Buy the 7100 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7100 image
 
(based on 73 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Hybrid
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 73 reviews)
99% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(7), Comfortable(11), Durable(54), Good components(7), Great components(37)
Cons:
Heavy(8)
Best Uses:
Casual riding(3), Commuting(50), Leisurely rides(14), Light riding(7), Off-road(8)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(13), Casual/ recreational(53), Weekend warrior(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(7)
 
I love this bike! Time to break it in.
By DawgkechaVerified Reviewer from Debrecen, Hungary on 6/19/2011
Pros:
Durable, Versatile
Cons:
Pedals
Best Uses:
Pavement, Road Trip
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I purchased my 7100 in Debrecen, Hungary. I've been riding it for one year. Never very far, mainly for errands. It's been perfect in this city of potholes and curbs. The shifting and braking are smooth, precise and natural feeling. The pedals are my only complaint. They were cheap plastic and broke very easily. I replaced them with decent alloy pedals.

I'm about to give this bike a real test. I will ride for over 2000k through parts of Italy, France and Belgium over two months. It means putting on racks, panniers, etc. We'll see how it goes, but after a year with my favorite bike to date, I'm riding with confidence.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Bike!
By bicyclechickVerified Reviewer from Lethbridge Alberta on 4/20/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I use this bike every day during the summer. I've had it for about a year now, and it still works like the day I bought it. The only thing I don't like about it, is it is a little heavy. The brakes work fantastic, I have never had any problem with the chain or tires.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Purchase!
By AshleyVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 3/9/2011
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I am a 21 year old woman. I bought this upon graduating high school. I typically ride it on bike paths and on roads though I have taken adventure paths and ridden on gravel paths and dirt paths. Sometimes I'll get angsty and do some laps around my lawn. All in all, this bike is fantastic! Great comfort and easy to use. I've had it for a few years and the only problem I had is the chain guard to the spokes broke off. I typically ride around 20 miles at a fast pace through the countrysides and this bike is perfect for that! I'm even going to "adventurize" this bike with saddles and go on a cycling trip. Would recommend it. I'm 5'9'' and 120 pounds and it fits me great. I feel in complete control when I ride. The handling is excellent and stable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By Turtle from Vienna, Va on 2/20/2011
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road, Smooth Ride
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I use this bike to commute by trail back and forth to work, 20 miles a day on a trail and it's yet to give me any problems after easily 300+ miles.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Middle-aged fatboy loves this bike
By StevePVerified Reviewer from Northern Illinois on 11/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I have not ridden in many years, but my sons are now of the age to ride and loving it, so I pulled out my old Firenze GL5000 road bike from storage, put new tires/tubes on it, gave it the once over, and started the summer. However, it really isn't a very good bike. :)

In looking at many options online, and in big box stores, I settled on Trek for a variety of reasons. I went to the local bike shop, and couldn't be happier with the level of sales and support offered there.

In the end, after discussing a variety of options, I ended up going with this Trek 7100, 2010 model. Having ridden it now for several weeks with my son I couldn't be happier with it.

I am not a racer. I am not a touring person. I wanted something for casual riding, in the back streets in our subdivision and surrounding area, and thankfully there are some really great bike paths in the area. Today I decided to commute to work... It's about 6 miles by car, 8 miles on a nice bike route with some streets and some paths. I enjoyed it very much.

The bike is very comfortable to ride, even for a 6'2" 275lb middle-aged fatboy like myself. Too bad the weather doesn't last all year here for bike riding, but I will look forward to many more miles on this bike next year.

Do yourself a favor, visit your Trek dealer, ride this bike, ride others, make an educated choice. This was quite a bit more than the "big box" store bikes, but I feel it was worth every penny, and the support of a local bike shop is something you just can't get from a big box store.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Excellent purchase for the Middle-Ager"
By Jimmey RichVerified Reviewer from Central Texas on 10/1/2010
Pros:
COMFORT, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

As a 50-something getting back into cycling after owning the same Schwinn street bike for over 30 years. This bike was a great step into the 21st Century.
This is the fifth Bike that I've ever owned and would recommend it to others.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for general use
By Alex from South Florida on 9/19/2010
Pros:
Basic riding, Durable, Easily maintained
Cons:
A little heavy, A little slow for me
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercise, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

My mom bought me this bike a year/year and a half ago as a replacement for the 16-year old one that had been hers which I had been using. It was a really nice bike in consideration to what I was using, so I was happy with it in most ways. Now I use it everyday to ride short distances around my neighborhood and for exercise. I don't go offroad with it but it handles well on roads and even after the year that I have had it it still feels like I just got it out of the shop yesterday. It is easy to maintain, just an occasional hose down, air up, and maybe a bit of oiling and its all set. Although I do feel like maybe a better choice might have been one of Trek's urban bikes, which still have a similar design and price but probably go a bit faster. Don't get me wrong, its not slow, I just wouldn't mind sometimes being able to go a bit faster then when I'm pedaling full speed on gear 7. :P
Would recommend almost all Trek bikes to anyone because of their reliability and durability, and I also have had some experience with their mountain bikes on my trips out west.

