Buy the 7200 on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
7200 image
 
(based on 73 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Hybrid
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 73 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(15), Durable(55), Good components(10), Great components(39), Handles well off-road(20)
Cons:
Heavy(8), Poor off-road handling(6)
Best Uses:
Bike paths(4), Commuting(50), Exercise(3), Leisurely rides(18), Light riding(12)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(16), Casual/ recreational(48), Weekend warrior(11)
 
Great bike
By LeeVerified Reviewer from Hattiesburg, MS on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Casual riding, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I have had this bike for about three years and I love it. I ride at least once a week and primarily use it for just casual riding in the city, for which it is perfectly suited. If you plan to ride on dirt roads, gravel, or sand, pick something else. The tires will slid around like you are on ice. This bike is perfect for casual neighborhood riding and city streets. It also does good on paved bike trails. One con of this bike is I want more! I get tired of being blown of the road by road bikes. I will never get rid of it though, but I am getting a 2.1 for more serious ridding applications. Bottom line, if you want a comfortable machine to carry you around casualy in the suburbs or city this bike is perfect, but if you want to go fast and long, or offroad, you might want to choose another Trek model.

 
Just a few changes
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Spring Hill, Fl on 5/20/2010
Pros:
Comfortable Ride, Durable, Great Components, Great for exercise, Well Made
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercise, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I bought this bike initially for exercise and thought I'd ride maybe three times a week. Well, this bike got me hooked on cycling and I've since bought a Trek 2.3 road bike. Now I ride both bikes daily.

I use the 7200 for casual riding with my wife. The 7200's is comfortable and easy to ride. The 2.3 roak bike is used for riding with friends who are serious riders. Nevertheless, I enjoy both bikes equally because each has a different purpose for me. However I made a few changes to the 7200 to make it more personalized for me - I lowered the adjustable stem to give it a more aggressive position, I put a different saddle on it, a flatter handle bar, ergo grips with bar ends, and switched to 700x28c race tires. The bike was more than fine as it was, but those changes work for me - especially the tires.

If something happened to this bike, I would still buy another.

 
Brand New Biker Amazed
By LHype.Verified Reviewer from Columbia MD on 5/1/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Ok so i am fairly new to biking. I rode a Glacier Point 12 speed for about two months and just purchased the 7200 today. Its amazing. I was torn between the 7100 and this 7200 but with better components and the slick black color i decided on the 72. I just got back from a 12 mile ride and the comfort and handling are great. I hope to get alot of use out of this bike. This bike is really fast also. I topped out at about 26mph, and could have gone faster. Only down side is that for me the seat is a little uncomfortable, nothing that a gel-seat wont fix. This is a great purchase, dont hesitate.

 
Great exercise bike and more.
By GotTheBugVerified Reviewer from Woodland, CA on 4/19/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I purchase this bike to get into shape and love it. No flats yet even and it outlasted my new mountain bike on a 13mi trek on paved roads. The tire's flat protection must have saved it. If I were to say one thing to watch out for is written all over my instructions. Don't brake too hard on your front brakes I have flipped once and almost a couple of other times but that was user error mixed with great brakes. I see that this bike was built to last.

 
If you buy the 7200 you will enjoy it
By Nude Biker from New York on 4/16/2010
Pros:
Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Years since I have had a good bike. I would rate this choice as perfect. Purchased in January and have over 500 miles on it now. Though I would be considered a casual/Rec rider I am rapidly becoming an Avid Cyclist. The 7200 is a joy to ride on pavement and very good on cinder tracks also. A 5-8 mile ride is just time out. I averaging well over 10 miles a day and upwards is not a problem. I might consider myself a little obsessed as I cannot let a day go by that I do not find time to ride. Thank you TREK for so many joyful hours in the saddle.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Bike for Big Guys
By JohnD407Verified Reviewer from Lake Mary, FL on 4/13/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike paths, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Let me start off by saying that I am 6'6" 260 lbs. I purchased the 22.5" frame and it is perfect for me. My previous bike was a Gary Fisher Marlin which was a great bike. Now that I am a little older I am more into riding for a cardio workout. At first this bike looks a little awkward but don't let it fool you. It has a extremely comfortable seat, is very quick for its size, and handles great. This bike is the ideal bike for big guys looking to stay in shape.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent! I recommend it often.
By GeezerVerified Reviewer from Brodheadsville, Pa on 4/9/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I've had the Trek 7200 for 2 years and mostly ride on Rails to Trails in Norheastern Penna. The hybrid seems to be made exactly for that purpose. The 7200 is comfortable and I've had zero problems. The few times that I rode on streets, I was impressed as to how fast and smooth this bike rode. I'm very pleased with this bike. No complaints.

 
Excellant bike, love it, love it!!
By Craig M.Verified Reviewer from O'Fallon, MO on 3/5/2010
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I got back into biking last year, after a whole bunch not biking. I can't say enough good about this bike. My only real complaint is I switched over to trigger shifters, not twist-locks, but that is more personal preference than anything else.

