Buy the 7300 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7300 image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Hybrid
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
88% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(12), Great components(10), Handles well off-road(5), Lightweight(6)
Cons:
Heavy(4)
Best Uses:
Commuting(8), Off-road(3), Pavement(16)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(7), Casual/ recreational(8)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet Bike...
By Steven from Nashville Tennessee on 4/11/2011
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I have owned the 7300 for just over a year now and have not had any issues at all. Just the usual scheduled bike maintenance. I purchased the bike for two reasons... First was for excercise as I ride around ten miles per day. Second, my wife likes to ride the greenways on weekends, so we do that together. When I purchased this bike, I went back and forth between the 7300 and the FX 7.2. I went with the 7300 because I thought I would like the suspension more. It does make for a comfortable ride, but I find I lose a little of my torque (inertia) on super steep hills. For that reason and that reason only, I wish I would have chosen the 7.2. It definitely is what Trek calls their "fitness bike". I'll ride the 7300 for another year or two and then move to the 7.2. If you are not riding big steep hills, you'll love this bike. It's gearing is smooth, quiet and just a joy to ride.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very comfortable bike to ride
By LJAVerified Reviewer from Seattle, WA on 4/10/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles well, Lightweight, Low rolling resistance, Reasonable price, Very Comfortable Ride
Cons:
Have not found any yet
Best Uses:
Commuting, Distances under 30 miles, Pavement, Pleasure ride
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I use the bike for pleasure rides and exercise.
It handels well, has a very low rolling resistance and pedals effortlessly.

This would be a great commuter also

I highly recommend it for bike path/ pavement use. In my opinion, it is not designed for off road use. (go the the navigator or one of the mountain bikes for off road(

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the trail
By ptucci from Stark County,Ohio on 12/7/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Handles Well Off-road, Pleasing To The Eye, Very Good Ergonomics
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I mostly use my the 7300 on the bike trail, paved or gravel. In my opinion it handles much better than a FX bike does on bike trails. The upright position allows the rider to take in the scenery, but it doesn't compromise much speed to do this.
I am 6' 4" tall and this bike is very comfortable on 30-50 mile bike rides. I had a FX bike before this and I could never find a comfortable hand position and it always felt like there was too much downward pressure on my hands. I also found little pleasure in constantly straring at my handlebars. This bike solved that problem and I am once again enjoying my bike rides.
While this may not be the fastest bike on the trail; I have found I can average between 12 and 13 mph on my rides and my "seat time" has increased dramatically. I can now ride for an hour before I feel I need to get off my bike for a few minutes. So even though my speed has not increased I am spending more time riding and less time off the bike because of pressure point discomfort. Happiness is a comfortable but quick ride.
I have found this bike to be a good climber. It climbs well even on steeper inclines. Because of the good ergonomics, I'm finding it actually easier to climb than before.
Looks aren't everything but I find this bike to be very handsome and sporty looking.
This bike should suit you if you are looking for a bike that offers a pleasant ergonomic ride without sacrificing too much speed.
The only real drawback I can find with this bike is that it is just a little on the heavy side. Lifting the bike over my head to put it on my storage rack when not in use can be somewhat taxing. I would also recommend using toe clips because occasionally my foot has slipped off the pedals.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Starting to ride again
By Old TimerVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 11/20/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Trigger shifting
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

Now I Can!!!

I have a 22 year old daughter, and I could not keep up with her, on my 30 year old ten speed.

Now I can, going in and out of all the gears was fast and easy, had a gear that worked for me, when I needed it.

[8 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great commuter bike!
By Bikin' HowieVerified Reviewer from Richardson, TX on 11/7/2010
Pros:
Carries a load well, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I am an avid cyclist and a bike commuter... each weekday I ride 30 miles roundtrip to work on this bike... whether I have it loaded down or not I get a good, comfortable, pretty fast ride on pavement/paved bike trails. On the weekends and on vacations I ride this bike on rail-trails and towpaths and concrete paths...
I bought this bike a year and a half ago to ride from D.C. to Pittsburgh (335 miles in a week) on the C&O Canal/Greater Allegheny Passage, which I've now done twice.

