Buy the Montare on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Montare image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Fisher Dual Sport
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.7 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(4), Durable(8), Fast(3), Lightweight(4), Stylish(8)
Best Uses:
Commuting(9), Leisurely rides(6), Light riding(9), Street riding(8), Uneven surfaces(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(4), Commuter(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(9)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Bike Ever Purchased
By Tech Enthusiast from Bowie, Maryland on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Easy to ride, Fast, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

[...] This is by far the best bke I have ever owned. I am an avid cyclist who primarily ride hard trails and in some cases streets and minor commuting. The gear transitions are smooth and direct. The ride itself is very nice and the remote lockout makes for a great convenience when moving along hard trails. The saddle did not have as much padding was I would like, but that was a simple upgrade thanks to the Bontrager sport seat cushion. Overall this is a great bike and would make anyone who purchases it one very satisfied customer.

Images shared by: Tech Enthusiast

Dark Star

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love my bike
By B-Money from Azabu Juban tokyo, Japan on 5/28/2011
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Seats a bit uncomfortable
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

I live in Tokyo and needed a good bike to get around on. Japan is especially good for biking in general but I needed a bike that could handle the stress of the street along with the occasional off road adventure. This bike handles both very well. Its obviously a very attractive bike but its also functional and easy to ride. The seat could use some upgrading in terms of comfort but thats pretty much my only gripe. Thanks to Trek Store Roppongi Hills for hooking me up with my dream bike!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike!
By blood from Bermuda on 5/27/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
None so far
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

I bought this bike for exercise and recreation with my family. Since bying it I have been riding everywhere from roads to trails and I am not dissapointed. Going down steps, through technical trails, the worst component on the bike is probably me.
Maybe I haven't taken the bike through its full paces yet, and the trails that I think are sick are not so sick to others, but this bike has exceeded my expectations.
20 years ago I used to ride a racer and figured I would never ride anything else but this thing is fast on the roads and great on the trails. I might even put some wide tires on it and race it this year on the trails.
Great ride, great bike, and I did recommend it to a friend but they had sold out and probably not available 'till the 2012 models come out.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
the last bike i'll buy
By mixx from cincinnati oh on 5/15/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

i use this bike for everything.end of story

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike for Commuting
By Peter HVerified Reviewer from Greater Toronto Area on 5/13/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

I picked up this bike about 3 months ago. It's been a bit cool, so haven't put too many miles on it yet. I ride mostly on the roads and paved trails, so switched the tires to slicks right away. The Trek Dealer also gave me a credit on the Promax brakes and so I swapped them out for Avids.
Shifting has been good and all components are working fine. I've not been using the remote lockout for the fork 'cause the roads around here are so bad that you need the shock absorber.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
exceptional -- no, freaken AWESOME
By bumble-bee from Southern Canada on 4/23/2011
Pros:
Durable, Effective hybrid, Lightweight, Smooth, Solid frame, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Difficult seat to adjust
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

For anybody looking for a true hybrid bike, this is the one. I'd thought about buying a cheaper Trek Road model and then a cheaper off-road bike, but the price would've been about the same. This bike is great, especially the shock lock feature. When you go off-road or drive an especially bumpy road you unlock the front fork to absorb the uneven surface and when you want to go full tilt on a nice smooth road you can lock it up.
Personally this feature was a real game changer when it came to price vs. quality.
You can 'accessorize' the bike pretty well too. There is room for a carry-rack over the rear tire, bottle holder, the usual. Smooth enough shifting and good handling.
Simply put it is, "Beautiful."

Downsides...
The seat is very difficult to adjust.
Offroad handling becomes a little tougher then on a wider tire, but nothing too serious.
If you can't get used to the feel of the seat, buying a new seat for yourself is a good option (it is a good adjustable seat, just takes getting used too).

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
awesome
By BUMBLE-B from Southern Canada on 4/23/2011
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Quick, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Trek Montare:

It is a one word bike, "beautiful." It covers all the bases.
- transport ready
- offroad (light/medium trails)
- street

Took this bike on some of the roughest trails around me (which aren't exactly mountain trails, but decent.) and the bike handle very well on all accounts. Tight turns at high-speeds on some trails are a bit loose. Some slipping, but nonetheless once you get a feel it rides just as well as most offroaders. Off course there is no perfect hybrid, but this one comess pretty close.
The shock lock feature is the best! Allows for high road speed with a solid frame when the shocks are locked and great control offroad when they're unlocked. I had a specialized offroad model, and found it very tough for commuting.
If you are looking for a true hybrid, this bike is the way to go. :p 'it's the best'

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast!
By RustyWinger from Canada on 4/3/2011
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Hard seat
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

I bought this instead of the Utopia for the remote fork lockout, I know it's a bit of a jump in price but the hydraulic brakes and components were also a good upgrade. This bike is very fast and big. It compares side by side to a 29er. The graphics on this bike are very subtle, the wheels and tires are flashier than the paint job, but that suits me if it doesn't attract too much attention when it's locked up. Have not yet been able to get to the point where I can't crank anymore, its very fast and the lowest gear isn't much bigger than the axle. I was flying down a light trail and the tire chatter was getting scary, but I guess the tires had too much pressure to be going that fast on gravel anyway. Overall, good bike. Only 4 stars because I found the remote lockout wasn't installed properly missing a cap) and the gearing had trouble engaging the highest and lowest gears in the cassette, I suppose I will take it back to address those things, but for a premium bike, you shouldn't get it missing anything!

Images shared by: RustyWinger

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Jack of all trades.
By BearVerified Reviewer from Tennessee on 3/25/2011
Pros:
Fast, Inconspicuous, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Saddle
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Montare:

I have put about 50-60 miles on this bike since I got it a week ago. So far it has been a great choice. I average my 11.1 mile commute in 45-50 minutes (highway and hills) which I can only blame on myself. Don't be worried about not having enough low gear to get up hills. The gearing on this bike feels more than adequate. I am sure it will not handle mountainous climbs but that is what a mountain bike is for. Once I hit the apex of the hills this thing flies. During recreational riding with my wife I find I must hit the brakes often because this thing coasts much faster than her Allant WSD. It handles off road (gravel trails, old logging roads) quite well. Feels very stable for having the thinner 700mm tire. The fork is plush and the lockout is really convenient for the commute. The saddle isn't very comfortable so I will change that, but that is a personal preference. Coming from motocross, I love the hydraulic brakes. Lots of stopping power, and the master cylinders are built in to the lever perch so there are no external reservoirs like I have seen on others. I believe this bike will suit my needs as a Swiss Army Bike.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.