Buy the Navigator 2.0 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Navigator 2.0 image
 
(based on 44 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Navigator
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 44 reviews)
95% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(37), Durable(29), Fun(3), Good components(3), Lightweight(22)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
Commuting(18), Leisurely rides(38), Light riding(28), Street riding(35), Uneven surfaces(24)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(5), Casual/ recreational(35), Commuter(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(11)
 
A great ride for the money
By Tdkidd from Texas on 6/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Handles good, Lightweight, Like the style, Seat is comfortable, Shifts good, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Non at this time
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Afternoon ride just to get out for casual ride and enjoy the outdoors.

 
Great Ride
By TdkiddVerified Reviewer from Texas on 6/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Wife and I was looking for a good bike. After spending time reading reviews and visiting bike shops this was the bike we chose. It really fits us right for the way we ride we love them.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best purchase all year
By kmc979Verified Reviewer from New Jersey on 5/21/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

When I was 19 I was hit by a car while riding a bike and have never been on one since. I am now 31 and in need of a low impact workout. I went to a bike shop to learn about all the new kinds of bikes out there and was directed to the navigator. I ride the bike only on flat bike/walk trails with the occassional cross over a road. I do not plan on ever riding this on a street (it's very traumatic to be hit). The closest to a smooth service it will be on is on the boardwalk at the beach.
The bike is very comfortable. I have bad knees and chronic lower back pain so the more upright nature of this bike is perfect. My rides tend to last about an hour with a total distance of around 10 miles so far. The best addition, other than an helmet I recommend are bike gloves if going on longer rides like I do. They have proved more useful than the padded bike shorts.
I love everything about my navigator and two of my friends have since bought them, though they bought the women's bike. I am a woman but have always felt more comfortable on a men's style bike. I considered the 7100 but went with the navigator because of the fatter tire for trails and the more upright position.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Updated Review with BackRack ll and pic
By Trekin RickVerified Reviewer from Redwood City, CA on 5/1/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, RocknRollin, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Trekin, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Good Day!

My Navigator 2.0 with the Bontrager BackRack ll Silver Color and accessories.

Enclosed is my pic.

Happy Trails!

Trekin Rick

Images shared by: Trekin Rick

My nav 2.0 with BackRackll

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Navigator 2.0 Awesome!!
By Happy Michigan BikerVerified Reviewer from Ann Arbor, Michigan on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Bike to Own, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
A Bit noisy when shifting
Best Uses:
Great on hard surface, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I have had the Navigator 2.0 for about a week have about 15 miles on it already, and after about 5 weeks of searching and totally satisfied I picked the right bike for me. It was pitted against the Cannondale Comfort 5 and it was a very close race and a hard decision. Very easy to use and felt comfortable from the mega second I climbed on it (with very little riding experience). A great choice and can't wait for my next ride.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable & sturdy
By Dr. LavacaVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 3/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I'm 5'8", 255 lbs, and this bike is sturdy enough to support me. It is heavy-duty (and heavy), but smooth in operation. Most bikes seem flimsy and are uncomfortable. This one is much better than the "box store" brands. It is not sleek or racy, but will allow you to go for long, comfortable rides that make you want to go again. I added fenders and a rear-rack. Has 1100-1200 miles on it now.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect bike for older Gentlemen
By Dan from Louisiana on 3/14/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Low to ground, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Trace pavement riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I had old 800 trek and it was very high to mount. This navigator has a lower bar and is much easier to get on and off. I did not want to have to buy a sept through( Women's bike) I am 69 years old and it is the best bike I ever bought.

 
Stylish, Comfortable but heavy...
By Pedala from Brazil on 2/26/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

i really like the bike its comfortable, stylish but man its heavyyyyyy in my opinion if it came with 700c rims would be perfect...

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excited to excercize again!
By FredVerified Reviewer from DFW on 2/19/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Fun, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I'm so very pleased with this bike and with Trek in general. I am significantly overweight and I was terrified that I would buckle this poor little bike, but it is sturdy and feels very stable to ride, certainly no "poor little bike". I am having a great time riding and am impressed with the quality of the components. I look forward to using this bike to lose some serious weight and I have little doubt that it will be up to the task.