I ride about 10-12 miles 3-5 times per week and have ridden as much as 60 miles in one day. It is perfect for all of that.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Trek has me for life!
By TrekObsessedVerified Reviewer from Washington, DC on 12/10/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Handsome, Quiet, Smooth Ride
Best Uses:
Bike paths, Commuting, Light Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I came into posession of my new '09 7200 by Trek honoring their lifetime frame warranty after 15 years of good use of my former Trel 720 MultiTrack. It broke in half last spring and I took it into my lb(Trek)s and with a minor intervention by the manager and an email from me I became the proud owner of a 7200. I did not get to choose the model so there was a certain amount of luck involved. However, I diod get an test ride in order to get the size right. It was love at first ride.

I remember having the same reaction to my 720 when I first got it (Birthday present). The comfort, looks and surprising quickness cannot be beat. I should get a job at the bike shop. I've sent them several pre-sold customers based on my experience with not only the 7200 in particular but also Trek in general. I CANNOT GET ENOUGH TIME ON THIS BIKE! I think about riding it when I'm supposed to be concentrating on something else! BUY THIS BIKE!

Images shared by: TrekObsessed

My Best Friend

Image Thumbnail

Tags: My Tricked Trek, Picture of Product

 
very happy and surprised
By fnederbender from new jersey on 11/15/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Really surprised by this bike, It is my first bike in 25 years and love it. The gears are great, and make it easy to ride. The suspension is worth the money.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
2010 TREK 7200 17.5 - LOVE IT !
By Shain's 7200Verified Reviewer from Omaha on 10/18/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easy ride for 64 yr old, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Bike path - exercize, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I'm a male (64) that had to give up softball after 35 yrs of playing.(back troubles and vertigo) But needed to exercise.

I hate just boring running, and I now have heal troubles too. Biking has been the perfect fix. Biking isn't nearly as boring as running. I work on my riding skills, pacing my self, challenge myself, and get in better shape.

If there's such a thing, I've become an avid/casual bike bath rider. I don't think this would have happened without the TREK.

The 7200 hybrid has been great. Love the shocks on the forks, and seat. Helps to make the ride not nearly as uncomfortable (my back) as my old road bikes we have. Upright riding position is great!

I got the 2010 7200 about a month ago, and already know I'll be riding for a long time. I've had zero problems with the 7200. I bought the 7200 over the nearly the same 7100, to get a little better mechanics. (I'm a retired engineer, so I know good design and construction) The 7200 is a nice piece of work.

This is the perfect answer for me. We (wife and I) ride about 4 to 8 miles/day and it's perfect for old geizers like us. It's windy here in the midlands so some days it's a chore. Doesn't take very long to go for ride. There's a bike path about 1/2 mile away from home.

The bike was fitted at the store, and I've made very little changes. Was good to go, from the start. The seat is borderline uncomfortable, but I'm not sure if I'll change it.

I highly recommend the 7200 hybrid for casual bike path riding. Not a racer, but that isn't what I wanted, or needed. Light weight like a road bike, but still tough, and yet comfortable to ride. Get's my vote!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Bike Has Wings!
By DasanVerified Reviewer from NYC on 9/21/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This Bike has wings! Don't let reviews about how comfortable it is and how it's great for old people scare you - it's great for everyone! Very fast and light for a "hybrid" bike. Most enjoyable bike experience I've had in 20 years.

Comfortable for when you want comfort, yet it can really move, too. I think the wheels/tires are what really sets this bike apart, plus the great gear set which shifts very smoothly.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
like a kid with a brand new bike
By MadsVerified Reviewer from Chicago/ Evanston, IL on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Durable, Fun to ride, Gorgeous, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This is my first bike since the huffy I got in junior high. And to be honest, I had no idea what to look for in a bike. Luckily my husband had been a bike enthusiast before I met him so at least he began steering me in the right direction. We went to a few stores in the area and the first two really made me really intimidated. So I did a lot of homework by researching and reading hundreds of reviews. And after a test drive at our local bike shop (which had me at ease when I walked through the door) I was sold.

I love this bike. I cant stop talking about it to my friends and family (who, consequently, would rather I was out riding it than talking about it).

I wanted a bike to ride around town on, take the kids for a trip down the bike paths, get in better shape by getting me moving more, really just to ride a bike. This bike does all that I want it to do. Its perfect for my needs.

The only thing I can complain about is how sore my back side is from riding it so much!

I could have saved like $75 if I got the 2009 model, but the 2010 Red/Champagne model had just come out and it was a visceral reaction, I just had to have that shiny, new, red bicycle.

Have I mentioned that I love this bike? Thought so.

