Buy the 7000 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7000 image
 
(based on 53 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Hybrid
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 53 reviews)
98% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(5), Comfortable(5), Comfortable ride(4), Durable(38), Great components(32)
Cons:
Heavy(11), Poor off-road handling(4)
Best Uses:
Commuting(35), Leisurely rides(3), Light riding(3), Off-road(6), Pavement(36)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(14), Casual/ recreational(29), Weekend warrior(7)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
1200 miles first year, many more to go.
By DeepBlueVerified Reviewer from Hilliard, Ohio on 5/9/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I haven't had a bicycle since near my High School days (about 30 years ago now) but they keep adding links to the Rails-to-Trails here in Ohio and this is a great trail cruiser. I don't know much about bicycles and you will never see me out on the trails is spandex (personal choice there) but I did manage to put about 1,200 miles on the critter the first year out. Longest ride in a day was 57 miles on the various trails near Xenia, Ohio.

About time to hit the trails again here in Ohio now that the rains are giving us a break. I'll likely put another 1,200 or so on her this year.

I'm sure this isn't the best bike for everyone but for this 51 year old guy, it works, and I often pass the folks on bikes costing much more. I go for the ride, the scenery and the exercise. Get one and ride. It is holding up well for me construction and materials wise.

Sean,
On the trails in Ohio

Images shared by: DeepBlue

At the head of the Kokosing Gap Trail

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Impressed
By Oilers2TitansFanVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 4/6/2011
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

My wife and I both got the 7000 series as well as a trailor for our 1 year old son. We absolutely love the bikes and have rode 7 miles already on them. We haven't rode in a while but feel like they were really perfect for what we do. I will say if you go "offroad" unless it's packed dirt it isn't the easiest thing but will get the job done. To us they are light, shifts smoothly, and does more than we ask of it.
We haven't rode in years so our rear end has been sore from the seats but have been told by riders that we will get used to it.
We would absolutely tell anyone to go buy these bikes!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By RedLadyVerified Reviewer from Destin, FL on 2/15/2011
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I was having a hard time deciding on what I wanted out of my first 'real' bike. The 7000 was a great choice for me. It's not too heavy and glides well over paved roads, even does well in packed sand/grass/gravel. I may make a few upgrades in the near future, but overall this is a great bike for newbies.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
good bike
By pcdoctorVerified Reviewer from Brainerd, Minnesota on 12/8/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Low cost
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Pleasure riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bike in early June and proceeded to put 1300 miles on it from June to early August riding the bike trails we have near our town. It performed flawlessly during that time. Since I was putting so many miles on it, I decided to purchase a FX 7.7 as my need for speed overcame me. I was tempted to sell the 7000 but kept it to ride around town. It makes a great second bike for me when I don't want to take a long serious ride. It rides smooth and can withstand the bumpier terrain like curbs and transitions of in-town riding.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for the Money
By CDawgVerified Reviewer from Southeastern PA on 8/29/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike Path, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I had been riding a Trek Navigator 1.0 for the past year and it has been a great bike for getting back into riding again. However, as I found myself riding further and further, the Navigator's limitations were starting to become apparent. Looking for something a bit lighter and faster, I settled on a 2011 Trek 7000. The 7000 fit my budget and I haven't been disappointed. The upright posture of the 7000 is comfortable and the gearing makes climbing hills a breeze. Shifting is a smooth as silk. I did a 13 mile ride yesterday and the 7000 cruised along nicely and was a lot of fun to ride. The saddle is pretty comfortable, although not quite as cushy as the Navigator's. The 700x35 tires are a bit narrow for any serious off-roading but, for the occasional packed dirt or gravel road, the 7000 should be OK. The silver color of the 2011 7000 make it one nice-looking bike, too. I ride for the exercise and to keep my ailing knees moving, as well as running errands around town. The Trek 7000 fits the bill nicely. Trek's quality is top-notch. I highly recommend this bike.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the bike
By dog lover from West Rutland, VT on 7/31/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components, Lightweight, Well built
Best Uses:
Commuting, Family Riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

My wife and I were avid cyclist for many years. We wanted to start again and wanted an all round bike. I owned a trek 820 which I loved, my son is now using it in Boston, it still rides like brand new. Hopefully the 7000 will last as long. My wife and I love them.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Dependable, Comfortable, Great Bike.
By Mark @ Colleen from Wisconsin on 7/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I purchased two of these bikes one for me and one for my wife, we just love them. I commute to work and home. It's equally at home on the trail or on the road. Solid performer in both arena's. I have no negative feedback on these bikes. 3rd year no problems.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Jack-of-all-trades, master of price
By Mike VillanoVerified Reviewer from Upland, California on 7/28/2010
Pros:
Fun to ride, Good for modifications, Good price value
Cons:
Not enough gear, Plastic rear derailer, Spongy brake levers
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness, Pavement, Training
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