Images shared by: Fred

After a few miles

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
So Happy
By Trekin RickVerified Reviewer from Redwood City, CA on 12/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, High Quality, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fun, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

The Navigator 2.0 is the Bomb. This bike is fun! I use it for a short commute to work, grocery shopping, errands and weekend fun rides with friends and family. I love this bike because it's easy to use, comfortable, with a solid and stable ride. Thanks Trek for such an awesome bike, well done. And to everyone reading this review buy it and forget about it. You won't go wrong.

Happy Trails!

God Bless

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Its fast and furious
By stevo from SW Florida on 10/24/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great suspension, Lightweight, Low or high gears, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Grips slowly side off
Best Uses:
Light Trails, Slight off road grass, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

one of the best things about the navigator 2.0 is the front suspension the rear isn't as good but i'm glad its there brakes were good when i bought it they still are pretty good make sure you use front and back break at same time at same levels to ensure that the wear is the same

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Get in Shape Bike
By MSBKRVerified Reviewer from Jackson, MS on 9/22/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
A little slow
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I bought a Navigator 2.0 about 2 months ago in order to continue a lower impact exercise regimen. Had been riding another comfort bike to get back into riding shape and wanted something that was more durable and reliable. The Navigator is extraordinarily comfortable and easy to ride. I have put about 500 miles on the bike in less than 2 months. I avergage about 10 miles a day primarily on paved paths, limited off road transitions between paths and some road riding. This bike is great for the trails around my house which allow for 10 to 12 mile rides and with hills usually result in about an hour long ride. I can reasonaly take this bike out to 20 mile rides but with any amount of hills thrown in, this seems to be nearing the high end of the bike's optimal range. I noticed at the 12 to 15 mile mark, the stock saddle which is very comfortable on shorter rides is not really that comforatable. For that reason, I changed out to a sport saddle that Trek puts on some of its hybrid bikes and that saddle works really well for me. The super low gear on the rear cassette allows you to climb some pretty tough hills so long as you have the patience and time to climb at 4 to 4.5 mph. Not something I do everyday, but I have one weekend ride that requires it on a couple of long hills.

The bike is not terribly fast (I have worked up to about a 12 mph average) but for trail riding where the trails are not that long, it is ideal and allows me to comfortably average an hour per day of exercise. If I were on a faster bike, I would have to be lapping the trail while avoiding other bikers and pedestrians at a faster speed. The bike is good for light off road and the front shock takes the impact out of semi rough terrain fairly well. However, the H2 tires don't have much offroad tractions and can slip on some pretty mild inclines if you are going up and across a hill.

Some comments on the internet would lead you to believe that this bike is good for nothing more than a quick spin around the neighborhood. These comments underestimate this bike and its ability if you are in reasonably good shape. I am planning on buying an FX for some longer weekend rides that I want to do with friends who have faster bikes. However, I plan on keeping the Navigator and using it for my daily rides. If I could only have one of the two bikes, it would be the Navigator given my riding style and available trails.

Have had no problems with the bike other than the normal cable stretch and deraileur adjustment issues that are expected and fixed in the 30 day tuneup provided by the LBS.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The right bike
By Mark VVerified Reviewer from Chesapeake Va. on 8/27/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I have had my Navigator about a month now and have put over 50 miles on it. The ride is very comfortable and predictable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet Ride
By Baja89Verified Reviewer from Syracuse, New York on 8/22/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

This Bike is just what I was looking for, Not a Mountain Bike or a Racer. Great recreational casual bike. Very Comfortable.

 
Comfortable and well-executed
By lphilpotVerified Reviewer from Central Louisiana, USA on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I've not owned a zillion bikes and this one is my re-entry into biking after more years away than I care to remember, but I'm more than pleased. I originally set out looking at a comfort bike from a competing manufacturer, but I was sold on the Navigator when I test rode a 2009 model (mine is a 2010 Nav 2.0).