 
great bike
By Kevin from New York on 8/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

i use my trek 7100 for nice bike trips around new york city. It has a very comfortable upright position, although the seat is a little bit too big for my taste i had another seat to replace it. This bike can go fast when you want it to and also slow the brakes are exellent and the bike is very good on climbs and that is important in hilly parts of manhattan and over bridges. Overall this is a great bike you get alot for your money

 
Just a fantastic & comfortable ride!!!!
By Brad from Long Beach, MS on 7/31/2010
Pros:
Comfort riding position, Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Not buying it sooner
Best Uses:
Just having fun, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

In 2004 I had a total hip replacment. My doctor recomended biking.I bought a cruiser. It was the competaters brand, it was rather heavy and bulky. It was lost in Hurricane Katrina. As an avid mountain biker in the past I started looking at biking again. I knew mountain biking was out because from 2006 until August 2009 I had both my knees replaced, my right hip re-replaced and a total left shoulder reconstruction. Thats where the local Trek dealer came in. I had purchased 2 expensive bikes in the past from this dealer and they were very knowledgable of everything they sold. Knowing of all my surgeries, they showed me the Trek Hybrid 7100 series. I was amazed at the ride, performance, control and most important of all, the amazing comfort. I've been riding every day for the last 3 weeks and I can tell you I am feeling better every day. The only problem I have now is that I have to find someone to buy my 7100 so I can go back and pick up the 7500. It will probably be the last bike I will ever purchase. Thank Trek!!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very happy with this bike.
By ZacVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 7/16/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Great Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride
Cons:
Gear range
Best Uses:
Casual riding, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought the 7100 after my wife and I decided to get into cycling to find more ways to stay active. The last bike I rode was a GT Outpost Trail that I bought over 13 years ago. What a difference after having only ridden mountain bikes! I almost went with a mountain bike again, then realized I really wouldn't be doing any serious off road riding, and I'm very glad I went with the 7100. It's very smooth around town and the upright riding position is great for anyone that has back issues (myself included). I noticed some people have listed weight as a con, but I imagine that's relative to what you're comparing it to....compared to my GT, the 7100 is very light! The only drawback I've found is that the highest gearing doesn't seem to be enough when I'm cruising downhill...I usually just have to let it coast. I was a little worried living in San Diego, where there's a lot of big hills, that the bike wouldn't have low enough gearing to make it comfortable but the 7100 seems more than adequate there...in fact, I rarely have to shift all the way down no matter how steep the hill. To wrap it up, it makes a great bike for the casual rider and I definitely think it'll make a good commuter (about 3 miles each way for me) once I start using it for that purpose. Trek seems to make a very good product, I'll definitely buy another one again (though I don't plan on having to for a long time!)

 
Great riding position
By Jeb from Colorado, USA on 6/6/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I picked up a 7100 about a month ago from a local shop. They were getting rid of last years models in favor of new models so I got a great deal on a brand I trust. I used to ride a Trek road bike religiously but with a rash of back injuries the riding position just stopped cutting it for me. The local shop recommended one of these bike path/hybrids to me and I have to say that it couldn't be better. The upright position that I can ride in really helps out the lower back allowing me to ride farther than I can put in on the road bike anymore. I've found that as equipped with the standard tires it is a bit slower than I liked, but it does handle unpaved trails and the occasional WTH! dodge off road onto gravel shoulders a lot better than the road bike ever did. I'm planning on going back to the local shop and trading up on this as I find myself riding a lot more than I initially planned to again, and feel that the 7500 might fit my ride style a bit better.

 
Great bike, Glad I got a Trek : )
By Earth's ChildVerified Reviewer from GAIA on 6/3/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This is a GREAT bike for getting back into cycling, or if you want a bike that functions well without the high price tag of the others. Its a smooth ride with a nice sitting posture, which makes it much more comfortable. This is a True hybrid and the only thing that's irritating is mine didn't come with a kick stand. I know I know......... some people don't like kickstands because they look bad or something... but laying your bike down or balancing it against the wall gets old quick.. Other than that It would be complete if it came with front and rear fenders....Anyways this bike is awesome for the price. For the people debating on this bike or a similar bike with better components.. I say get this.. ride it out for a few years or more, and up grade some parts of the bike if you need. All moving parts of any bicycle will eventually wear out, so start basic and upgrade if needed be.