Things I've changed or added:
1) Handlebar stem... I put on a fixed stem (long forward reach) that allows me to stretch out a bit further... I felt I was riding way too upright (like a cruiser) for any speed and the new fixed stem allows me to zoom almost as fast as on my Trek 7.6 FX.
2) Handlebars... I like an almost flat straight bar, again for speed and the little extra stretch... I also put bar ends on (nearly flat out) so that if I want a more crouched position I can have it... the wind in TX gets pretty fierce.
3) Brooks saddle... sorry, but this old derriere loves the oneness of a fine leather saddle... and the far less chafing ride of smooth leather... esp on 60+ mile day rides...
4) Tires... I ride with either very slick tires on pavement for speed or Armadillos (700 x 35c) for ruggedness... may even move up to Schwalbe tires for ruggedness... I never like the tires they put on new bikes, which tend to be unidirectional and not esp. good at any function.
5) Pedals... I like a grippier all-metal pedal with toe clips and straps... commuting is safer with toe clips and straps in my opinion as opposed to clipless pedals or nothing to keep your feet on the pedals...
6) Topeak rack with slide on trunk bag... I've found that this bike is easy to add 3rd party accessories to, and is well-built for just about all accessories...
7) Kick-stand... after riding for 38 years without one, I've found that the new ones are light weight, non-intrusive, and handy...
8) Fenders... I had a set of Planet Bike fenders on for a while and they worked well, though fenders aren't just for me... so off they came in a matter of mintues.
9) lights to see and be seen... I've added powerful lights and flashing lights front and rear... commuting across north Dallas, Richardson, and Plano TX is much safer when you look like a moving, blinking Xmas tree strung out with lights, some to help me see the road/path, and some just to let others (esp SUVs) see me!

I ride this bike on nice hot days (scorchers in TX), cold days, rainy days (downpours), and everything in-between. I enjoy it as much as any bike I've ever had. With all my modifications it is now fast, rugged, smooth, dependable, and a workhorse of a bike.

I was sad to see the newer models without the integrated front fork suspension (now you got to move up to the 7500 for that). I just don't like the bulkier external front suspensions that look more mountain bike than hybrid...

The only con, and perhaps for me, the only reason to move up to the 7500 might be the weight, but, hey, with everything I have on this puppy any bike of mine is going to weigh a lot... I do get good momentum on the downhills though, and you might not believe the number of road bikes I pass daily...

This is one fine bike. Thank you Trek for everything you put into it...

Note: when I need to choose between my Trek 7.6 FX and my Trek 7300, the 7300 usually gets the nod because of it's carrying ability and shock absorbing ride. Without the citys having money to fix the roads and the concrete bike trails having interfaces between poured sections that feel like riding into curbs, the FX is too unforgiving, whereas the 7300 takes this roughness all in stride... Don't get me wrong, the 7.6 FX is a faster, lighter bike, and for long road rides and group rides on pavement it excels, but for everyday riding the 7300 just works exceedingly well.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Ride!
By MattVerified Reviewer from City Island, NY on 8/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Mediumweight
Best Uses:
Light Off-Road Riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I've had the 7300 for about a month and I ride it several days a week. The shifting is smooth, it handles well on the road and in light off-road conditions, the components seem to be of high quality, and it's faster than I was expecting. I really like this bike!

This bike handles really well on roads and paved bike paths, which is where I've been riding it most of the time, but it also performs well off-road too. This past weekend, I put the 7300 to the test and I wasn't disappointed. I found a trail that had loose rock/gravel, some low hills, packed dirt, and some loose dirt and this bike handled very well. I didn't lose traction or control of the bike while riding through the trail. The tires don't have much tread, but the tires are fine for light off-road riding.

The trigger shifters are great. They're allot easier to use and are more comfortable than twist shifters. I rode ten miles a couple of days ago on a paved bike path that had a combination of flat areas and hills and the trigger shifters made changing gears really easy.