At just a tad under 6'2" and about 225 lbs., I'm very pleased with the fit, comfort and responsiveness of the 21" framed bike. Brakes are good and gearing appropriate for my needs/fitness. Shifting is accurate, although I tend to stay on the middle chainring and near the middle of the cassette (which covers my needs here in our mostly-flat locality). After almost four months, I've yet to even buy biking shorts with a chamois (that's how comfortable the saddle is), but I may break down and do so at some point.

Minor nitpicks? Nothing serious... The 2009 19" Nav I test rode was a gorgeous gloss burnt orange finish, but only satin finishes were available on the 2010 Nav 2.0s (I would have paid extra for that orange paint). The satin evergreen is attractive enough, but not as nearly nice as the gloss finish. Also, I had to add a lock washer to the kickstand to keep it from loosening over time.

But all in all, I really like this bike. It's comfortable, well done and not overly expensive for a recreational (and definitely non-athletic!) rider like myself. I've given it four out of five stars not because it's "20% lacking" but only due to my inexperience with other bikes.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike within (city) limits
By SamVerified Reviewer from Long Island, NY on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

A few decades ago, one bike was enough. I have a 10-speed road bike that met all my needs. Times change. The streets developed potholes and were poorly patched, and more cars were on the road. The limitations of a road bike for urban riding became evident. The Trek Navigator deals with the challenges of urban riding perfectly. The wide tires and springs can cope with uneven roads. The bike is stable even at the slowest speeds, permitting turns close to the curb when turning into traffic lanes. The upright position, aside from being comfortable, makes it easier to check for traffic (this can be particularly important in areas where hybrid cars may be running on electric power only.)

Obviously there's a balance -- the Navigator is less suited for long distances than a road bike, and isn't nearly as fast, but for the conditions I've described it's nearly perfect, while I hate to ride the old 10-speed near my home.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
not robust
By GC from Medford, MA on 8/3/2010
Cons:
Flimsy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

When I got it home the wheels no longer rotated freely. Apparently you have to be very careful taking it in and out of your car.

No documentation was provided with the bike. I looked up the Tektro brake documentation online but it was useless as the pictures were terrible.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cool Comfort!!!!
By S.S. GATORVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC> on 7/23/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Good all around bike. You ride with style with a great sence of control and versatility, even on uneven surfaces. I made the transition from Full Suspension Mountain to my Navigator 2.0 and I am Loving it. THIS IS NOT YOUR GRANDPA'S CRUISER. but a cool mountain bike with style...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
VERY HAPPY!!!!
By Dando from Tahoe on 7/23/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Hello, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

My wife and I were looking to get some excersise. We looked at the Trek bikes and I rode the Hybrid and the Navigator.. Hands down the Nav was more comfortable and effortless... I just got done going on a 35 mike ride last weekend and have so much fun we bought a hitch to take them with us. We also rode the bike on dirt trails at Tahoe... Not a hickup... GREAT BIKE!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite bike
By ReubenVerified Reviewer from Memphis on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

This bike seems just about perfect for what sets out to do. Comfy, upright rides where ever it goes. Not a speed demon, or a trail blazer, but not meant to be. Just jump on and enjoy the ride. That's exactly what I was hoping for.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great bike at even a greater price!!
By MajorGatorVerified Reviewer from Prospect, CT on 4/19/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Bought two of the Navigator 2.0s - one for me and one for my wife. We both love the bike. It's a great bike - comfortable to ride, great quality, and comes at a good price. You can't go wrong with this bike. I highly recommend the Navigator 2.0.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fits me perfectly!
By 1dash1Verified Reviewer from Hilo, Hawaii on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I was looking for a general-purpose bike - something comfortable and easy to ride around town. I narrowed the field down to two contendors in the $400 price range: the Trek Navigator 2.0 and the Giant Sedona. After test riding both, I chose the Navigator. While the Sedona rated slightly higher in quality of components, the Navigator gave me a much better ride.

My impressions of the Navigator:

SMOOTH-RIDING. Everything in the system (pedals, shifters, brakes, frame, suspension, seats, handlebars) seems to have been thoughtfully engineered for rideability and comfort.