 
just a so Sweet Ride
By batsdude[@]Verified Reviewer from imaginary beach on Floridas west coast on 5/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Component Selection
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I tossed away my drivers license over a decade ago. I learned to ride when I was four, and 54 years later I'm still burning up roads and trails. I've owned mine for 3 1/2 years, and its still going strong. There is NO other bike I'd have than a Trek. The weight, balance, and performance is absolutely wonderful on my 7100. I would say "superb", but the rear derailleur, a Sram, does leave a lot to be desired. Its about as cheap & poorly made selection as Trek could've installed on it. The plastic 'junkiness' of it just never seems to tune exactly right, and I do have to reconfigure the adjustment on the Sram about bi-weekly. It is, however, the only weak point on the entire machine. I am going to replace it in the near future with, a better designed unit. But the Sram will have to do until I hit a better income bracket.
When I talk bikes with people, I always tell them to go with Trek.
Treks are NOT just built- they're engineered!

 
versitile bike
By Dave K..Verified Reviewer from Alabama on 5/4/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This is a very comfortable bike which is up to the task for many uses. When I first bought it a couple of years ago I used it for commuting. It's good for light off-road use and for riding with the kids. This spring I put 700x25 tires and clipless pedals on it and I've been doing road riding on it, with rides up to 40 miles so far. I give up a little speed over the true road bikes but I gain comfort which allows me to enjoy staying on it longer.

The nice things about it are comfort which comes from the front suspension, great saddle, seatpost, and upright position. The triple crank in front makes it good for climbing. One thing I noticed is that the lowest gear in back is a 34 which is much larger than the next lowest (26 or so) which makes it possible to get up any hill. This bike is reliable as I've never had trouble shifting or with the brakes.

The only downside I've found is that this bike is a little heavy for the kind of road riding I'm into now. If I continue this kind of riding I might go with a true road bike but right now I'm really enjoying this bike.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Bike is simply AMAZING.
By MinabudVerified Reviewer from Stanford, CA on 4/15/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Smooth Ride, Smooth shifting
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Casual riding, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This bike got me addicted to biking in general. I am 27, never learned how to ride a bike and recently moved to work on a University Campus and caught the biking bug.

This bike was a great starting point price wise. And let me tell ya, after 2 hours alone with the bike I've been riding it all the time for 8 months now. Saying its comfortable doesn't do it justice, it is beyond comfortable. The stock saddle is really nice. Suspension is very smooth and it handles like a dream. I've even taken it off road and was amazed at how stable it is.

And believe me when I say they bike is durable, I am 320 pound guy and I ride it everywhere and like I mentioned I even take it off road on bumpy rides and never had a problem with it. If that doesn't tell ya it durable I don't know what will!

This Bike, its comfy, durable, smooth, and very affordable and looks very sharp.

 
My second 7100
By BackinVAVerified Reviewer from Alexandria Virginia on 3/21/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This is the second 7100 that I have purchased. The first one is on the left coast and I'm on the right coast. I used to ride Trek Police bikes and have great confidence in the Trek product. Since I needed to buy a bike, I didn't hesitate to stay with the 7100. It is a well designed quick bike that gives me the response and control I need. I added a light, a speedometer and hit the road. I recommend this bike to anyone who is a moderate to heavy commuter or paved trail rider.

 
Great Daily Rider
By NapleszenVerified Reviewer from Naples, Florida on 3/2/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

Great bike for daily commuting, I do about 40 miles a week. Easy shifting and plenty of gearing for windy days and staying out of traffic. Only drawback is the weight, but it is a lower end bike so its to be expected.

 
Turns into a great commuter
By Ah...ClemVerified Reviewer from NE WI on 11/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

With a few tweaks and additions this is one of the finest commuter bikes I've ridden.
I've had mine for 6 years. Since almost all my riding is on pavement the first thing I did was lose the 35mm tires in favor of higher pressure 28mm and the bike came alive! If you think your 7100 is too heavy, try it. I added fenders, a rack and lights and I could not be happier.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
My 2nd Trek in 16 Years
By Dave ShillingVerified Reviewer from North Canton, Ohio on 11/17/2009
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I first bought a Trek in 1993. 7000 Mountain Bike. Ran great for 16 years. My son has it in Grad School in North Carolina and it's still going. I wanted a little faster bike and this is what they recommended. I've had it since April and it's a Gem!!! Only in loose gravel do I have to be alert. For city riding it's really good. Ernie's Bikes in North Canton knows what they are doing!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE MY BIKES
By TREK BIKERVerified Reviewer from NORTH OF BOSTON on 10/3/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, GREAT ON OUR BAD ROADS, Lightweight
Cons:
NO 19 5" FRAME
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

