Buy the Kaitai on http://www.trekbikes.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kaitai image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Trek
Located in: Bike Path, Fisher Dual Sport
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable(7), Durable(7), Lightweight(5), Stylish(10), Versatile(11)
Best Uses:
Commuting(6), Leisurely rides(8), Light riding(9), Street riding(9), Uneven surfaces(6)
Describe Yourself:
Avid cyclist(3), Casual/ recreational(6)
Was this a gift?:
No(11)
 
Absolutely Awesome Bike
By DeeVerified Reviewer from Silver Spring, MD on 6/16/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I haven't been on a bike in a few years. After careful consideration and research I decided to get this bike and after several rides I am greatly impressed with this bike. I love the way it handles and it's versatility. If you are considering this bike don't hesitate any longer. Go out and grab it!

 
This Bike is amazing
By Ty from Hurrucane, West Virginia on 5/31/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Pedals bend easy
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

This bike is great for everything

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
More bang for my buck.
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Pasadena, California on 5/9/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great all around bike, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
On the heavy side
Best Uses:
Can't be beat, Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I use my Kaitai for fitnes and recreational riding. It seems like I can ride it anywhere from streets to light trails. I added a rear rack to carry more "stuff" when needed. It's a little on the heavy side, but the gearing compensates for it. Just an all around great bike. A lot of bang for my buck.

[0 of 33 customers found this review helpful]

 
my bike
By MajorVerified Reviewer from LA on 5/3/2011
Pros:
Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Street Riding
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I like to ride it with my dog.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By RVerified Reviewer from England on 4/21/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

Bought this bike 6 weeks ago as an upgrade from my mountain bike. Done about 1500miles on it comfortable to ride long distances up to 70 miles at a go can get it to go fairly fast on flat roads I like the styling. It is a bit on the heavy side compared to a full road bike but not excessive and not a problem as I dont ride competativly.
Well made looks good does the job very well

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
DEFINITELY Worth it!!!
By Jared from Missouri on 4/10/2011
Pros:
Durable, Smooth, Stable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Uncomfortable seat
Describe Yourself:
Commuter
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

Truly an awesome bike! The suspension idea is great, how you can alternate between no suspension for roads and suspension necessary for trails just with the flick of a switch. Also a really awesome design on the bike as well. The seat is pretty uncomfortable if you're not used to the narrower seats, but get a $20 seat cushion and you'll be fine. This dual sport bike is really great, I can feel myself using this for a VERY long time.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Bike
By CodderVerified Reviewer from Cape Cod, Massachusetts on 3/31/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
None At This Time
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Avid Cyclist
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I bought my Kaitai as a do-it-all bike, and it is outstanding..... The Kaitai is very smooth and fast on the road, and it handles the dirt roads, and paths with ease. I could not be more happy with my new Kaitai. Thanks Gary Fisher, and Trek for a wonderful bike.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfect fit
By dboy71Verified Reviewer from Maryland on 3/24/2011
Pros:
Comfortable, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Beach, Light Trails, Urban
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I am in my 30s and wanted a bike for recreation and fitness. For 9 months per year, my wife and I spend a lot of time in our RV and the parks usually consist of paved and gravel roads, light trails, and fields. I've put about 200 miles on this bike and it is everything I hoped for.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast and versatile
By KarlVerified Reviewer from Columbus, Ohio on 3/24/2011
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Versatile
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I'm a fitness rider who rides whenever the weather is nice or when errands are within 5 miles. The kaitai for me has been the perfect bike to hop over curbs, ride through someone's yard, or just keep up with rode bikes on the paved bike paths. The shock in the front can easily be turned on or off while riding making the bike ready for bumpy roads or smooth surfaces in a matter of seconds. The 29 inch wheels inflate to 80psi so this thing rolls extremely well. Given the fact it's a jack of all trades, it's a master at none which could be a drawback for some, but not me. It's versatile, comfortable and fast and is the perfect bike for those who like to explore in the woods AND ride across town for breakfast in the morning.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bike
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Alabama on 10/6/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
Low Stem
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

I purchased the new Kaitai for recreational and fitness riding. I have put about 275 miles on it so far and it has been a great ride. I ride mostly roads but occasionally in grassy/light sandy areas. It has handled very well on all rides. I will normally ride 10-15 miles per ride and recently rode 40+ miles and the bike has been comfortable the whole time. The stem angle is a little low for my height and age so I will have to get another stem to raise the handlebars. Overall, I'm very satisfied with my Kaitai!

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatile Value
By BKoolVerified Reviewer from Boston, MA on 9/3/2010
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Versatile
Cons:
No Disc Brakes
Best Uses:
Commuting, Leisurely Rides, Light Trails, Street Riding, Uneven Surfaces
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trek Kaitai:

Just recently picked up the 2011 KaiTai. This is a great all-around bike for the money. I am in my late 30's, live right on the edge of a city and I spend most of my time riding on pavement, but occasionally venture into the dirt and grass in state forests. For me, dual purpose is the key. I had a mountain bike and it was too slow and heavy on the roads. I had a road bike and it wasn't able to go down light trails. I had a cruiser and it was only good on flat roads. That's a whole lot of money wasted on the wrong models. Now I have the KaiTai and it's all I will ever need in a bike. My only complaint is that in exchange for some upgraded components, they took away the disc brakes for 2011, but it's not that big a deal because it stops great anyway. It's a good looking bike too.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Trek All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.