SHIFTING. 21-speeds, easily accessible via grip shifters. Shifting gears was clean and simple. (Personally, I wish the gear ratios ran a little higher. However, I understand the target market. Besides, the gear ranges probably cover 99% of my needs. I really don't have much of an opportunity to use any high gears on my normal routes.)

BRAKING. Effortless, responsive braking.

POSTURE. The more upright riding position puts less strain on the back, neck, shoulders and hands; and promotes a more natural posture. While this posture is less efficient for transferring power to the pedals, it is a far more relaxing and comfortable position for casual riding. IMO, one of the reasons that it is so easy to shift gears or to brake is because the upright posture takes weight off the hands. Since I am starting to develop arthritis, this was a big factor in my decision to pick up a cruiser bike instead of a hybrid or a mountain bike.

URBAN RIDING. The Navigator does a good job of negotiating uneven ground, curbs, dirt paths, lawns, gravel roads, and light trails. And the "heads up" riding position is good for traffic awareness.

FUN! It reminds me of my first bike when I was a kid. The Navigator is a joy to ride.

STYLISH. While not as aggressive looking as the mountain bikes or as sleek as some of the hybrids, the Navigator is nonetheless a very handsome bike. Mine is a bronze-colored bike, with a deep, rich finish. Because it rains over a hundred inches a year here, I had the bike shop add mudguard fenders. I was a little apprehensive about how the bike would look, but I was very happy with the results. I think the bike looks even spiffier with the fenders!

SUPERB QUALITY. Fit and finish details were outstanding.

OTHER COMMENTS:

1. When I first bought the Navigator, my thoughts were that I might eventually pick up a mountain bike. However, I've found the Navigator is more than enough bike to handle the light trails around here. Since I don't plan on taking on any really difficult trails, the Navigator will take care of all my off-road needs just fine!

2. My rides are typically under 3 miles, one way. Speed is not an issue. However, if the rides were significantly longer, I would have seriously considered sacrificing comfort and versatility for a faster bike (say a 7100 or an FX model).

Thank you, Trek, for making a great bike!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best bike i've ever owned
By dan from aiken, sc on 4/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Bought this bike after realizing how uncomfortable my mountain bike is.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Helped get me back into riding...
By nayborboy from Kent Island Md. on 3/28/2010
Pros:
Versatile
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

If you are considering a Nav 2.0 stop considering and get one. I just purchased mine and went for my first shakedown ride, I love it. I started with a Trek 820 which I still own. After 27 years as a heavy equipment mechanic I developed arthritis in both hands. The "forward leaning" position of the mountain bike had me avoiding rides because of wrist pain. I looked at the nav. 1.0, hybrid 7100 and the 2.0 as well as some other manufacturers. The 2.0 had the features I wanted and was in my price range. After a test ride I ordered mine (they were sold out of the color I wanted). Its not as fast as the 820 but thats not what I was looking for. It is geared low enough to climb from a stop. It is smooth and I love the tires they work reasonably well on numerous surfaces. Best thing is, no wrist pain... Bikes have changed a lot since I purchased that 820 back in the early 90's. I like the suspension at both the forks and the seat post. You don't really notice it until you compare it to a bike without suspension. Saddle is comfortable, gear shifts are smooth and the frame is of perfect dimensions for me. The shift cables stretched a little on the first ride but that is to be expected. The fact that it dose not look like an "old guys" bike makes it all that much nicer. So if you are in my situation and need a comfort type bike check out the Navigator 2.0 you wont be disappointed. Now if you will excuse me I can't wait to get back out and ride! Oh yeah, hats off to Bike Doctor in Stevensville Md. Knowledgeable and great job on the assembly.

Images shared by: nayborboy

My new ride

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST BIKE
By EdVerified Reviewer from Gillette, WY on 3/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Fun to ride, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I've own my Nav 2.0 for two years now and absolutely love it. Love mine so much went and bought my wife the Nav 2.0 WSD.