MY WIFE FOUND THE FIRST 7100 AND WE BOUGHT IT. LATER I TRIED IT, AND WOW. I HAD TO GET ONE SO WE BOTH HAVE ONE AND ARE EXERCISING EVERYDAY. I HAVE BEEN RIDING 15-20 MILES A DAY. AT 65 YEARS YOUNG, I HAVE FOUND SOMETHING GOOD FOR ME AND ENJOYABLE. I HAD A MOUNTAIN BIKE BEFORE BUT DIDN'T RIDE IT OFTEN. IN FACT HADN'T RODE IT FOR MAYBE 8 YEARS. THIS BIKE HAS ME ENJOYING THE OUTSIDE AND EXERCISING WHILE DOING IT. THE EXERCISE PART IS ONE OF THE EAZIEST BECAUSE OF THIS BIKE! LOVE IT!!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike!
By creativemurphVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 9/25/2009
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
A little heavy, Aluminum frame
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I've had this bike for a handful of years and I've never had a problem with it. I take it in for "check ups" at a local bike shop and they always tell me its in great working condition. I've never had to replace a part or have something fixed.
The bike is great for pavement and trails. It could be better on rougher terrian but its an overall great cross over bike.
The only complaint I have is that its a bit heavy. But I have an older version so the newer versions might be lighter. And its aluminum so you have to watch how much it stays out in the rain.
Its an easy to ride and a great buy for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easier to tell what I can't do on 7100
By TheDogVerified Reviewer from Estonia on 9/15/2009
Pros:
Durable, Perfect
Best Uses:
Commuting, For life, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

As life isn't "black & white" but changing all the time, I decided for hybrid bike. 7100 because it had good price and it was the only big bike on sale. Or course I did quite a research in Internet before buying...
Most of the time I use it for commuting. In Tallinn, which is well-known for it's bad roads. And some cycling roads.
Sometimes I go on highways where I need to be quick (for a hundred kilometer distance or more). Then on gravel roads which sometimes are worse than off road... and sometimes on nice forest paths. Even on soft and sandy forest tracks I'm happy with that bike. And not tired even after whole day on it. And I'm not professional...
Just yesterday I carried a pack (690x1190x710mm 25,7kg)on my bike's luggage carrier for about 10 kilometers. And I was riding my bike!
Today I rode to work again and no problems occurred.
Problems found? Not yet, but I'll keep searching :)

Images shared by: TheDog

Before 5-day biking trip

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the buck!
By K&BVerified Reviewer from Tulsa, OK on 8/29/2009
Pros:
A real pleasure to pedal, Deceptively fast, Good componets, Solid feel, Very smooth ride
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

My wife and I are just getting back into cycling, we had been riding Cannondale H300s until our son was born 8 years ago. We rode the Treks first, but took time to ride Giant and Specialized bikes as well. When we came back to the Treks we were sold they seemed to move so much easier and were so much more comfortable than the other brands. We are casual riders and our 8 year son is just learning so the Trek 7100 Hybrid is perfect for the streets and bike trails where we ride.
We felt the Trek was the best mix of comfort and performance for our style of riding, my wife especially like her Robins egg blue Trek 7100 WSD.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
bad bike
By chrisVerified Reviewer from southborough on 8/28/2009
Pros:
Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Component Selection, Weak Frame
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

First day i went off a small bump and gear two stopped working. I got it fixed for 25 dollars and next time i went riding the spokes got out of place and the brake kept squeaking. This bike is terrible!

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just What I Needed!
By Bike Therapy!Verified Reviewer from Washington, DC on 8/6/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Fast and Comfy, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off Road, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

It was about time I got rid of my 16 year old mountain bike that I used for road and off road paths and switch to a more comfortable, fast hybrid. No more neck and back aches and I can ride forever with my comfy Trek 7100. Learn how to use the twist shifters properly and they are great. Only thing I can find as a con is the front suspension doesn't seem to do much. All in all...bicycle therapy at its best!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!
By Maui WarlockVerified Reviewer from Maui, Hawaii on 7/10/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Commuting, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I just bought my 7100 today and I'm loving it. The bike shifts really smoothly, its comfortable and feels solid on the road. I was looking at different bike shops before purchasing this bike---all it took was just taking it out for a spin. When I asked the shop worker what was the difference between Trek bikes and the others that I was looking at, he said it was like comparing a Lexus to a Kia....he was right! I'm suspecting however, that I'll be buying a pure off-road bike later on down the line in addition to my 7100, just for the fun of it. Trek bikes rock!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
2nd time owner
By Anne from Baltimore on 6/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I had the 2002 version that was stolen on a few days ago. Since I had to shop for a new bike I took the opportunity to test out a couple others. Such a great bike I ended up with another- same model and all.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for the Money
By Fish from Toledo, ohio on 6/17/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought this Bike to cycle with others who ride Trek bikes. As someone who hasn't riden in 25 years I find it a joy to ride every weekend on our 30 mile treks. A really comfortable and good looking bike to ride. I am just preparing for my first 60+mile ride in a few weeks and I am sure it will be enjoyable. A great bike for the money.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Great Bike to Have !
By ronlhodgesVerified Reviewer from Midland,Texas on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight, Love the RootBeer color
Cons:
Needed a seat cushion
Best Uses:
Commuting, Crusing, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I shopped for quality and found it in the TREK bikes ! I love this bike and can't wait to ride it every chance i get ! Only put about 15-miles in two weeks . Bought the wife the 7100WSD and she loves this bike also ! Plan to use it alot in the future . Heart Doc recommends 15-miles/week . Price was Great and i love the RootBeer/Ecru color and the wifes Robin Eggs Blue color !