Let me first defend Trek with my gripes. The bike is built to a price point, and the average comfort/fun rider. The derailer is fine for that. I prefer metal parts. The factory brake levers worked just fine, I simply did not like their feel and had them swapped. The freewheel gears are not well speced in my opinion. On level ground and gentle rollers, I can easily spin out the 48/14 top speed combo provided. A tighter gear ratio freewheel would have allowed more of the crank gears to be used. I bought this bike to train for a long distance vacation trip next summer while I'm building the specific bike for that. So far my 7000 is great and I will keep it as a fun bike to modify and play with different parts combinations in the future. For now, I'm going to ride it 'till the wheels fall off.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
How great this bike is...
By Ridin/w/style1083Verified Reviewer from PA on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Great on pavement, Lightweight
Cons:
Nothing else, Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Loves bike rides, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I just bought this bike on the weekend and just finished riding about couple hours ago. I rided about 5 miles and felt comfortable and did not have to work a lot to pedal on a hilly pavement road. No doubt you should buy it and depending where you buy it, the price is very reasonable.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
NICE BIKE, BUT HEAVY AND EXPENSIVE
By AIKIDOMANVerified Reviewer from Port Charlotte, Florida on 7/15/2010
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Expensive, Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

DIAMONDBACK has a similar bike (KALAMAR) [...] I have owned the TREK 7000 for over 2 years, but would have bought the Diamondback for half the price instead if I knew about it. I paid [$] plus $10 for a kickstand, [...]

 
I would recommend this bike for anyone!
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Salisbury, MD on 7/8/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I used to be a runner but adopted cycling in 2008 due to a hip injury. My Wife bought me this wonderful Trek 7000. The first thing I noticed was how well the bike fit my frame. I'm 6'2" 213lbs and felt as though the bike was made just for me! I like to ride it so much that I have steadily increased my miles, which has resulted in my successful completion of the Seagull Century ride here on Maryland's Eastern Shore. This bike is so comfortable that I did not stop at any of the rest stops, and was able to complete the 100 mile ride in 6 hours 19 mins with no riding partner. This bike is simply awesome!

My only caution is don't take the bike off road with the stock tires, and or high air pressure settings ( I run 70-75 psi in my tires). I fell over in an area where my Mountain bike glides through.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
THIS BIKE IS AWESOME!!!!
By SandyVerified Reviewer from Southeastern WI on 6/28/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This is my first new bike in nearly 20 years. This bike is light, very comfortable and reasonably priced. It is a smooth ride and everything about it is great. I am a larger size person, and it's still easy to ride this bike - even uphill! Got it today & went 5 1/2 miles. Can't wait to get out again tomorrow.
I would highly recommend this bike to everyone!!

 
First time Trek owner
By 1st time out from Newburgh, Indiana on 6/8/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational

Comments about Trek 7000:

I just bought my wife and I the 7000 series bikes. This morning we both rode @ 8 miles and we can really see why Trek is know for it's quality bikes. We spent more than what we really wanted to but, it was worth stepping up and getting these vs sporting goods bikes. Very happy to be ridding Trek.

 
the best bike
By gf from ny on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

the best bike i have ever had

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Still going strong!
By GeofVerified Reviewer from Belmont, MA on 4/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

So, I wrote a review of this bike back in 2008 - 36 miles in 24 hours and I still think it's one of the best bikes I've owned/ridden. We finally got the bikes out of the shed and started riding again a few weeks ago. We went up the bike trail by the Charles River and ended up riding upstream because of all the rain. The water was literally up to the top of the front sprockets. Anyway, after getting them home and doing the annual cleaning on the bike all the original components* are still in great shape. Of course I replaced the brake pads on the rear last summer, otherwise I've cleaned the chain and adjusted the cables a few times and the bike just keeps on going.

One thing I will say, after about 3k on this bike, it pays to buy the bike at a good local bike shop. They put it together correctly right from the start and I have benefited from this over and over again.

Can't wait to ride again tomorrow. I'm headed into Boston for the morning to get a little R&R in the sun.

* I replaced the original platform pedals the first day I got the bike, also I added a rack, lights, speedo and bottle cages.