:)

[2 of 19 customers found this review helpful]

 
duped
By duped from michigan on 8/11/2009
Pros:
High Comfort smooth ride
Cons:
Poorly egineered, Shoddy Assembly, Unexceptable Durability
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I purchased this bike after riding a[$] el cheapo for a year, hoping to get a higher level of durability.After a month (450 miles or so) this bike is worse off than el cheapo. The brakes continuously loosen and rub, and the seat swivels around just a few days after tightening it. The crank arm detached itself and its headed back to the shop.So far the smoother ride and the comfort of the riding position have not been worth the shoddy assembly and engineering of this bike. I feel like I paid for a brand name, with no real other benefits.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By GritsVerified Reviewer from Greensboro, NC on 7/29/2009
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

The Trek 7200 is a "Great Bike". I purchased this bike a year ago and have enjoyed every time I ride. I'm 70 years old and had a heart attack about 15 months ago and now biking to improve my health. I'm riding my "7200" 200 to 400 miles a month, I have rode up to 35 miles in one day averaging around 12 mph. I record biking stats, speed, average speed, top speed, time, distance, ascend and descend using a Garman 60CS GPS. This bike does well climbing hills and sometimes reach 30 mph down hill. I have experienced some slipping problems at times up shifting on the crank deraileur from 2nd to 3rd, down shifting is no problem. Adjustments haven't corrected the problem. Overall I give this bike an excellent rating for the price and would recommend it to anyone who is doing the type biking as I do.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike, Easy to Ride.
By BillVerified Reviewer from Lore City, Ohio on 7/14/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight, Smooth shifting
Cons:
I have no Complaints
Best Uses:
Can ride on any Terrain, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I haven't ridden a bike for quite a few years now. I had trouble with my muscles and my doctor advised me to ride a bike. So I went to Southside Cycling in Zanesville and Mike the owner, let me try all kinds of bikes. He suggested this one for my needs and sure am glad he did. My first day I rode for 10 miles with no trouble at all. What a way to enjoy the great outdoors on our New bike trail in Lore City, Ohio. This is the greatest thing I Could have done for my self.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
I used to laugh at hybrid bikes until!
By Chuck from Troy, ohio on 7/12/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I was an avid road bike enthusiast for years. I used to laugh at the people on hybrids but happy they were at least riding. I got burned out years ago from always riding as fast as we could. I backed off from cycling for many years. I had owned a few mountain bikes but still found them to be uncomfortable. I had broken out my old roag bike and tried it again on the local trails, and once again the leaning over, head and neck pain was back. I then went and visited a loacl bike shop and saw the hybrid 7200. It caught my eye and i just had to take it out and ride it. As soon as i sat on it and felt how truthfully comfortable they were, i knew why all the other bikers were riding them! It was love at first pedal stroke!!!I did though put on a pair of handlebars that have about 8more hand positions than the bars that came with it, and changed out the seat. And i just broke out the road bike the other day and i realized just how uncomfortable they are..i am a true hybrid man now and happy as a calm in mud that i am.. I look forward to riding it as much as i can now..Thank you Trek for making this wonderful bike :)

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Head of the Class
By RidinginstyleVerified Reviewer from Amelia Island Florida on 6/24/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight, Looks sharpe, Sporty
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Like many reviewers, I have been out of cycling a long time, and decided that it was time to start an exercise routine. It took me about two months to decide. I rode Raleighs, Specialized, Felt, and Giant. Then one day I stopped at a store that sold Trek. After explaining to the salesman that I was mostly interested in a comfort bike, he started out showing me the Trek Navigator, which was one of the best looking comfort bikes I have seen. However, it still did not seem to be exactly what I wanted. But when he pulled the 7200 off the rack, the white and nickel paint job really stood out. I immediately knew this was the one. After test riding in the parking lot, I knew I was going to buy this bike. It rode great, shifted better than anything else I had rode, and was extremely quiet. I added a trek computer, kickstand, water bottle holder, storage bag under the saddle, and changed out the tires to a bigger 38cc size so I could do some moderate dirt bike trails. Now I haven't bought a bike in 30 years. I'm 64 years old and about 6'1", and I can't tell you how excited I am to have a quality bike like the Trek 7200. First day I got it home, I put 5 miles on it in about 25 minutes. It was 90 degrees and I hardly broke a sweat until the end of the ride. Called by brother to brag and found out he has the Trek 7300! Small world. But he said the same thing - tested lots of brands but the Trek stood out above the rest. I also want to state that the Trek Sonic helment is great. Fits comfortably, is cool to the head due to the ventilation system, and the white and silver color scheme matches my 7200. I am riding in style!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect for getting back into cycling
By Writebike from Indiana on 6/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Around Town, Bike paths, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This is the best purchase I've made in years. What I've added is a lifestyle change--exercise, fun, green transportation. My dealer listened to what I needed and recommended this. What I got was a serious, quality bike mixed with big dollops of comfort. Gears work smoothly, and the range--although you'll use the middle range 80% of the time--is practical and useful. I've added a rear rack, which I use with a wonderful Trek bag for light groceries, books, etc., and a speedometer/odometer. After a year, I can't imagine life without the bike.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic bike!
By BadaVerified Reviewer from Palatine, IL on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I just got home with this beauty and I am in love. I haven't ridden a bike in years but just as others have mentioned I knew it was mine after the test drive. It wouldn't fit in the car so I rode it home from the bike shop. It was a nice ride. I'm a large woman and found the seat to be quite comfortable. I think this will be a great bike for commuting and getting back into shape.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Perfect Bike
By Gil from Maryland on 2/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Exercise, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Purchased the 2009 Trek 7200. Previously owned a Raleigh hybrid for ten years. This bike is perfect for me - use it every other day for exercise (minimum of 30 minutes). Do longer rides for 20 - 40 miles on bike trails. Very comfortable ride - especially with the front shocks. Will do a century this summer and anticipate a comfortable ride.