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this bike.
By Stan from Mustang, OK on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I was expecting to pay more for a good bike, but the color was so great I had to have it. I am 64 and like to ride for fun and exercise With my trips covering about 12 miles. I like to ride at night in the summer and have installed a custom light system running 2 50 watt halagen lights that realy get people's attention. I have no complaints about the bike, but doing it again I would choose the 17 inch frame instead of the 15 inch. I love this bike.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wanted A Hybird!!!!!!
By J.W.Verified Reviewer from Clifton,New Jersey on 11/18/2008
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

Always wanted a TREK for the first time. I was looking for something for casual road commuting, this was it,not to exspensive,like the unusual ROOT BEER COLORING, not for riding up hills,otherwise pretty close to perfect!!!

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wanted a new bike but didn't know what.
By jeffcVerified Reviewer from bradenton florida on 10/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I use this bike to commute on a daily bais. Last new bike was a 1974 Schwinn LeTour that I still have in good condition.
This Trek is more comfortable on the bumps and grinds of commuting to work. It is amost as fast too.
Bike is a year and a half old with about 2000 miles. Dealer offered a free 30 day checkup. Didn't take it in. No reason!

[8 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
A lot of bike for the money!
By PWillieVerified Reviewer from Dunnellon, Florida Withlacoochee Trail on 10/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

First real bike store bike. Upgraded from department store mountain bike at a recommendation from an avid biking friend. Can't believe the difference! Did not enjoy riding before, now I can't wait to ride this bike. I bought this bike about 6 weeks ago and have ridden about 200 miles to date. Great bike for rails to trails and casual neighborhood riding. My wife bought a 7100WSD the same day and now we ride every chance we get. I am 61 years old and really love the exercise. We have ridden 20 miles with ease. Do yourself a favor and buy this bike! I also bought my daughter a 7100WSD so she could ride with us too. Trek sure knows how to build a great bike.

[13 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bike I've Owned
By BillVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, WI on 9/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Priced Right, Sized Right
Best Uses:
Alley Cruising, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

Almost all of my employees bike to work, and they have been bugging me to get a bike. I've owned bikes in the past, and always found them lacking - I'm 6' 3" tall and weigh about 280 - which makes it hard to find a durable bike. I've found it in this one. And for the price I got it at it was a steal. I've ridden it for only a couple of days, but my best guess is that I've put about 60 miles on it so far and am loving it. My legs hurt, I'm sleeping like a log and I don't remember being this hungry in years. It's amazing. Once I got on the bike, I found that sizing them correctly has been my biggest fault in discovering the fun of biking. This fits me perfectly. The manual is easy to understand, even if you aren't technically gifted and the number of adjustments has made the bike fit me like a glove. I can't express how happy I am.

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice comfortable ride at a nice price
By Kentucky MattVerified Reviewer from Kentucky on 9/8/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons:
No Trigger Shifter Option
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I use this bike mostly for riding around the city as transportation, pleasure, and exercise. This has got to be one of the most comfortable bikes that I have ever ridden. I do wish that I could have gotten trigger shifters rather than grip shifters on it, but at the price I can handle the inconvenience.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
My First Ride
By NotLanceVerified Reviewer from Fayetteville, NY on 8/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to ride
Cons:
For a beginner none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

Our four year old wanted to ride her bike with daddy. I now use it to ride to the grocery store, hardware, and whenever I need to exercise. For the money, this bike rocks. GET A HELMET!!!