Images shared by: Geof

During an afternoon ride last fall

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Great bike for the money.
By BobVerified Reviewer from Omaha, NE on 4/1/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I've had my 7000 for three years. I'm a sixty-three year old warm weather rider. We have a great trail system in my city and that's generally where I ride. I've found the 7000 to be a great overall bike. It's durable without being too heavy. The grip shifters work very well, even going up hill. I've recommended this bike to others as I find it to be a lot of bike for the money.

 
I'm Glad I Bought this One
By Trek FanVerified Reviewer from La Center, WA on 3/1/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Shifts well, Sold feel to the bike, Upright sitting position, Very Comfortable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Some Off-Road
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This Bike has been a good choice for me. I didn't want to be hunched over anymore & I love the more upright sitting position. The bike is heavier than the other touring bike I had but is very comfortable to ride. Great Seat. I added ergonomic handlebar grips that work great. The bike is great on pavement & good on hard off-road trails & some gravel trails as well. I like that versatility. I wish the bike was a little lighter in weight and a little lower gearing for some of the steeper hills. But as I look at what my needs are now, this has been a very good choice & I look forward to a lot of cycling this spring & summer.

 
Best all-around bike I've ever owned
By BarbVerified Reviewer from Boston on 11/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I use this bike to commute and recently outfitted it with clipless pedals. The bars/stem can be adjusted to change how aggressive versus how upright the riding stance is--you can easily adapt it to where you ride. It's operated smoothly for me for years. If I were to change anything, it would be the seat. This is a solid, rugged and affordable bike.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
2k miles !
By not as large as I used to be !Verified Reviewer from central Ma. on 11/4/2009
Pros:
Price
Cons:
Lots of broken spokes
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I just broke the 2k mile mark on my Trek 7000 , here is my experience. I ride about 16 to 20 miles a day ( occasionally 40+ ) on a quite hilly route so I am glad it has the "megagear". The bike is very comfortable. I have had it in the shop about a dozen times . Most of them were due to broken spokes on the rear wheel, which I strongly feel were defective as I only ride on the road . My local bike store finally suggested that I have the rear wheel replaced , to the tune of 100 $. Then they suggested I have all the rear spokes replaced with stainless steel ones . I did that also, which was not cheap, however this significantly cut down on the frequency of broken spokes. I'm on my 3rd rear tire , the last one was an armidillo, which lasted a month before it was nearly cut in half by unknown road debris. Don't waste the extra money on one. The front derailleur now needs adjusting, not bad for 2k miles. My overall feeling is this bike was not meant to be ridden as frequently as I ride it , That said , I am overall content with the bike and I would recommend it. By the way , I lost 80+ lbs , and a lot of the credit is due to cycling on this bike..

 
A little heavy, but good for training
By BigRodVerified Reviewer from Corona, Ca on 10/21/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great for heavy hitters
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Competitive Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

Well I bought it in Dec of 08 to train for the 09 MS 150, but soon found that it was to heavy,so I changed the tires from 35's to 28's put on clipless spd's changed the forks to carbon and the seat to a more sleek one. The bike is great I finished the the MS 100 and felt great the bike is not as heavy.

Images shared by: BigRod

Needs nothing

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Perfect Upgrade or Starter
By Todd J.Verified Reviewer from Wilson, NC on 9/16/2009
Pros:
Agile, Comfortable Ride, Cycle Shop support, Durable, Easy to ride, Good Value, Great all around bike, Great Components, Lightweight, Looks Great, Smooth shifting
Best Uses:
Commuting, Cruising, Family Rides, Fitness, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

My dad is 65 and had started back into daily exercise with a discount-store bike. He did about 5 miles daily and said he felt better, but that he just did not enjoy the workout. I surprised him with this bike for Father's Day. He loves it! Three months later he is doing 12 miles daily and really enjoys the workout. He rides it to church, neighbor's homes, and other places nearby instead of his truck. The Trek dealer helped my dad with a free tune-up and other tips since this is his first REAL bike. Dad even bought a pair of gloves. He's turned into a real cyclist. No matter your age, you can't go wrong with an upgrade from your heavy discount-store bike to a Trek 7000 from your local cycle shop!