 
My first new bike in 14 years
By YukonpaulVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 1/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I needed a better bike that could handle a heavy person and I was recommended this model. I commute every day and this bike is faster and more reliable than my previous bike. I love it!

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
First Bike in Years and I love it!
By Bike dudeVerified Reviewer from Bergen County on 10/9/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Great Value, Lightweight, Very Comfortable
Best Uses:
Excercise, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I was looking for a bike priced under $500 but with good components. It needed to be comfortable and nice looking. I narrowed it down to the 7100 and the 7200 which was $100 more. I went with the 7200 because it had better components and it was a comfortable and smooth test ride.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving it so far
By Wildpilot from Eugene,Oregon on 9/28/2008
Pros:
Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

So far the only thing I had a problem with was the steering was not tight enoughf when I purchased it and going up a hill it suddenly turned sideways on me. Other than that it has been a great bike so comfortable and fast its getting me back into cycling.

[4 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Commuter
By WhirnotVerified Reviewer from Greeley, CO. on 9/26/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Exercise
Describe Yourself:
Casual Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I was looking for a bike with more comfort than a road bike, easier riding than a mountain bike, something for casual excercise riding as well as some commuting (8-9 miles each way.)

The 7200 fit the bill for me perfectly. A comfortable seat, handle bars are higher for less leaning over. Gears work smooth.

 
Great Bike. I Love It
By Lucky from Ann Arbor, Michigan on 8/28/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
No cons to mention
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

At 64 years of age I recently started to ride for exercise and to do shopping (save on gas too). I shopped a lot of bike stores before purchasing this bike. This bike (2009 model) fits me like a glove. The minute I completed a test ride I knew it fit all my needs. The grip shifters are great!

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
perfect bike for my needs
By Tricked-out Bikes RuleVerified Reviewer from Boulder, CO on 8/27/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Components, Looks Great
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Although I adore my '90 Trek 850 mtn bike, I needed something easier on my neck and shoulders, now that I'm biking instead of driving around town more. I wanted something that felt stable and was sturdy enough to handle street gutters and unpaved paths/roads, if needed. I researched and tried several bikes, and I narrowed it down to either a Trek 7000-series or a Navigator. The trek 7200 won out because:- looks and feels lighter than my old 850 and the Navigator, but still feels sturdy and stable;- the tires are way different from my 850 and the Navigator, but this is a good thing, how the 7200 rolls and rides so easy and fast with less effort, and is so quiet! ... cool;- the front fork and seat suspension at first freaked me out, but now I'm used to it[*] the upright position is quite different from what I'm used to, but I'm LOVING it more with every day;- the drivetrain is super, worth the extra $$ over the 7100 or 7000 (not that those are BAD, I just wanted it all to be Shimano or SRAM);- the pedals are easy and comfy for me, the same top and bottom (I don't use bike shoes);- the grip-twist shifters are wonderful, I didn't know what I was missing all these years with my lever-clicky shifters ... my arthritic hands says "bonus!";- the seat is comfortable without being big and dorky looking;- the black/silver color and overall looks are sleek and stylish.The only (minor & temporary) disappointment is that my bike's size (15" ... don't know about the bigger sizes) doesn't have the pre-drilled holes on the frame to accept the horizontal attachment for a rear rack. (It does have the holes for the vertical part, on the back wheel hub.) If you want a rack (I have a Bontrager 1 Back Rack), you'll need a "mono-stay adapter" to fit around the seat post. HINT: Save yourself some aggravation and get a GOOD quality adapter with the threaded ends of the "C" part being as short as possible. The Jandd adapter worked out great for me, [*]

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good bike for a great price
By BudVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 8/22/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Poor Component Selection
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I originally got this bike thinking it would be something I could follow my 3 year old around on. After reviewing the latest trend in Hybrids, and testing this bike on a few off-road paths, I tried it out on a more heavy style off-rad trail park. The bike did pretty well and I had great handling. I did change the stock tires to something with a bit more tread, but over all it did quite well. I'm very happy with the bike, but would like to change away from the grip shifting to a thumb shifter. I kept changing gears accidentally while on the ride.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Bike
By Joe_5700Verified Reviewer from Omaha, Nebraska on 8/20/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This is an excellent bike if you are getting back into bike riding. You can ride in a comfortable upright position and ride faster than a mountain bike. The 7200 also has longer gears for higher speeds compared to the 7100. Get this bike, you will not be disappointed. So far 700+ miles and zero problems.

 
Well worth every dollar spent!
By malf from Shelby Township MI on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This is the perfect all around bike. I use this bike for fitness and just cruising around. I was riding a mountain bike and couldn't believe the difference once I hopped on the 7200 and started pedaling. Just test riding in the parking lot - I knew this bike was going to be mine. The bike is comfortable, rides smooth and is sharp looking. I bought the men's model (I am female) because it is so much better looking. Hey, you gotta ride in style too! The ride is excellent on paved surfaces and packed dirt/crushed gravel bike paths. My next purchase (down the road) will be a Trek road bike, but this bike for everyday riding does not disappoint due to its comfort, handling and reliability!