 
Hard to replace...
By MikeyVerified Reviewer from Newfield, NJ on 3/14/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Fun
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Uneven Surfaces
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I bought this after knee surgery when the doctor said I'd have to go to biking instead of walking. I had a Trek 700...and it was stolen not more than a week after diagnosis. I bought the Navigator 2.0 in April of 2007. To this date, I have pedaled 3500 miles on this bike, mostly commuting to work. Occasionally, I have shopped to replace or upgrade this bike...but, it seems hard to get another to live up to its performance.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best comfort bike on the market
By Trek NavigatorVerified Reviewer from North Battleford Saskatchewan Canada on 1/23/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I have had a Navigator 2.0 for 4 years and it has a Bion X electric assist kit on it I have rode summer and winter Excellant bike for the money

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great buy
By columbia from Califon NJ on 12/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Great for trails. Very comfortable.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect bike to get you off the couch
By LowSparkVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 12/25/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Fun, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

56 and over weight, my doctor recomended I do something to excercise and get my heart pumping. I had been considering getting a bike for sometime and decided to take the plunge. A local shop carries the Trek line and when I explained to the sales person what I wanted to do, he pointed me towards two bikes, the 7001 and the Navigator. It was raining on that day so no test ride. Instead I went home and did my homework via the internet, reading reviews such as the ones found here.
I was fond of the Navigator, cool looks and wide tires... the 7001 on the other hand looked more like a 'bike' that would make me exercise. I got to test ride both bikes and chose the Navigator 2.0. The comfort level and enjoyment I had riding it made me think I would ride it more often.
A month later and I am 100% happy with my decision. With my extra weight and being out of shape, the Navigator is working perfectly for me.
I enjoy a 30 minute 5 mile ride on a local bike path, I have managed to bump that to 7+ miles in 45-60 minutes.
I find myself smiling the whole time. I can't wait till the weather warms up though... bike riding in the winter brrrrr.

In a year from now, if I loose the weight, I'll be ready to step up to the hybrid 7001 and take my bike riding up to the next level.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Navigator 2.0 is FFFFaannntastic!
By JFMoore from Redford, Mi on 10/19/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I just got back into riding bicycles this year because my oldest daughter just learned how to ride. I went to American Cycle and Fitness in Novi,Mi., which is a major Trek dealer. My wife & I described what we were looking for in a bike. It was exciting since so much has become specialized in the biking world since we were kids in the 80's growing up. You've got a variety of styles to choose from. So we decided to play it safe and get something that would allow us to branch out and change things up somewhere down the line. The salesperson recommended the Nav 2.0. When i brought the bike home it was a bit of an adjustment. It was so lite I had trouble keeping my balance, since I expected the bike to have a bit of weight on it, (remembering the heavy frames from the 80's). After I adjusted, I started to notice the mechanical performance like the breaks, very responsive & reassuring . Then there's the gear shifting, very smooth and there is a multitude of gear & crank combinations that can be achieved. The posture is very comfortable & the seat is very soft. Overall the bike is solid, as with any mechanical system maintenance is key. The salespeople at [...] made sure eveything was tight and adjusted before I took the bike and assured me that all further adjustments for 2yrs. would be taken care of. What more could you ask for.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
JUST BUY IT!!!
By Dando from Nevada on 9/27/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

It was my wife's birthday a few weeks ago and she wanted a Bike..We looked at several but none fit the bill..Folding bikes, beach bikes and Mountain bikes.. We stopped at the TREK Dealer in Escondido.. Steve who was an enormous help answered all our questions, a GREAT GUY!. My wife LOVED THE NAVIGATOR 2.0.. She wanted me to get a bike as well even tho I have a mountain bike at home which I never ride because it is too much work. I tried the Hybrid 7100 and then the Navigator. The Navigator hands down was the most comfortable and FUN bike to ride.. We have had the bikes for 3 weeks now and yesterday and today I have riden 10 miles PLUS!! Not bad for a 52 year old Fat guy... I have lost 15 lbs in 3 weeks of riding.. I do it not just for the exercise but for the FUN OF IT!! This bike is JUST PLAIN FUN!!! Easy to ride without getting tired, smooth, stable and solid.. It is a MUST TRY if your looking to get back into bicycling..