 
I love this bike
By GMTVerified Reviewer from Austin, Texas on 9/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I'm a student that travels to and from campus daily. I bought this bike because my previous one was stolen, even though it was secured properly in a parking garage. Although I loved my previous bike (a Trek 3500), this one is better suited for my needs, as the previous was a mountain bike. It's noticeably lighter, has a pretty comfortable seat, and is quite maneuverable. If you're a student as well, make sure to always keep both wheels secure, and keep your bike safe in your apartment/dorm overnight, as I do now.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it after only 5 hours.
By Bill from Oswego, Illiinois (south of Aurora) on 8/12/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Handles Well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

My wife bought the woman's model yesterday and was having so much fun after not having rode a bike in 40 years that I decided to buy one today. I'm 68 and my doctor wanted me to walk but said because of a bad knee I should bike instead. I've only rode it for about 5 miles today but I'm convinced I'll build up leg strength and ride a lot further in the near future. I'm very pleased.

I plan to ride on bike paths that are on relatively level terrain.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great investment
By Dale DVerified Reviewer from Rochester NY on 7/27/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Bike Path, Commuting, Rails to Trails paths, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

We bought two 7100's five years ago, the men's and women's. We have put more than 2000 miles on them. We hadn't biked in about 25 years and had no idea of how much we would end up using our bikes. We bought better seats before we left the bike shop. If we would have had more experience we would have bought the next model with the front spring suspension forks. We added them the second year. It eliminated a lot of road vibration to the handle bars and greatly improved the ride. Most of our riding is on roads and bike paths, paved, crushed limestone and unpaved. Three years ago we did a Rails To Trails ride from Erie to Butler Pa, a 210 mile ride, 40 miles a day. The conditions ranged from paved roads, rough rail beds, mud, gravel, dirt roads and everything in between. A true mountain bike would have been better but we though the bikes did quite well. This spring I replaced the chain, front and rear sprockets to give us a lower gear ratio for the very steep hills. Every fall or spring I do service on the bikes. They were one of the better investments I have made.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Buy
By Sir-swims-alot from Virginia on 7/18/2009
Pros:
Good For Some Off Road, Handles Well
Cons:
Had To Get Gears Adjusted
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisure Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

Great for just getting from place to place even if that means some off road.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great to be on a bike again.
By VM Butler from West Tennessee on 5/3/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Handles Well, Lightweight
Cons:
None as of now
Best Uses:
Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I fall into that "I just got a bike after 20+ years" category. I am now wondering why I waited so long. I mainly ride on paved surfaces in my neighborhood. My neighborhood has a lot of hills; with a few twists of the handle bars, I'm able to tackle these without any problems. It did take me a few days to get used to the saddle. This is a great lightweight bike. Since I purchased this 2 weeks ago, I've been riding 3-6 miles everyday. I'm a 5'9" woman and it's a perfect fit. Don't keep putting off getting a bike. GO GET ONE. You won't be sorry!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bang for the $$$
By Cornbread DanVerified Reviewer from Johnson City, TN on 4/11/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Commuting, Road Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

If you're looking for a quality bike to ride back and forth to work (or school in my case) then this is it. The 7000 handles great and is not too terribly heavy for an aluminum frame. Very comfortable ride on the road and relatively smooth off-road as well. As for speed, well it's not a road bike but for the price it would be hard to beat.
Solid bike-Thanks Trek

[41 of 46 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike!
By Mersy 385Verified Reviewer from Cleveland on 10/9/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles well, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

Light, fast, easy to ride...this is by far the best bike I have ever owned. I decided in early June to get back to riding, and bought the Trek 7000 after test riding it and several other makes. The Trek was the best, by far. Since then, I've ridden at least 800 miles across blacktop, in the street, on stone, on a towpath, through grass, across sand -- this bike was the perfect choice for me. I can't wait to go out every day and ride, rain or shine.

[21 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

 
this bike is great
By yesok from New Buffalo Michigan on 9/1/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I just wanted to say , I just got this bicycle a week ago , and I've already put over 100 mi. on it it is awesome. I used to ride only mountain bikes. But I decided to change it up and get this bicycle and I'm so glad I did I would definitely tell people to get this bike and it's great for the price.

[16 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
" A modern bike for the older generation
By Jerry from Pine Ridge Estates Beverly Hills, Fl. on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bike after my cardiologist recommended riding as an exercise. At age 66, I have no trouble handling the hills in our development ( They didn't name it Beverly Hills, Fl for nothing !!!!); and enjoy the smooth gear shifting, reliable brakes , and comfortable seat.