 
Just a great bike
By ZambukaVerified Reviewer from New London, CT on 7/31/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I have had this bike for about two months now. I ride on the weekend along the shoreline and I also ride to work 3 times a week with a 4-6 mile round trip depending on which way I go through town. The bike works great on the streets and in traffic. It's lightweight enough so that when I added on two saddle bags and a top rack bag with about 15 or so pounds of work gear (laptops & bike gear) it is still easy to ride up hills. I changed the grips, with summer days at 90 degress + they did not provide any grip. I also changed the sadle to something with a little more cushion but the stock one was not that bad.
Added a tail light (LED) and headlight and off to work I go and I love it.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Commuter
By Caleab from Far Northern CA on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I'm using this bike to commute about 15-20 miles a day. It's comfortable and I make a one-way trip in about 15 minutes. It's excellent.

 
All Around Bike
By RSVerified Reviewer from Gurnee, IL on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Handgrip shifters weak
Best Uses:
Commuting, Off-Road, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Great all around bike. I've had one for 6 years and use it for training for long bike trips, riding on packed trails, road riding and when I'm just out for fun. Had to replace the twistgrip shifters but everything else is stock. Super comfortable on long trips (one trip was 100 miles the first day, 85 second day and 45 the third day), fun on the trail. It's a keeper!

 
Great buy!
By mad from Estonia on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Durable, Fast, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Off-road Handling, Short
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Touring
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I use the bike to ride to work(15km round trip)
and other daily rides.
Speed is fairly good, but it could have 700x28 tires. Current ones are heavy and not that good performance.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A surprise all the way
By FredOak from WNY on 7/19/2008
Pros:
COMFORT, Durable, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Cons:
Grip on peddles
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I was looking for a true commuter, fenders, lights, etc. When my dealer showed me the 7200 and said, "Just add what you need". So I did and it ended up costing me less then the ones I was orginally looking at and the ride is even better!
The only draw back, and I say only, is my foot slips occasionally when I shift, even with proper foot wear. But other then maybe changing the pedals, this bike is awsome!

 
reliable and comfortable
By BobVerified Reviewer from Vancouver, Washington on 7/17/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I have used my 2006 7200 mostly for recreational/fitness riding. Family uses these for commuting, town errands and a good alternative to short trips in a car.

My son and I completed 2 organized century rides this year on our 7200's. On mine, I have replaced the stock handlebars with touring bars, added a rear carrier rack, and exchanged the back wheel for a 44 spoke wheel better suited for my weight, grocery loads and trailer pulling. This is a durable and dependable bike. No repair issues. It is no racer, but will handle any distance you need.

 
Outstanding value.
By Bubby from Wilmington, North Carolina on 7/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I bought my 7200 several weeks ago and like it enough to buy my wife one, too. She likes it enough to let me buy her one. That says it all.

 
Great quality
By CaleabVerified Reviewer from Redding, CA on 7/14/2008
Pros:
Durable, Economical, Great Components, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I'm a novice in the cycling world, however I've dabbled in it enough to know good quality. I've owned Trek before and it was great. I became a fan then. Now that it's down the road, it's even better.
I got my 7200 and absolutely love it. So much so that we're purchasing the femme version for the wifey.
Excellent work and love the accessories also =)

[14 of 18 customers found this review helpful]

 
Everything I needed!
By SpEeVerified Reviewer from Ft. Lauderdale, Florida on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Fitness, Leisure riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This bike was everything I was looking for and more! I bought the bike to use for fitness riding, leisure riding with the girlfriend, and the occasional trips to the store. I added on a computer, head/tail lights, bike lock (of course), and the must have tail rack where you can attach a pack to carry stuff when you go to the store. The bike has more gears than I know what to do with. The ride is great! The only thing that could be better is a softer seat. However, I just got it and it might need a little breaking in, if it doesn't get softer over time a seat cushion will do the trick. If you're looking for a good bike to get you around, use for fitness, or just to take leisure trips with your significant other, the 7200 is perfect.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this Bike!!
By Ally from FL on 6/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Pavement, Sidewalk
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Wonderfully smooth, fun bike, stylish. I just want to keep going. Even the seat doesnt hurt my behind!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just Plain Excellent!
By JerryVerified Reviewer from Wisconsin on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Haven't had a bike for years. Bought this because it was what fitted my needs and i'd buy it again. The smoothest and quietest ride i've ever had on a bike.
I'll definitely buy Trek from here on out!

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Instantly Loved It!
By BobVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 6/16/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I tried this bike in the dealer's parking lot and knew within the first 10 seconds that I was going to buy it. I had done lots of research on the internet prior to looking at it and was already pleased with everything I'd seen. Riding it made it an instant sell - this bike is terrific!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great commuter/casual bike
By Donna from Cleveland on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Handles Well Off-road
Cons:
Heavy, No toe straps or clips
Best Uses:
Bike Path, Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Im' a 40-50 mile per week rider, occasionally getting out on some longer sponsored rides. Most of the time spent riding is on streets, park paths or crushed gravel bike paths. The bike is great on all of them. The gear ration on this bike ranges from 1:0.93 to 1:4.36 so hill and some fast downhills are well within the capability of this bike. I did upgrade the tires to a thinner tire(700x32) compared to the stock 700x35, and put on some clipless pedals. Those two things improved the ease of riding quite a bit.