In my opinion, this bike is pretty fast. I don't have a bike computer so I don't know how fast I'm actually going, but it seems fast to me. I read another review here that claimed that they were doing around 25 mph on flat roads with little effort. I believe that, because this bike just seems to glide on the road.

I can't give you too much detail on the suspension system since this is the first bike I've owned in many years. All I can tell you is that I feel in control of the bike when riding it, even while going over bumps and dips in the road.

I really like the look of this bike; the image on this site doesn't do it justice. The frame doesn't have the typical round tubing you might see on other bikes including the 7100 and 7200. The top tube and down tube on the 7300 have a slightly flat shape to them which is a really nice touch. The down tube also tapers a bit toward the bottom bracket which gives the bike a modern look.

I highly recommend you check out the 7300. It's a fun bike to ride, has quality components, handles the road well and is versatile enough for light off-road riding. I'm glad I decided to pick it up.

 
Great Bike
By Alby from Chiefland, Fl on 7/24/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

Ride 20 miles daily in the local State Park. Great bike path ride.

 
Amazing bicycle
By LenVerified Reviewer from Leesburg, VA on 7/9/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I ride the 7300 on bike paths across the area and I just rode it throughout Nantucket, MA. The bike handles great, provides a very smooth and controlled ride and is just plain fun to ride.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wish I could rate this bike higher
By Bud from Merritt Island, FL on 5/28/2010
Pros:
Looks good
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Component Selection, R- deraileur makes noise
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

After being out of biking for many years decided it was time to buy a new bike and ride again. I decided on the Trek 7300 for the comfort ride because of prior back surgery. First thing I noticed when I brought it home was a constant ticking noise coming from the chain or rear derailleur. Took it back to the dealer, he said the cables had stretched and made adjustments to the derailleur. Next ride I noticed the same noise but worse in the lowest front crank gear. I've ridden over 450 miles and had the bike back to the dealer 3 times and the problem has not been fixed. The dealer has replaced the chain and cassette and said that's the best he can do. In addition, I've noticed that shifting is not always smooth. The first 2 gears on the cassette are geared for climbing mountains or something and are useless to me. The 24 speeds have turned into 18 and I'm ashamed to ride in certain gears from all the noise from the derailleur. My prior bike is a 20+ years old; it's much quieter and smoother when shifting. The front fork and seat post suspension doesn't really dampen road bumps that well, so don't count on that. I thought Trek was top of the line, but after doing research found you can get more for your money from other bike manufacturers. I'm looking around for new bikes for my wife and I, and one thing for sure is they won't be from Trek.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike. I'd buy it again.
By SmileyVerified Reviewer from Dublin, Georgia USA on 5/11/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

The only thing surpassing this bike's looks is the ride. I love it! It is well balanced and smooth shifting. While it is not the lightest bike, compared to my old department store bike it feels like a feather. It shifts very smoothly and hauls pretty good. I can routinely hit 20 - 22 MPH without a lot of effort. I have not had it off road much but the times I have been on bumpy stretches of highway it handled it very well. The trigger shifters are awesome and were the main reason I decided on the 7300 over the 7200. You can't go wrong with either bike but in my opinion the 7300 is worth the extra bucks.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Definitely Bought the Right Bike For Me!
By SmileyVerified Reviewer from Dublin, Georgia on 5/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I spent months looking into all types of bikes. I have been riding a department store type (Eddie Bauer) for years and finally decided to take the plunge and move upscale in my equipment. Man, am I glad I bought the Trek 7300. This bike is beautiful! The only thing surpassing its looks is the quality of the ride. When I am riding it the only sound I hear is the sound of the wheels on the pavement. It is so quiet. The balance is fantastic and it is super responsive. I have yet to find a riding scenario that I could not easily conquer. With the 24 gear options any hill can be easily negotiated in a quick fashion. Straight aways are a blast as this bike will haul. I've been up to 32 MPH on it on a slight down slope but can routinely hit 25 MPH without much effort on flat roads. The only negative is that it is addicting. I cannot stay off the bike. I want to ride all the time. It has been quite a leap from my cheap bike days. If I had known the difference I would have been on a Trek a long time ago. I bought mine from, [...] All in all, a great experience.