[16 of 28 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike At First
By fitchp0ser92Verified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well on Pavement, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor on gravel, Unrealiable
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bike about 2 years ago and it was truly great to me. It was comfortable, smooth shifter, and it had good brakes. I thought I was in love with this bike at first. Swift, stylish, and really good handling. But as time past (about 2 years later) it started to become unreliable. The rear brake stopped working. When ever going up hills and putting a lot of power into it, it is extremely jerky. The front brakes are weak and shifting was not really responsive and if they were, it was really jerky trying to shift. It started to squeak while using the front brake and sometimes in bumps/rough pavement. I will probably sell this bike and try a 7200 for a spin. But overall it's still comfy and handles very well and still pretty fast and swift. So I would give this bike 4 stars because most of the problems can be fixed, but I think I'll go for a 7200.

[8 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stablemate. Great Bike at a Great Price!
By LalpeD'HuezVerified Reviewer from Santa Monica CA on 8/9/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

The Trek 7000 fills out my stable beside my Discovery Team SL 5.9 and US Postal Team 5900 SL road bikes. At an astoundingly great price this city cruiser allows me to enjoy two wheels around town with my wife and allowing some carrying capacity and the elimination of cleats and riding gear. I also, with a lock, can now walk away from my bike for some time without heart palpitations! Love Trek...

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fine bike for my daily 11 mile commute
By SullyVerified Reviewer from Evansville, IN on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I ride my bike 11 miles round trip to work about 3 days a week. It does great on the streets and carries my laptop and books in a basket on the back w/ no problem. It's a great and fun ride to work every day! I tell all my friends that are thinking about doing the bike-commute thing to buy this simple but ample bike.

Buy it at the local shop so you can take it in for any adjustments or installed accessories.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
36 miles in the first 24 hours
By GeofVerified Reviewer from Belmont, MA on 8/5/2008
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I needed a new bike to ride with my wife while she prepares for an upcoming road race. We have gone just over 36 miles in two rides since I bought the bike yesterday afternoon. Very quick and reasonably nimble. Gear changes are reliable and predictable, also stops very well.

I signed up for a fundraiser in ten days just to get a chance to ride this bike around on the Cape. We are also discussing a little bike camping this fall.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Bike at Great Price
By EL from Austin Texas on 8/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

Good Bike at Great Price.
Around Town on pavement and some offroad.
Strong.
Could be lighter but do you expect caron fiber
performance for 3.5 bills ???

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for School!
By bikejapanVerified Reviewer from Louisville, KY on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Life, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bicycle to commute everywhere. Once I realised most of the places I went were in a 5mi radius and the rest were in a <15mi radius I decided to start bicycling everywhere. School is 12mi away and I have no problems getting there. The bicycle is great. It is light, has easily accessible parts and the wheels are quick release. So far I've got a rear rack and front basket to carry groceries and the like. It's so fun to ride that I haven't used my car all month!

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
My First Trek
By RBeemerVerified Reviewer from Baton Rouge LA on 7/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Cycle Cross Racing, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

After alot of years of pro rodeo I decided to give road/path riding a try as a low impact form of exercise on my hips and knees. After much research and test riding I picked the Trek 7000 for the price and performance what a great bike I look forward to riding everyday!

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By SpeedycVerified Reviewer from Xenia, Oh on 7/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bike a couple of months ago for my granddaughter to get her interested in cycling. This bike did the trick, she now wants to ride every day. We ride mostly on rail to trails and have covered a lot of miles. I bought her mother the 7100 and they both have really enjoyed them. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this bike!!!
By jtownsendVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, PA on 6/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This was my first bike since my schwinn predator BMX bike. I haven't really fidden in 10 years but once i rode this bike it was like I never stopped riding. This bike has such a smooth ride and it handles great! You cannot go wrong with this bike!

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
What a BIKE!!
By Mark from Carver MA on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Bike paths with kids, Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This is the first new bike I bought since college and it is worth every penny. Compared to my old mountain bike, the TREK 7000 is drastically lighter and just begs to be ridden once you start pedaling. Small things like plastic inserts in the brake levers, suspension in the seat post and the general feel of a quality made bike make riding this bike a joy. This is a versatile bike too – I ride 18 miles a day (3 days/week) during my commute to/from work and then I ride with my children on bike paths and park trails on the weekend.

If you are on the fence about buying a TREK bike, go for it. I never thought a new bike would make such a difference and motivate me to ride it more often. The best part is that I no longer hear the zzz zzz zzz of my tire rubbing the frame of my old bike, now all I hear is the wind in my ears and the hum of the slender tires on the road.