The bike is a bit heavy, but it's extremely durable. Considering this isn't a bike meant for racing though, the weight is probably on par with similar bikes in it's class. If you're a casual rider, you can't go wrong with this bike. This bike will last many years.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great ride for the casual rider!
By PatD from Knoxville, TN on 6/7/2008
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor Component Selection, Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I love riding this bike. It's a great bike for the price. I will be upgrading in a year or so to an FX but for a casual rider it doesn't get much better.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bike for the money!!
By Eric from Rolla, MO on 6/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, fun, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Saddle
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I bought my 7200 two months ago to help get back in shape, lose weight, etc. I have knee and back problems, so running, etc. was not an option. The 7200 allows me to ride and exercise without damaging my back or my knees. I'm riding about 20-30 miles a week now and I love it! The best thing about this bike is that is easy to ride and a lot of fun. The worst thing about this bike is the saddle. If I could change one thing about the 7200, it would definitly be the saddle. Needs to be softer, or bigger, or something. Other than that, the bike needs NOTHING changed.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just the ride I wanted
By D Turbo from Iowa on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Durable, easy to add items, Handles Well Off-road, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Getting back into riding. Like urban trails and pathways. This may not be the fastest ride but, is comfortable and easy to handle. The front shock system makes the ride easier.

[12 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike, Especially for us big guys..
By DarkKnight369Verified Reviewer from Peoria, IL on 5/20/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easy to ride, Great Components, Lightweight
Cons:
Handle Shifters
Best Uses:
Bike paths, Commuting, Light Off Roading, Pavement, Urban Environments
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I have a 2005 model 7200 in the blue/silver color no longer offered. Its a great bike! I am 6'8" and have limited selection when it comes to stuff like this. I went to my local Trek dealer and they have this bike in a 25" frame, and a similarly priced FX model in a 25" frame. I gave both a test drive and really like the comfort and riding position of the 7200.

Overall, its a great bike. I mainly use it to scout my own course around town. I have used it on grass, dirt, and other common off road like paths. The only time the bike had trouble was on sand. Mountain bikes have tires that are way too thick for pavement. I don't off road bike at all really, so the 7200 was perfect for me.

I like the way the bike rides, feels, and everything else. My only complaint is the handle grip shifters. I liked the concept at the time when I bought it, but it can be annoying at times. I have accidentally shifted gears when trying to jump a curb or obstacle. When I was younger I used to ride BMX, so its in my nature to pull up on the handle bars. If I am not careful, the gears will shift. Such a minor complaint for a great bike though.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply the Best
By WillyVerified Reviewer from Montevideo, Uruguay on 5/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Cons:
Heavy, Poor Off-road Handling
Best Uses:
Commuting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I use this bike for everyday commuting and it´s simply the best, the streets in my city they are not in good shape, anything less than this bike and it would be very dificult to go arround. It´s specialy fast when you need it to be and comfortable enuogh when you are taking it easy. Maybe if your not that fit you could fell it a litlle bit heavy and watch out for gravel and dirt because it´s a commuter not a mointain bike. It´s the best choice for start going by bike.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for sidewalks and paths
By Old man now from Rochester, NY on 5/12/2008
Pros:
Comfortable, Handles Well Off-road, Slow speed handling
Cons:
Heavy, Made offshore
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement, Riding with kids
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I hated checking the Casual/Rec button to describe myself, but that is where I am now. 15 years ago I was an avid cyclist, and still try to ride my Trek road bike when I can. It was just too hard to ride with my kids (in training wheels) having to absorb the sidewalk bumps, unclip my pedals and try to ride at 5mph.

Hence the 7200 purchase. This really fits the bill. Huge, comfortable, sprung seat. Upright riding and front suspension really eat up the irregularities in the sidewalk. I can ride as slow as I want and dismount as many times as necessary. The bike looks awesome and works great for the purpose.

I still have to get used to the less efficient gearing and frame. At one point, one son rode far ahead and I thought I would ride up to rein him in. On my road bike I would have cought up to him in a few seconds. This bike took considerably longer! I know it is not for racing, it just takes some adjustment in riding style. Also, I know all about global trade, but that "Made in China" sticker just makes me cringe. I'm taking a heatgun to it!

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great bike
By Mr HippoVerified Reviewer from Bangkok, Thailand on 5/11/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components, Lightweight
Best Uses:
'Lazy' touring, Commuting, Recreation
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

The 7200 is a direct replacement for my other 7200 which was killed by a Bangkok bus! Gear ratios are perfect either for commuting, recreation or long 'lazy' tours. It has a nice relaxed riding position. The black/silver colour scheme works well and looks classic.
I will be changing the saddle but this is a personal choice and not a criticism!