[6 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
7100 is close to perfect for beginners
By PedalButtVerified Reviewer from Near Harrisburg, PA on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road, Looks Great
Cons:
Heavy, Needs that 8th gear
Best Uses:
Club rides, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

Good for rail-to-trail up to easy C rides. I got this bike August 2007 to start biking. It will probably still be solid in 20 years. No muss, no fuss with this beast; just point it and pedal. Compared to a cross bike (my next toy?) this one is pretty heavy and you will feel that on hills if you are not an experienced (a.k.a. strong) rider. The gap from 1st to 2nd is huge for the beginning rider if you face any kind of grades or hills. I would strongly suggest bumping up to the 7200 to get that extra gear in the cassette. After 850 miles of 'character building' that gear doesn't matter so much unless the hill is steep. If you don't get caught up in the faster-further thing this could easily be the only bike you ever need. It may not be quite perfect, but I'm sure not going to give it back!!! Even if I get a cross or road bike I like this one plenty well enough to keep it as my backup.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good all around bike
By biking dadVerified Reviewer from Shrewsbury MA on 8/13/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value
Best Uses:
Commuting, Family Rides, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

upgrade for my wife from old Schwinn hybrid. More upright relaxed than the 12 year old bike and with a little bit of suspension to make it more comfortable. Great for family rides, and would work well for commutes. Much better than sporting good / department store bikes at just a little more cost (if that)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my Trek
By TubbyVerified Reviewer from Pittsgrove NJ on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought my Trek 7100 after using my old department store mountain bike to commute to work every day for a month. I thought a bike was a bike. That was until I road my old bike to a Trek dealer in search of a new seat (saddle). After one ride on a 20" 2008, I was hooked. It's been a week since and I can't stop riding this bike. I have put over a hundred miles on it already and can't wait until my next ride. Anyone out there thinking about purchasing this bike, should just do it. With current gas prices, pollution and the climbing rate of obesity, it is a great solution to our problems. Oh yeah, and really fun.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!
By Nol from Grand Haven, Michigan on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Awesome, Durable, Fun to ride, Quick
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I love this bike. I bought it in April and have already put more than 1500 miles on the bike. I ride it to and from work, to friends' houses, and just for fun. I ride it every day. I would happily recommend this bike to anybody.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By 2timetreker from Palm Harbor Fl on 7/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Routing of cables
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I use my 7100 primarily for riding on the Pinellas Trail (rail to trail). I typically do 20 miles a day and stretch it out to 30 on occasions. I did add a pair of mini clips to the pedals and added a rack on the back. I bought the bike to replace a 1989 Trek 1100 that I rode all over the place (I gave it to a friends son). I bought Trek again for the durability, ease of maintenance and the great ride. I'd recommend it to anyone who is doing urban trail riding.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
7100 a great all around bike
By Brad from SW Florida on 7/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

The 7100 hybrid is a good all around bike. I have owned mine now for about a year and a half. I ride about 3 to 4 times a week approx 3 miles. Nice and tight frame, good brakes, easy shifting. Definitely recommend this bike

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smooth Rider !!!!
By waggVerified Reviewer from Louisville, Kentucky on 7/8/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Could use a bit wider tir
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I'm a city/back-road rider. The 7100 is a Great general uses bike for this type of wheeling. I might like a little wider tire

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By SpeedycVerified Reviewer from Xenia, Oh on 7/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought this bike for myself two years ago, so when looking for a bike for my daughter decided to buy her one also. She loves it. I bought her daughter a 7000. They use their bikes to ride on the local bike trails and around town. Biking has once again become a family outing. I will be buying two more for my other daughter and my son.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By Zakk Wylde/Randy Rhoads FanaticVerified Reviewer from Connecticut, U.S.A. on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought this to take my 2 year old daughter on bike rides with me in a Co-Pilot seat attached to the back of the bike. It is a pleasure to ride and is very easy with the extra weight of the child seat with my daughter in it. Very nice riding and very comfortable.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Ride!!!
By DocVerified Reviewer from D'Iberville, MS on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I love this bike. This is the first bike I ever owned that was not from the dept store. I am so glad my wife gave it to me for our anniversary. I am getting into riding and love the feel of the bike. I feel very secure while riding. The quality of the parts really shine when you are cruising down the road. I have the blue and silver. I would have prefered white, but I will wear this one out first and then get another. Hopefully, white.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Quality,Great Price and Smooth Ride
By Mr. HozVerified Reviewer from Northwest Pennsylvania on 6/14/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Dealer Support, Great Components, Great Price, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercise, Local Novice Races, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I purchased the 7100 after doing much homework on different brands of hybrids. I use it mostly for local in-town trips in place of my car and sometimes enter it into local novice & beginner races.
I also use it for weekend rides of about 50 miles or less with no problems and it is very smooth and fast compared to my 12 year old mountain bike.
This is a great quality bike which is miles ahead of the "big box store" bikes and at a very reasonable price for the quality and components.