 
I Love This Bike!!
By HarryVerified Reviewer from Metropolitan Washington DC Area on 4/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Repair, Easy to ride, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Off-Road Trails, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

My Girlfriend and I had the urge to get bikes and start enjoying the wonderful weather, ever since we got dumped with 3 feet of snow in the Metropolitan DC area. My girlfriend got the 7100 and I got the 7300.

We rode the bikes on neighborhood roads, and we will be going into some light off-road paths, mainly at the C&O canal in Virginia and Maryland. The 7100 and especially the 7300 were a perfect fit for what we were looking for. The bikes were comfortable enough to ride for miles.

The things that are great about the 7100 and especially the 7300 are how light they are compared to other hybrid bikes that we tried, including the Gary Fisher Zebrano. Between the GF Zebrano and the Trek 7300, the 7300 felt more responsive for me. I also enjoyed how much more adaptive the 7300 was on bumpy road surfaces and slightly off-road surfaces.

I guess the one thing that is not so great about this bike is how durable it is. Looks like I won't be getting another bike for a long time! ;) However, I am using the 7300 as a trainer to get into road bikes and eventually triathalon bikes.

I found this bike as a GREAT starter for my ultimate goal. Plus the price for the bike is very reasonable for the amount of quality you are getting.

I would highly recommend the 7300 for avid enthusiasts that ride often and ride on bumpy roads/light off-roading. Otherwise, if you are just getting into the scene and are looking for a similar bike, I would highly recommend the 7100.

Thank you Trek!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving the bike
By Biker BabeVerified Reviewer from San Jose CA on 3/30/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I just started riding a few months ago, and chose this bike after test riding dozens of bikes at about 8 local stores. The first Trek I tried out was so good that it simply became a matter of choosing the right one for me.

As a 57 year old woman who had not been biking for about 20 years, I wanted a bike with upright handlebars that was easy to shift. This fit the bill perfectly, and I find that I am now going on 30 mile rides with a local group and taking some decent sized hills. The bike is great on both paved and gravel paths. Last week I rode 3 days in a row and did 60 miles. This bike is making me into an enthusiastic cyclist because it is so much fun to ride.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am pleased with the quality and ride
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Tucson on 2/27/2010
Pros:
Adjustability, Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I'm 64, 5"8" 165lbs. Bike fits my size well and is easily adjustable. I ride 6-9 miles 4-5 days a week all on pavement and with some modest hills. Bike gearing is great for that 1 mile hill and the gear changes USUALLY are seamless - but it does seem to jump a gear when chain under tension when peadling at load up hill. Tires roll well with minimal drag. Did put heavy duty tubes and a thorn guard on the wheels. Breaks are very responsive. I have a 1995 Gary Fisher Alfresco as well and it is not as good a bike as the 7300.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Quality for the Price
By Henry from Northwest Jersey on 11/19/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Packed path, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

At 65 I'm riding five to eight miles per day around town for exercise, though I have ridden it on some longer road trips of twenty or thirty miles. It handles rough pavement and hard gravel well, but don't plan on using it on rocks, mud or sand. The only times that I have ever used the low "granny" ring is on hills that are long enough to test my stamina.

I'm 6'7", 250, and after almost 600 miles, I have no complaints about the quality of its components. It's not a road bike and it's not a mountain bike, but it is solid, fairly light and a pleasure to ride.

[10 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor Quality [...]
By DanDVerified Reviewer from Williamsport, Maryland on 9/12/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Frame
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7300:

I use the bike on paved paths and some road riding. The bike developed a problem with the headset becoming loose and a loud creaking noise at the area where the handlebar joins the stem. This occured after only one month of riding. The dealer discovered there was a factory recall on the bike due to an assembly issue. The bike was in the shop for five weeks waiting for a part from Trek. I picked the bike up and there are still problems with the handlebar creaking when any weight is put on it.

Trek Response: The 2009 model did have a recall. More information here: http://www.trekbikes.com/pdf/recalls/09_Trek_SPA_Fork_Recall.pdfWe're following up with this customer to help resolve the issue.
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.