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
A quality product priced right
By SparkyVerified Reviewer from Florida on 5/8/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Rims
Best Uses:
Camping, Commuting, Fitness riding, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Ive road this bike 4000 miles(12-14 MPH average speed on pavement and crushed shell)and the only problem I have incountered is a bent rear rim (from ride'n up and down overpasses at high speed me thinks ;-) A wonderful bike for someone who is getting back into cycleing and wanting an all arounder. This bike will take you to where you need to go until your body and budget are both in shape and lusting for more.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By JT from Brooksville, FL on 5/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Great Components
Best Uses:
Commuting, Pavement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

First real bike since GT Performer Pro BMX bike in about 7th grade.......

After riding around on cheaper superstore bikes the 7200 is a treat. It is lighter than I expected and rides exceptionally well. I have only had it for a month but I would recommend it to anyone.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love the Fit and Finish
By RamjetgrVerified Reviewer from Grand Rapids, Michigan on 4/11/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I haven't ridden a bike in years and being middle-aged I was concerned about being able to even ride a bike again. My first day out I peddled 17 miles on a local paved bike trail! I felt like a kid again! This bike is very easy to ride and mostly comfortable(I am getting used to the seat). I like the ease of peddling, brakes, and the solid feel of this bike. After owning this bike for 2 weeks, I already have over 60 miles on it! My only possible regret is that I didn't purchase the 7500 model first ( already I want to up grade!) Hats of to Trek for an excellent product!

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
My favorite bike
By Jolly Green from Seal Beach, CA on 4/10/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I have had my Trek 7200 for about two weeks and I already know that it is the best bike I have ever owned. I have had a road bike for several years and enjoyed riding it although being "down in the bars" gets tiring and the seat is not very comfortable. Then a couple of years ago I bought a beach cruiser. It is comfortable to ride but it is heavy, not very agile and not suited for any lengthy rides. After buying the Trek I have found it to be smooth, comfortable, easy to handle, great gearing just an all around pleasure to ride, plus it just looks cool. I do not think I could have made a better choice.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
YOU NEED THIS BIKE!!!
By RayVerified Reviewer from Marquette Mi on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Can't think of any
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I just bought the 7200 today. I was impressed with the smoothness, crisp shifting, excellent brakes. I ride a fairly pricy Trek road bike for my fitness riding. But I wanted a commuter bike to ride to and from work and running errands or when riding with friends who aren't into the spandex thing.

[7 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Renewed my love for bicycling!
By BryanVerified Reviewer from Chesapeake, VA on 3/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Components, Good value, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
Uncomfortable Seating
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Over 40 yo, Regular Exercise, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I've loved riding bicycles since I was a small child. I've owned Shwinns, Raleighs, and Cheep Dept. Store bikes. The last bike I had purchased in 1984 was an expensive Raleigh road bike that was poorly made. The warranty was worthless. I was so disgusted with it I unsuccessfully sued the dealer who sold it to me. After that I swore off bicycles for 24 years. On a whim I visited Great Bridge Bicycles in Chesapeake, VA, seen the Trek 7200, took if for a test ride, and fell in love with bicycling all over again. This bike is a GREAT Value, a joy to ride, and perfect for a middle-aged, overweight guy who wants an fun way to get back into shape. I upgraded the seat with a Cloud-9 and added a road computer to track my speed, time, and miles ridden. Thanks Trek!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great commuter!
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Mississippi coast on 3/24/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance
Best Uses:
Commuting, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I bought my 7200 for commuting about a year ago. It is perfect for that. Added fenders for wet days, and the interchange rack to hold the trunk. It is quick for such an inexpensive and durable bike. It is very comfortable and the ride is great. I have to jump a couple of curbs to avoid heavy traffic, and it does that very well. A great Buy!

[4 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
One sweet ride
By AuroraVerified Reviewer from Hollywood, CA on 2/17/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I ride early in the morning and in the evening. This bike has so much going for it. Lets you live life to the fullest. Helps me stay young and young at heart. I am looking good as well as doing it in style.

[9 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Best Bike I've had"
By BennyVerified Reviewer from Norfolk, Va on 1/23/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I ride an average 500 to 750 miles a month, and this bike is quite nice. I don't feel qualified to compare it to other ones, 'cuz most of my previous bikes were department store bought (ie:cheap)... this one gives me the feeling it's actually going to last more than 6 months! It's lightwieght (again, compared to what I'm used to) and I can "cruise" on it at about 15 to 20 mph- I'm not even close to being in shape btw! Yet it feels sturdy enough, easily the best bike I've ever owned!