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what the Doctor ordered
By Healthy in Va. from Lynchburg,Va. on 9/23/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

My doctor recommended I get more exercise so I bought this bike. What a excellent choice!I am ridding about 20 to 35 miles a week and it feels increadable! This bike is very confortable and easy to pedal,PLUS i FEEL GREAT.This is the best bike I have ever owned. Thank Trek!!!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it.
By MitchVerified Reviewer from Middle Island, NY on 9/14/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I just love the feel of this bike. Feels solid without being a tank.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Bike, Very Enjoyable
By GBVerified Reviewer from Ontario, Canada on 9/12/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I have not ridden a bicycle for 25 years and decided I should try it as a form of much needed exercise, after my wife recently bought a lady's Nav. 3 (She REALLY likes her bike)

I went to look at bikes at our local dealer who did a good job of explaining the bikes.

I liked the look of a Navigator 2 he had in stock, took it for a test ride, "around the block", liked it so much I made a second circuit, then bought it.

I had a minor issue with the cable on the front deraillier, no big deal; the dealer quite happily replaced the cable while I waited, did a great job and everything is fine. Some sampling of every manufacture's products will have issues, it is important to me how they are dealt with and the dealer did just fine.

I have been riding it up and down the paved country road by my home, getting in shape to go on the numerous bike paths in this area. I am really enjoying the Navigator 2.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Value fun to ride
By JeffVerified Reviewer from Huber Heights, Ohio on 7/23/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

After 30 years absence from riding I decided it was time. I was looking for a bike that was a good value, comfort, and quality. After talking with my local dealer and a few test rides I settled on the Navigator 2.0.

Bikes have changed over the years. The upright riding is a pleasure. Since I have lower back problems this was a concern. The first day I was rode for about an hour. I felt like a kid again. The gear selection made the very steep hill near my home climbable. (I remember this hill was a bear when I was a kid.)

This was a good investment.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable ride
By MJK from Denver on 7/20/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

First bike purchase in 15 years and I am happy to have bought the Navigator 2.0. It is a very comfortable ride for my casual self even when pulling our little one behind in a trailer. Looking now to replace my wife's with a Navigator.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Solid feel - Good exercise bike
By BillVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 7/14/2009
Pros:
Comfortable
Best Uses:
Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

Owned bike for 4 weeks and have logged about 20 hours. At 250 pounds, I find this a good solid performer for exercise. After 8 marathons and 75 pounds added , switched to biking and have determined that a good workout is indeed possible.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent ride, very comfy
By BarryVerified Reviewer from Sheboygan, WI on 7/7/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Smooth ride
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I bought this bike after my trusty 820 was stolen.
Although my former bike was a good ride, I was more in need of something that suited my age, (40+) and this bike has really fit the bill.

I especially enjoy the upright riding position, the nice comfy (read:wide) seat, and the lack of significant rolling resistance. I found that I can ride farther, with less effort, than ever before. For routine communting or just pleasure rides, this is a great buy.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfort and Style
By MattVerified Reviewer from Detroit, MI on 6/30/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

The Nav 2.0 is a great casual bike. My wife and I routinely ride on city streets and paved trails so the comfort and stability of this bike matters more to us than speed. It's lightweight design makes for easy loading and storing, and it's touch of style make it stand out - something we can both appreciate. Sewn handgrips and a very cushy seat add other unique facets to this bike. Give it a test ride!

[8 of 59 customers found this review helpful]

 
Broke on the third ride.
By AlanRVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, B.C. on 6/14/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy Components
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I bought two upon my retirement, a man's NAV 2 and a woman's NAV 3, so my wife and I could go for some gentle rides along the urban bike paths.

I hadn't ridden a bike in over 40 years and my wife was not much more experienced, so there was some question as to whether or not we were even going to go riding more than once or twice.

