took off on his own. Amazingly he was able to stop by himself without crashing because he had learned how to stop during his practice sessions.

I had to help him get started a few more times but after that he was doing it all by himself and he looked as if he had been riding a bike for months.

I could never have imagined how easy this was going to be. The best part - no scrapes or bruises!

Some people put down the weight of the bike as a CON. However, I think that this actually helps kids with the balancing aspect of learning to ride a bike. The weight isn't an issue because this bike has a well designed center of gravity.

WORDS OF WISDOM: Take off the cranks before giving the bike to your child. Our son cried when I took off the pedals in front of him...he wanted the pedals and training wheels. After 10 minutes of consoling, explaining to him that this was a special "scooter bike", and showing him how it worked (yes, I actually used it!), he finally warmed up to it.

 
2 days to learn to ride!
By MattVerified Reviewer from Annapolis MD on 4/16/2010
Pros:
Built to Last
Cons:
Pedals have issues
Best Uses:
First Learning
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

My wife and I bought the float for our 4 year old and gave it to him for Christmas. With the seat at its lowest setting, he's just now able to touch the ground and practice "kicking" to get up speed and then float with his legs up. We thought the process would take a month or so before he was able ride with pedals and not take multiple diggers into the pavement.

We started on the bike on Tuesday riding for about 30 minutes trying to "float" for a few feet. Took Wednesday off; Thursday we tried it again. He was able to float about 20 feet or so, so against my better judgment, I put on the pedals expecting some nasty spills. On his first attempt, he rode down our cul-de-sac, made the turn and came back. We couldn't believe how quickly it worked.

Side note, I agree with other reviewers - the pedals are problematic and the directions (although attaching them would seem straight forward) kind of suck. Following the instructions, the pedal on the right side was hitting the chain guard which was loud, scraped it and made it hard for my son to keep momentum. When I loosen it so it doesn't hit, there's a lot of play in the crank and I can see how it would loosen over time and require regular tightening so it doesn't fall off.

Trek Response: Your local Trek Dealer can help with any service or installation questions, and provide professional service and installation.
 
Nice Concept
By SteveVerified Reviewer from Michigan on 3/30/2010
Pros:
Built to Last, Smooth Ride, Stable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
First Learning, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist

Comments about Trek Float:

Got this for my son's 4th Birthday - he had already been riding a year on a smaller bike with training wheels. I took off the cranks and he tried it and fell a couple times - then wouldn't use it until I got training wheels for it. Then at 3am one night, when he was 4 1/2 he came into our bedroom and told me he wanted to take his training wheels off - we did it the next day and he just got on a rode... They will do it when they are ready... Not when Dad is! Have fun! Good Bike!

Images shared by: Steve

First Day

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
An AMAZING bike for kids to learn on!
By Marc from Chula Vista, California on 10/8/2009
Pros:
Built to Last, Easy to Grow Into, Highly Adjustable, Smooth Ride, Stable
Best Uses:
First Learning
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Parent of 5 young kids
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

My 6 and 5 year olds started on training wheels about a year ago. After trying over and over to shorten the training wheels, they still struggled to balance and not have wrecks. They were not ready to have them removed.

The Trek store offered me this FLOAT bike, and it was AMAZING! We bought it last night... and today... after only 2 and a half hours, both kids are pedaling around like champs. We spent 1 hour learning to glide in straight lines without letting feet touch the ground, 30 minutes learning to glide doing turns on a simple slalom around some water bottles, and 30 minutes making circles. All was done in a closed parking lot with a very gentle slope. After that 1st two hours taking turns on the one bike, (I suppose that was really 1 hour total per child) I put on the pedals and away they went. After 30 minutes more helping them learn how to get going with the pedals.... they were pedaling around on 2 wheels.

I really can't say enough about how well this worked. I have 3 more kids to teach, and will keep this bike for several years to teach them all as they hit that stage.

I HIGHLY recommend this.

The ONLY improvement I would suggest to the TREK team would be to add a quick release (quick adjust) to the seat post. Having to use a half inch wrench to adjust the seat up and down was a bit of a pain... when most cheaper bikes have a quick adjust. But... that is a MINOR complaint... and I still STRONGLY recommend this bike.

Images shared by: Marc

My son learning to ride on the FLOAT

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product, Using Product

Trek Response: Great pic!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Up and going after a few tries
By DukestreetVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 6/25/2009
Pros:
Easy to Grow Into, Smooth Ride, Stable
Best Uses:
First Learning
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

After trying and not doing very well with a training wheel bike, we got the Float and our son was soloing in no time. Great stuff.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wish I'd gotten a different bike
By HeatherVerified Reviewer from O'Fallon, MO on 6/3/2009
Cons:
Heavy, Quickly Outgrown
Best Uses:
First Learning, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

Float is a great concept, but little did I know, my 5 year old would not need to practice coasting first. She took right off on the first try with pedals. The bike is very heavy steel(same as my adult bike), and wheels are so small she really has to work to go anywhere, and up hill? Forget it. Worst part - the pedals, which are removable, will not stay tight. We will be halfway through a ride and they come loose, and we have to walk home to get the Allen wrench. Kickstand is too long, so bike will not stand. Wish I'd gotten the 20" aluminum.

Trek Response: Many kickstands can be cut to properly work with most size bikes. Have your local Trek retailer take a look at the pedals and replace if necessary.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
No training wheels needed
By Mom of boysVerified Reviewer from Barrie, Ontario on 4/23/2009
Pros:
Built to Last, Easy to Grow Into, Highly Adjustable, Smooth Ride, Stable
Best Uses:
Big Kids, First Learning
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

My 5 1/2 year old son had a regular training wheel bike for 2 years and never once did I see him ride on the bike tire but was always on a training wheel. Got this bike on Saturday, went to a large empty parking lot Sunday and within 20 minutes he went from learning to coast with the pedals off to biking laps with the pedals on!

I have recommended it to anyone who will listen to me. Should have done this 2 years ago...

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
wonderful way to learn to ride
By ScottH from St. Paul, MN on 8/23/2008
Pros:
Built to Last, Easy to Grow Into, Stable
Best Uses:
First Learning
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Float:

I got this bike for my son on his 4th birthday. 2.5 months later he is now riding with pedals (no training wheels) and loving it.

I think this is a really nice bike and sturdy. I see other nameless brand bikes in the neighborhood which don't hold up very well to active kids. I think the Float will do much better.

One mistake I made is that I wanted to surprise my son, so I bought the bike without taking him with me to the bike shop. So I was disappointed to discover that he was too short! To learn without training wheels the child needs to be able to get his feet on the ground while sitting on the seat. I lowered everything I could (including taking out the reflector on the seat post which bought me an extra half-inch) and it was still too tall. So the bike sat idle for a bit over a month. Then we tried it again and I could see he was getting taller and he started trying the bike little by little. Some times he would just try to walk it to the end of the driveway and then he'd be done. But gradually over about 5 weeks of increasing use he was ready for the pedals and he's been riding around proudly ever since. By comparison, another child in the neighborhood slightly older in age has had training wheels for the last 4 or 5 months with no progress that I've noticed.

One thing about this method of learning to ride is that a lot depends on the maturity of the child. I imagine a 5 or 6 year old would pick it up a lot faster. Also I realized that for my child, he needed to figure it out himself, and my job was to keep him safe and not worry about whether he was making progress or doing things that would lead to progress. Also he was initially disappointed that the didn't have training wheels but I explained that he was learning to balance and later when other kids would ask what he was doing, he would say he is balancing.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.