[6 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the price!
By mmhartzVerified Reviewer from Knoxville, TN on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Greenways, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought the 7100 in Dec 2006 and have thoroughly enjoyed riding it. It is a very durable bike and has held up well under heavy use, including a lot of cold weather biking. I normally ride a minimum three times a week on greeways, usually 15-18 miles each trip, recently 25 miles, and it handles extremely well. I also recently rode in a 53-mile Tour de Cure event, and it did awesome (I don't have a road bike, so didn't have much choice.) It was very smooth during the 4 hr 10 min ride, and I didn't have any problems going up and down the hills of East TN. Very stylish and comfortable bike. Easy shifting. Good responsiveness.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for almost anything!
By MelonVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 5/31/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
Hard to see
Best Uses:
Commuting, Cycle Cross Racing, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This was my first nice bike in a long time. I don't see what another reviewer is saying about all the differences between this and the 7200. Except for some minor components, there is not much difference in riding them (wheels are the big difference, but you can change those, these are great, though). For the price, this is a fantastic, smooth-riding, great-shifting, all-purpose bike. I do road riding and some light path, so this was the perfect pick. On bumpy roads, it handles like a champ and corners quite well The fit and finish is fantastic. I picked mine up as an '08 model on clearance in the 20" frame (just right for 5'10" guys) and I couldn't be happier. I'm sure I'll get years of use out of it!

[3 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
great bike!
By vido from rushford minnesota on 5/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

i ride this bike everyday and i've never had one i like more!
GREAT BIKE!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bike!
By Fitz from Madison, Wisconsin, USA on 5/23/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, light trails, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought this bike a few weeks ago, and it was definitely a great buy! I use it to commute to work and for recreational weekend riding, and it suits this purpose perfectly. The bike is lightweight, easy to change gears, and very stable on bumpy roads, sidewalks, and light trails. The seat is a little bit uncomfortable, but with some adjusting, is just fine.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Cycle!
By JBVerified Reviewer from New Orleans, LA on 5/22/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Cycle Cross Racing, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought this cycle to replace the Trek mountain cycle that was destroyed during Katrina 32 months ago. The suspension is very good but I might change to beefier tires help with a better riding experience on the bad streets in the Cresent City. I really like turning the hand grips to shift gears. I enjoy the ride so much that I am happy to get out and excerise more often. I have also been surprised at the compliments that I have received from folks admiring how good the bike looks(silver/blue).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I Love My New Bike!
By Amy G.Verified Reviewer from River Falls, WI on 5/14/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I registered for a LiveStrong bike event and didn't have a good working bike so I went to my local shop, told them what I was looking for, and they fixed me up with this. I absolutely love it! I haven't been on a bike in 15 years, but I am finding every excuse to take my new bike for a ride!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
First time Trek Owner
By shelleyVerified Reviewer from Pensacola Florida on 5/9/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I just boght my Trek 7100 today. I tested out several and this was the most comfortable fit and smooth ride. I'm a "new" biker and plan on using my bike to ride with my husband and kids and to get in shape. I have NEVER been on a more comfortable bike, I can see myself putting many many miles on this bike. It's also very cool looking, my neighbor is now off to buy a bike after seeing mine ;)

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this bike. It's fast and simple.
By Tish lopez from Sunnyvale, CA on 5/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I love this bike. It's simple and easy to use. Comfortable.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!!!
By Bob from Palm Harbor Fl. on 4/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

love my 7100,got one for me an one for my wife in 2004, great bike!!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Insane Bike for the casual rider
By joey z from ohio on 4/14/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike paths, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

It has a smooth comfortable ride and the shifting is great. For the price a great bike. Cheap department store bikes are useless compared to this.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Bike
By Dave from Long Beach, CA on 3/22/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I can't say enough great things about this bike. It's well-built with quality components and is stylish to boot. I ride it each Sunday to fetch the paper and also as a form of exercise whenever I can. I was a bit hesitant about the price and honestly didn't think it would hold me (read: I'm not a small guy). But riding it has helped me to lose weight and I've had no problems whatsoever. I look forward to each time I can ride it--it's fantastic!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
very nice bike- an all around winner
By The EdgeVerified Reviewer from northwest ohio on 3/20/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Need wider hand-grip
Best Uses:
Commuting, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

this bike is great means of transportation. comfortable enough for 25 mile rides. not sure yet why it's recommended for trails (narrow tires). i've ridden it 150 miles so far and i dont have any real complaints. very fast.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bicycle! Bicycle!
By D. ToneVerified Reviewer from Southern California on 3/3/2008
Pros:
Lightweight, Smooth Ride
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Beach cruising, Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I bought the Trek 7100 to get into shape and something I could cruise around with, nothing too serious. My last bike was a dept store cheapo and riding the Trek you can tell its a quality bike.