The NAV series seemed like a good fit as a "first adult bike" for a couple of old-timers; high enough quality that the riding experience would not be compromised by the purchase of something cheap while not too expensive if we decided that riding just wasn't for us.

The first two rides were most enjoyable, albeit short, my thighs beginning to ache within a few hundred yards.

On the third ride, which means after an hour or so of total riding time, the left pedal just fell out, its threads stripped.

It was a wee bit embarrassing (and more than a bit annoying) WALKING my shiny new bike all the way home.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
How to spell comfort? N-A-V-I-G-A-T-O-R!
By DeborahVerified Reviewer from Sonoma County, CA on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I looked high and low for a bike that would take advantage of our amazing bike paths and trails as well as get me cross town when I have to. With comfort, quality, and durability as my criteria, this bike meets the bill and more. Saddle is absolutely the most comfortable I have ever ridden; gears smooth, adjustments for posture aplenty and it has some good style to it. Easy on and off my car rack. Performs admirably on dirt, gravel, uneven surfaces and grass. Da kine hybrid!

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
great ride!!
By steveVerified Reviewer from ventura ca part time and kingman az on 4/4/2009
Pros:
A great ride for a 250, Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

smooth and easy to ride... i'm 58 and 250 pounds and am pleased this bike is fun to ride!!

[75 of 99 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect for its intended use
By FairmontVerified Reviewer from Atlanta, Georgia on 12/23/2008
Pros:
Excellent Offroad, Extremely Comfortable, Fun Ride, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

I researched quite a bit and chose the Trek Navigator for its comfort appeal. I purchased it from [...] I use it for cruising around the bike paths here which are mostly smooth, but have tree roots, etc., and there are a ton of shortcuts through the grass, gravel, dirt, parking lots, etc.This bike is designed for comfort, balance, and ease of use. It if five-stars in that regard. It is the most comfortable bike I have ever ridden, and it's a ton of fun. I took it offroad yesterday through grass, dirt, big and small gravel, loose soil, etc. and it cruises right through all of it (big, fat cruiser tires come on it. They are called comfort tires, and they are exactly that). This bike is meant for cruising around on rough surfaces in total comfort, and it hits the ball out of the park.It is not a bike for keeping up with your roadbike friends. You won't stand a chance. It's a slow bike on smooth surfaces. The tires are big and slow, the diameter of the tires are smaller (26-inch), the tread will slow you down, and the gearing will slow you down. Plus, you won't get an efficient posture. If you are serious about riding longer distances and care about your speed, this is not the bike for you. If you want to ride under 10 miles in comfort, taking your time, stopping for ice cream or pizza, this is the perfect bike.I owned the 7100 (pure hybrid) and it's a much faster bike and almost as comfortable (almost), so if you want something that can go a little offroad (hard packed dirt, grass, etc.) then get the 7000 series. But if you want a bike that's just pure fun and comfortable, go with the Navigator. You can take it on the beach, the grass, the road, etc. It's a bike for all ages and stations in life.The only reason I gave it four stars instead of five was because my handlebars were a bit loose and had a little play in them. I tightened them as much as I physically could (even though a sticker on the stem says they were pre-tightened correctly at the factory) but they still have a little play in them. I'm going to take it to the bikeshop to have them work it out. Nothing should be wiggly on a bike that's almost five hundred dollars with tax.

[23 of 38 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great mix
By RobVerified Reviewer from Warren, MI on 11/5/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Navigator 2.0:

My wife and I bought our Navigator 2.0's (hers is a WSD)after years of ignoring our aging Mountain Bikes. The upright position is much more comfortable - I have always had issues with hand numbness. The shocks and smoother (compared to a MTB) and wider tires make it easy to switch between road, rail trails, and grassy parks. We use ours for exercise, and we also haul our 4-year old (he has his own Trek Jet 12)around in a trailer attached to our Navigators. They are like the bike equivalent of an SUV. I've already added the Interchange trunk Pack to mine. I found the frame design on the men's model to be more stylish than the "other" big brand, and my wife loves the step-through design of her WSD. I've easily put more miles on my Navigator this year, than I did all the years I owned the mountain bike

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.