[23 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Rental Bike Ever
By DKW from San Francisco, CA on 1/8/2008
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I am the owner of a major bicycle rental and tour company and have been in business for over ten years. The 2008 Trek 7200 is the most reliable and best performing fleet rental bicycle I have ever used. The "fleet" rental bicycle is our work horse. I have hundreds of bikes in my fleet and these bikes are ridden daily during our busy season. The 7200 rarely breaks down and my customers regularily comment on how much they enjoyed the bicycle. I have tried several different makes and models of bicycles as my "work horse" bike. This bicycle is clearly the best mid-level bicycle for comfort and reliability. I hope Trek keeps this model exactly as it is for a long long time.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Two Treks Are Better Than One
By Il Ciclista from Long Island, NY on 11/8/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stable Balance, Stylish
Cons:
No toe clips
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

In June of 2007, I purchased a Trek 7300 (the 2006 model, which is this year's Trek 7200) for my wife as a birthday present and last month I purchased a Trek 7200 (2007 model) for myself and we could not be more pleased. She retired an old Specialized Hard Rock and I archived a Diamondback Sorrento and there is no going back. We are recreational riders who also take our bikes on vacation. For us, they are the pefect compromise (and I use that term positively, not perjoratively) of form and function that allows us to ride on smoothly paved bike paths, in the rutted streets of NYC and on hard-packed trails. The bike's front suspension fork cushions my middle-aged, marathon-ravaged body, but it still is light and fast enough to hang with the road bikes. It is a lot of bike for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Very good" Bike !!
By e j w > cruzin"Verified Reviewer from Brooklyn N.Y. on 10/17/2007
Pros:
Good Components, Lightweight, Smooth Ride, Stylish
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Cycle 2-3 times a week
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Bike rides very smooth(love those shocks in front & for seat)Nice blk/silver color. Just love it...

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I HATED riding until I got this bike!
By M. from Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA on 10/15/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Daily commuter, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

My husband bought a 7000 to ride to work every day - about 11 miles each way. He loved it. Since I wanted a good bike for riding to school, I chose to go with a Trek and got the 7200 with the women's frame. I've used it for commuting, trail riding up to 50 miles on various terrain, and hauling groceries and kids in a trailer. It's very comfortable since I like to sit upright for riding, and I really like the gear shifters on the hand grips. I've had it for 2 years, have ridden over grass, stone, pavement of all qualities, woodchips, and dirt. It still stops on a dime. The only problems I've had is that my gears need adjusted more often than I'd like, and it's hard to retrieve my water bottle without stopping because it sits so low (this is a problem only with the women's frame).

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome bike!!!
By OutatimeVerified Reviewer from brooklyn NY. on 10/9/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Medium lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

this is my first trek bike and i find it very comfortable, well made, sturdy construction, quality parts...very nice design and colors...i love my bike!!!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
All around perfect bike!
By Johnny from Ocean City, Md on 10/2/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

The first day i picked it up, i did 30 miles. I added extended handle bars so that i can tuck down on longer rides and really get after it. but the sraight bar is perfect for cruisin around town! Great bike!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just started riding for exercise
By ANTYRUSVerified Reviewer from Lafayette, La on 9/23/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I asked the salesman for a comfortable bike for exercise to ride around the town. I am a large man and this bike is very sturdy and easy to ride. I enjoy and love my bike. It has a very large comfortable seat and is very comfortable to ride.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this bike!!
By BLTVerified Reviewer from Atlantic Beach NY on 9/17/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Weekend Warrior
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

Great ride & durability, well made, solid feel. Makes me feel like I'm flying down the bike path. Preferred it to the 7300.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great choice, good every day bike
By potter19 from Pennsylvania on 9/6/2007
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, Handles Well
Best Uses:
Casual Riding, Urban Biking
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

I purchased the bike this spring and have enjoyed it on the local bike trails and short commutes.
I'm 57 and haven't owned a bike since college.
I forgot how much fun riding is.
This is fun bike to ride

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sturdy and Very Comfortable
By jasonr_lauVerified Reviewer from Toronto, ON on 8/30/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

This bike has a very forgiving seat and sufficient suspension for all types of city/commuting/trail biking. I've even taken this bike on long rides that would be usually done on a road bike, but it handles everything quite easily. Shifting is smooth, sitting posture is comfortable, and tires are more durable than the FX series ones.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Fun Quality Bike
By KathyVerified Reviewer from Gainesville, FL on 8/29/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational, Getting back into cycling
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

My husband bought the 7300 to commute to class at UF. We decided to get me a Trek as well. I have rode mine more than my husband has his. I decided to commute to school and back since it's 10 miles round trip. This bike is absolutly perfect for it. I love riding my 7200 to school as well as leasure rides with my family. I chose the regular model compared to the womens style because I found it to be more comfortable.

[6 of 34 customers found this review helpful]

 
not for weekenders
By BVerified Reviewer from Springfield, IL on 8/26/2007
Pros:
Stylish
Cons:
A lot of work
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

While this bike certainly looks the part, it fails to deliver for anybody who isn't in the "avid" class. I feel like I am riding uphill towing a bathtub on this bike. My wife is constantly waiting for me to catch up, and I have to pedal 100% of the time even on flat grades. I never worked so hard, just to get laughed at, in my life. If you stop pedaling you'll fall over.

I'm going to trade this bike in on something that is less work.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love my bike!
By Lew1991Verified Reviewer from Emmitsburg, Maryland on 8/24/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

The Trek 7200 is an excellent value!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm a BIG guy and I love it
By bill from cleveland on 8/23/2007
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek 7200:

It's just a good entry level bike, and if you are tall it will fit you.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.