Spend the extra money vs "big box" ratail bikes and you will NOT be sorry!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!!!
By kerrilee14 from Fort Campbell, KY on 6/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fast, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This has been the best bike i've ever own. Ive heard great things about trek bikes so decided to try one. I tested the bike in a parking lot and was sold. The bike is fast on the pavement and is comfortable. Im not a road bike person and i dont like the look of comfort bikes but this was right in the middle. Very pleased with the looks, performance and components of this bike!!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good basic bike
By Chris from North Texas on 6/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Saddle Comfort
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This is a solid recreational bike that can adapt to many environments. Somewhat upright for a more casual ride. Rugged enough for light trails. And, without a front suspension, efficient enough for longer rides on pavement.

For me, it is a great family ride bike, when I don't want to get the road bike out. It'll keep up with the kids as they jump curbs and venture out onto trails. Also, it won't outperform the slowest member of the ride.

On the minus side, you'll soon tire of the saddle and the grips, which cause numbness.

Nonetheless, I would recommend this high-quality affordable bike.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great bike
By Taps from Toronto, ON on 6/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
no suspension
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I ride for fun along the lakeshore on pavements and roads. This is an incredible light weight easy ride. I had researched for few months and had visited many stores before selecting the 7000. This is my first bike in 10 years but I still am in full control while enjoying the ride. Sometimes I wish if the seat can go down a bit further and it had at least the front shock absorber. I didnt find shifting helpfull may be I dont know how to use it. Worth every penny!

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Got this for my 1st Triathlon
By trichic from ohio on 5/28/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I wanted a bike I could go decently fast for a Triathlon yet ride trails if I wanted, since i had limiited space to keep bikes here at the house. So I purchased this and I train with a girl who has a road bike and I keep up with her just fine on this bike!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for all city/light trails!
By Fred from St. Paul, MN on 5/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

First new bike in over 15 years! Looked at alot of bikes before I bought this trek 7000. I picked a winner! Great features, super smooth ride, precise braking, and shifting on the fly! Works great as my ride to work, and for taking the kids to the park or for a family ride around the nearby lake!

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
This bike makes riding a pleasure.
By Lenny from Brooklyn New York on 5/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight, Smooth shifting
Cons:
I couldn't buy two
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

It's like taking a pleasure trip

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
7000
By large from Massachusetts on 4/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This was my first new bike in 20 years so I can truly say I am amazed . I like the way it is geared , it really helps on the hills. I use it for roads only and although it is not as fast as a true road bike it rolls quite well. I would recommend it to a friend.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smooth all around!
By TrekFan2008Verified Reviewer from Twin Cities, MN on 4/14/2008
Pros:
Comfortable seat, Durable, Great Components, Rides smooth
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Pulling a Burley
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

This is my first new bike in 15 years. My old mountain-style bike gave me a pain in the back and butt. This Trek is comfortable, rides smooth and pulls a trailer very well. It's not exactly lightweight but for as rarely as it'll need to be hung, it's just fine. I'm very pleased with it all around!

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for when i can not trail ride
By af_juicyVerified Reviewer from Kaplan, LA on 4/11/2008
Pros:
Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Flimsy Components
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I bought this bike after riding my mountain bike on the roads and not liking the ride I got from my mountian bike on road. A great all bike for paved surfaces.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bike That I Have Owned
By Jeff from Morgantown, WV on 4/7/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I'm a graduate student and use this bike for commuting. This bike has paid for itself in a month with money saved from parking fees and gas. It's comfortable and stands up to the rough streets where I live.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's great
By Leon from Richmond California US on 1/31/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I ride to work on the east bay of san francisco. I ride about 30 miles a day. My wife has one too and she loves it. Great bike for the price.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all around bike for family biking!
By Fred, RN from St. Paul, MN on 10/8/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

A great bike for riding the paved and smooth dirt surface trails. A great way to experience biking with the family. Rides very smooth and shifts easy from low to high. Great braking for those quick unexpected stops with the kids! Smooth and quiet! I use it to and from work, and it is not too heavy to carry up the stairs to store during my shift! An all around urban bike without the sticker shock of some comparible mountain bikes! I love it!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for pleasure riding
By Roadbike88Verified Reviewer from Elyria, Ohio on 9/6/2007
Pros:
Balanced Suspension, Durable, Great Components, Great feel, Handles Well, Plush Feel
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Free Riding, Great on paved surface, Urban Biking
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7000:

I just purchased the 7000 I ride avidly weather permitting and average around 72-90 miles a week I ride only Bike paths and Paved surfaces This bike handles nicely and has a great feel to it. I highly recommend it to anyone who loves to ride on these conditions that I ride. The only drawback is its a little heavy !!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.