The upright riding position as well as the saddle is very comfortable. Combined with the front shock and seat suspension the 7100 is pratically a plush ride. The 700cc tires roll with relative ease and gets you up to speed quickly. The grip shifters are easy to operate though somewhat imprecise. This is just due to the fact that this is does not have trigger shifters.

I ride for at least 30 mins a day or 3 miles everyday. This bike is great to pedal around. To quote the song Bicycle Race by Queen: 'I love to ride my bicycle, I love to ride my bike...'

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bike for the money.
By ps from Pittsburgh on 12/29/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

My wife and I have had two since 2006. We ride mainly on rail trails. The bike is light weight yet rugged and comfortable enough for limestone paved trails. Smooth operation. There is really no downside to it. Highly recommend this for casual rider. Consider this instead of a cheap bike from the sporting goods store. This is a better value and [...]

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it!
By MitchVerified Reviewer from Springfield, NJ on 11/17/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seating
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I love this bike. Big, big difference from the cheap discount store bikes I've always bought. Well worth the difference in price.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly recommended! Love the new ride
By JP from Lubbock, Tx on 11/3/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I ride extensively daily and have always had lower priced bikes due to budget. I got my new Trek and haven't gotten off it yet. I knew the reputation of Trek and have wanted one for years, I was not let down. I love the gearing very smooth and clean shifting. I have just got it and already added a whole new dimension to my work out.

[3 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
A HECK OF A GOOD BIKE
By BILLVerified Reviewer from PITTSBURGH on 10/28/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I LOVE THIS BIKE...FOR THE MONEY IT CAN'T BE BEAT,

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I sure like mine!
By bobbysamd from Denver on 10/21/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I've had my '08 7100 for about two weeks. I hadn't ridden a bicycle in about thirty years but I took to my Trek immediately! I ride it primarily on improved bike and walking trails and on sidewalks. Great ride and handling, and excellent shifting. The gearing combination is excellent. Good brakes.

It's amazing how bikes have improved from the days of 10-speeds.

Excellent product. Highly recommended.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Highly Impressed
By VivVerified Reviewer from Lakewood, CA on 10/15/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

The bike gives handling confidence to the beginner or "haven't riden in a long time" rider. Talk about smooth riding! :)

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent bike for the price
By MJVerified Reviewer from Brown Deer Wisconsin on 10/4/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

It's been over 28 years since I rode a bike. I would recommend this bike to anyone who wishes to ride again.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for the Money
By mole2Verified Reviewer from Long Island, NY on 9/24/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I've owned this bike for a year and a half and ride it every day during the good weather for exercise. It replaced a Panasonic I had for 20 years. It is comfortable and easy riding. I would purchase this bike again.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike !
By JD from Washington DC on 9/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This is a great bike. I live in the city (DC) and I use it for for errands, my short commute to work and simple cruising/sightseeing. It rides great on rough city streets and gets up to speed with little effort. The upright riding position is perfect for taking in scenery or keeping an eye on traffic. I was surprise at how little it costs compared to the other bikes I was considering. If you're looking for a versatile, rugged, bike for errands, commuting and crusing bike paths then this it it !

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stupendous Bicycle
By UniversityRiderVerified Reviewer from Denton, Texas on 9/4/2007
Pros:
Balanced Suspension, Handles Well, Lightweight, Plush Feel
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Urban Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

This is a wonderful bike. I have had it for less than a week and I cannot stop riding. A Trek 7100 is a great all around bike for anyone who wants an upright riding position that is made for streets and sidewalks. The gears shift very smoothly, wonderful for going up hill. The thinner tires also create less rolling resistance and therefore make the bike a breeze to petal. Whether you are a first time buyer or an expert looking for inexpensive fun, this bike should definitely be on your list.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By rexVerified Reviewer from Bethalto, il. on 9/2/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easy Maunervability, Easy to shift, Lightweight, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

First new bike in 30 years. Good value for the money. Makes riding fun again.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent first bike
By RideVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 8/27/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

First bike in 30 years and very pleased. Comfortable and sturdy. Shifting is smooth and easy to learn. Good value for the money.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
"A well thought out bike for the buck"
By Jerry from Akron, Ohio on 8/21/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Smooth, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7100:

I had actually bought this bike for my girlfriend who broke her ankle (not on the bike) early in the summer. So I started riding it. I never had a "Hybrid" type bicycle, and realized it was exactly between my "upright" touring bike, and my "upright" full suspension bike. Excellent low rolling resistance, with exscellent cornering ability. The gear ranges are very well thought out and very usable.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.